We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jawdropping”

Gouffre geant de Cabrespine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jawdropping”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

There is nothing I can say about this place that would do it justice. It is mind blowing. You just have to visit to appreciate it grandeur and beauty. But be aware, like most things in France, they close from 12:30pm to 2:00pm

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzer252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    80
    42
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very well presented underground paradise”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

we went there with our friend. It was low season, only two cars on the car park. We had to wait 20 min to enter as the entry is organised with a guide. Next to the ticket desk you will find shop and bar with quite good caffe, something little to nibble and of course wine degustation corner. Not only wine. It is very good way to wait :) we didn't mind.

As we entered the cave thru short and windy tunnel we landed o the balcony with breathtaking view. The guide highlight the most important and very interesting formations. After the tour we had time free to enjoy the cave as it is huge hall and you cannot get lost. In some places interactive screen are placed. It gives more informations and more pictures in plenty of languages.

It is an educative and very interesting attraction for everyone. Easy access. You wont loose your little ones. It is safe. It is fun. I cannot wait to discover more caves in the region.
Before going there go online. Website is customer friendly and gives you all informations about this cave and associated in few languages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank xandrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
387 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Awe Inspiring”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A Tourist Information office recommended this attraction to us and suggested that it was better than the caves at Limousis. We didn't compare them but certainly really enjoyed our visit here, it was impressive in size and geological interest. The guide only spoke French but the idea is that you walk around with him (although that is not compulsory) and use the 'language stations' at various points. They were very well done and informative. At the end there was a short light show to classical music which added to the experience. Well worth going.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
348 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Very impressive cave of incredible dimensions. It is said that the Eiffel tower would fit in it! We did our own, unguided, tour, facilitated by stations where you can get explanations in six languages..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Cave”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our family loved this cave and Limousis as well. The audio tour was in English and you could really take your time and linger over the sights, sounds and lights. The light show is hilarious. We loved this diversion.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gouffre geant de Cabrespine also viewed

 

Been to Gouffre geant de Cabrespine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing