We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat: tranquil, luxurious hidden gem”
Review of Prana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prana Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real treat: tranquil, luxurious hidden gem”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

A fantastic weekend although we wish we could have stayed for longer.
The lodge site is extensive with interlinking pathways between the reception, suites, and restaurant/pool area with a path leading towards the beach less than 2 minutes walk along a wooden deck footpath. Nestled in costal dune forest, it is supremely tranquil, lush and private. Birdlife is superb and many vervet monkeys around. Cintsa beach is unspoilt, stunning and goes on for miles. Can be windy at times unfortunately, however the lodge is very sheltered.

Each suite is individual with some fantastic personal touches. Much attention has been paid to the decor and furnishings. Outside shower addition deserves a special mention - simply divine!

Food and drink: world class. Excellent service.
Cintsa is a beautiful village on the edge of the 'Wild Coast', one of South Africa's greatest assets. 40 minute drive from East London Airport. Much to do and see in the region although it would be perfectly possible not to leave the lodge!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpevacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
215
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2010

From the moment I called Prana they were excited about helping me plan this special weekend. We arrived early to breakfast in our gorgeous room. The breakfast was to die for. We then walked to the beautiful beach through a nice wooden path. Has great food and amazing Thai massages (although not for the faint of heart!) They even got us a little present to help us celebrate our engagement! One of the best places I have ever stayed!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshberman541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Prana Lodge creates a relaxed and calm ambiance that one feels the minute you enter the gates. Lush vegetation, with accommodation tucked away within the foliage linked by various pathways really does provide a tranquil setting for this awesome destination.

The suites are well appointed, very comfortable with lovely gardens and pools outside each room. The food and wine was fantastic throughout our stay and the owners and management very welcoming.

The Thai massage is out of this world and wish I could pop back each weekend to visit and have a treatment! I left after spending 2 nights feeling like I had had a weeks holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StFrancisLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2010

After attending the impressive World Cup Soccer semi's./finals we spent 3 wonderful days at this impressive 5 star Boutique hotel and spa on a large beach estate with 21 Km of unspoiled beautiful beaches. The suites are beautifully appointed and each have their own private plunge pool and private garden. The meals and wines were world class and we spoiled ourselves by having Thai treatments every day. This truly is a special place . We felt lucky to have discovered it. Nick and Tracey ( Greenwich - CT USA)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We decided to spend some time in the area with our extended family and after staying at numerous venues along this piece of coastline before - Prana Lodge just blew us away!
Absolutely everything was taken care of, we were made to feel like royalty. The attention to detail was fantastic, most of our party just did not want to leave.
It is an idyllic setting with wonderful food expansive grounds and first class accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chintsa
22.3 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
404 reviews
8.8 mi away
Haga Haga Hotel
Haga Haga Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
143 reviews
17.0 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 14 in East London
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prana Lodge

Property: Prana Lodge
Address: Chintsa Drive, Chintsa 5275, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Chintsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chintsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Prana Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury stay over: your own private haven awaits at Prana Lodge.At Prana Lodge, understated luxury pampers your body, mind and spirit. Only 8 individually designed suites, featuring select pieces from a private collection of famous South African artists, Persian carpets, luxury linens, and oversized bathrooms with garden views promise relaxation of the first order. Completely private and secure behind your own garden walls, relax on your patio with your own plunge pool. The ultimate romantic retreat, specializing in mini-moons, honeymoons and baby-moons,Prana Lodge has the perfect package for your romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Prana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prana Hotel Cintsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing