We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A daunting entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A daunting entrance”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

A collection of buildings, set amongst the dune forest above the beach. Reached by a winding narrow brick road, with the last section precipitously steep. Service was good, and the room was comfortable. Decor was a bit disappointing, with the feel more "big city corporate- greys and beige" than seaside beach. Missed some colour. The dinner was a buffet, well done-not dry and tired, with a good variety. We stayed in one of the sea facing rooms- great view, but the rooms above must have an even better view- and, with the wooden floors, they couldn't hear us going to the bathroom at 4a.m.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in the sea facing rooms/
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    107
    35
    13
    2
See reviews for
102
159
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

No, nothing wrong with this place, but just not our cup of tea.... The lodge is nicely situated along a beautiful beach, staff is friendly, rooms are well equipped, but something is missing....I don't know, it's just a "white people reserve" I guess, like most of the lodges and resorts along the east coast....we got really sick after the seafood buffet. The staff was very kind and well prepared and provided us with loperamide....makes you think..... Next time I'd rather stay in a smaller, more intimate place ..... We were travelling on AAA vouchers (we payed all accommodation in advance), this was the only place we had to pay an additional (small) amount of money, we thought that was very unfriendly and bad practice.... If AAA doesn't pay enough for the rooms Crawford's should sort it out with them.....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMS121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Crawford's is situated along a stunning 15km beach. The rooms are simple but elegant, with all comforts provided. The staff are friendly and the pool is a great place for young children to play. The only thing that let us down at Crawford's was the lack of catering to specific dietary requirements. We had one vegan and one vegetarian in our group and had to repeatedly ask for food to meet their requirements.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate1984Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stopped over at Crawford's on our way between Cape Town and Durban and we liked it so much we did the same on the return trip. Unfortunately it was only a one night stay each way.
The rooms are comfortable and large, the food is quite acceptable and there is a very nice relaxed feel to the whole place. Crawford's doesnt pretend to be five star but they deliver on the promise of a family run, casual, fun destination.
Easy access from the rooms straight onto the beach.
Cintsa beaches are really lovely and within a 5 min walk of the hotel you feel like Robinson Crusoe. Nobody in sight and miles of beautiful sandy beach.
We would love to return and spend a bit longer
Only complaint - service in the resturant was a bit indifferent.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are definitely the best and worth the slight premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We only stayed here for one night. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was good. The staff were friendly. Great location for the beach. Great place if your taking a troup of kids or using it as a stop over to the garden route.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLourencos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Only spent one night here but we loved every second.. One of the few lodges or B&B where the bar stays open after 9pm. Try the local Ale/Beer
The rooms are well equipped. The bathroom in our room is hidden in a cupboard..
Be careful of the address, it's in Cinsta/Chinsta and not East London!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PiggyPaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Very nice stay in crawfords ! we were staying 2 nights in a low period, so the staff gave us an upper room, upstairs, with large balcony, big room very cosy with wood ! very nice bed, and the balcony with a nice view on the sea !
Very big and nice restaurant with a nice pool!
The best? an private access to the beach for a nice walk !

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebastien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
0.1 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
293 reviews
8.9 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
143 reviews
22.3 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
10.5 mi away
Areena Riverside Resort
Areena Riverside Resort
#2 of 44 in East London
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crawford's Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crawford's Beach Lodge

Property: Crawford's Beach Lodge
Address: 42 Steenbras Drive | Chintsa East, Chintsa 5275, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crawford's Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crawford's Beach Lodge offers barefoot luxury and elegant thatched accommodation for the most discerning of traveller and conference organizer, who is looking for fun, sun and relaxation. Crawford's Beach Lodge is nestled in the middle of the beautiful Chintsa Bay on the Wild Coast, surrounded by rolling hills, lush tropical beach forests and the warm Indian Ocean. The perfect venue for your honeymoon or even for the more adventurous, wanting to explore the many beautiful treasures the Wild Coast has to offer. Our location is also a malaria free area. We are approximately 42km from East London, the surfside city famous for its Nahoon Reef. Treat yourself and the special person in your life to a romantic getaway. We also offer Spa Treatments at our Senses Spa, with a great ocean view. Stay in a luxury thatched rooms, relax on the deck while you sip on champagne watching the sun go down over the shimmering ocean. Come and share our slice of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crawford's Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crawford`s Beach Hotel Cintsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing