We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jan 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jan 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Super location, good size rooms although in need of tender loving care. Shame about the food. Generally acceptable starters but main courses were "school dinners" and on such tiny plates if you were an average male would have to go up and get seconds. Usually dry as kept warm under u/v heat lamps. Shame as spoilt the holiday. Would prefer to book room/B&B and eat out in the evenings

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrawfordsBeach, Owner at Crawford's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hi Morgan,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Crawfords. I am glad you liked the location and that you chose Crawfords to holiday at.
It is a pity you did not enjoy the food as the experience of eating is a major part of an enjoyable holiday. We have taken notes on your comments and will ensure that the meals are always managed to be fresh and tasty.
As there are no other restaurants open on a frequent basis as well as feedback from our guests we have found the all inclusive rates as the most popular.
We hope you visit Chintsa again, it is such a beautiful place and it would be great to have a second crack at your taste buds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    101
    34
    11
    2
See reviews for
100
151
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Wow! The 'Wild Coast' is famous for its rugged beauty and Crawfords is the last stop before returning to built up southern stretch of the east coast of South Africa. If there is one wild coast stop you make then Crawfords is situated only 30 minutes from East London so i can be a quick break or full holiday. Or alternatively work your way down the east coast and make Crawfords your last stop - saving the best for last. Quiet beaches, excellent food, friendly service, comfy accommodation, its all there.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrawfordsBeach, Owner at Crawford's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
To The Expidition Project,

Thank your for the wonderful review. We are thrilled that you chose Crawfords to stay a few nights.
We all wish you well on your further travels and hope you return to us in the near future.

Keep well,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I spent 7 nights of our recent honeymoon at Crawfords. What an amazing place - the location was superb, with our room looking over the Cintsa river mouth and across the ocean. We ate and ate and ate the most delicious food and met some amazing people. The owner of Crawfords and his wife are very hospitable and the staff felt like friends. After one day, it felt like home!
I would recommend Crawfords to couples, groups of friends or families looking for a relaxing holiday, where every need is catered for.
We hope to see you soon, Crawfords!

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing, front row room. The top level rooms have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnseddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrawfordsBeach, Owner at Crawford's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hi Charlotte,

I was thrilled to see your review, although I must say, we should be thanking you and Peter for being such great festive guests here on your honeymoon.
I think all the staff would love to see you guys here again in the (very) near future.

Regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Crawfords Lodge is one of those places that is almost always on my mind when the bordem of my 9 - 5 takes over and my mind starts to wonder! Every year, I try my level best to include it into my travel itinerary, and have been dissapointed in the past by the fact that I generally wait too late, and the lodge ends up being full (which in itself speaks volumes about how popular the place is)! To say the property itself is "picturesque' would be an understatement, as it is so much more, and ultimately one of those places that reminds me that I live in a beautiful country, and am truly blessed to be South African! The service is good, the food superb and the accommadation itself, is tasteful, spacious and includes pretty much everything you need and more! I will be visiting again, as soon as I can!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I took my little family for a night away at Crawfords over the mothers day weekend. The accommodation was world class. Beautiful big sliding doors opening up onto a magnificent view of the ocean. The kids playground was a stones throw away so the little ones were having the time of their lives. The beach was clean and easily accessible. All the facilities in the resort were excellent. The food was delicious and we highly recommend going when they have the Seafood Extravaganza. During dinner the hosts graciously offered to a child minder to watch the kids in the play room while we had dinner. This afforded us the opportunity take our time and enjoy our company. We had a great experience and my only regret was we had to leave. It was total bliss and extreme relaxation. A great place to go if you have children and feel like a break from the rat race.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DylMugabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I stay at Crawford's as often as we can as it encapsulates everything that a holiday should be - amazing location, breathtaking views, great accommodation, attentive staff and exceptional food. I love the addition of the Jacuzzi/pool near the restaurant - just fantastic to relax in after a day at the beach. A must if you enjoy unwinding in stunning surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraWebbduPreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed at Crawfords for two nights with three adults and two children. The staff were very helpful- providing us with great recommendations and even going so far as to bake a cake and sing for my sisters 50th birthday. Our rooms were very large- the first night we stayed in room 6 which was a huge house with excellent facilities just 1 minutes walk from the beach. The property is also very beautiful and the buffet was very good as well. Best of all- they do not charge for kids 12 and under- which made our stay very affordable. Loved the Lodge.

Room Tip: Go for the dolphin rooms- they are a bit more expensive- but well worth it as they have stunning v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrawfordsBeach, Owner at Crawford's Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Abcast,
Thank you for your wonderful response. We look forward to seeing again someday soon.
Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
0.1 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
8.9 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
22.3 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
2.4 mi away
Inkwenkwezi Private Game Reserve Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crawford's Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crawford's Beach Lodge

Property: Crawford's Beach Lodge
Address: 42 Steenbras Drive | Chintsa East, Chintsa 5275, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crawford's Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crawford's Beach Lodge offers barefoot luxury and elegant thatched accommodation for the most discerning of traveller and conference organizer, who is looking for fun, sun and relaxation. Crawford's Beach Lodge is nestled in the middle of the beautiful Chintsa Bay on the Wild Coast, surrounded by rolling hills, lush tropical beach forests and the warm Indian Ocean. The perfect venue for your honeymoon or even for the more adventurous, wanting to explore the many beautiful treasures the Wild Coast has to offer. Our location is also a malaria free area. We are approximately 42km from East London, the surfside city famous for its Nahoon Reef. Treat yourself and the special person in your life to a romantic getaway. We also offer Spa Treatments at our Senses Spa, with a great ocean view. Stay in a luxury thatched rooms, relax on the deck while you sip on champagne watching the sun go down over the shimmering ocean. Come and share our slice of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crawford's Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crawford`s Beach Hotel Cintsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing