We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality rooms, rest OK”
Review of La Chaumiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Chaumiere
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quillan
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good quality rooms, rest OK”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed here for one night while walking a small section of "Le Sentier Cathare". I booked a room in advance for 65 euros. My welcome was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very modern and I had a comfortable night. I didn't have dinner at the hotel (as I originally planned) as it seemed rather "up-market" and I felt I was too late to do it justice. Breakfast the next morning was perfectly OK, but seemed to me to be a little overpriced at 10 euros.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    86
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
96
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Very nice hotel located in the midle of Quillan, nicely refurbish with high standars in terms of rooms and equipment.
Breakfast unique, the bread is to die for.
Owner very friendly, will be back on my next stay to France.
Keep doing good job !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerveSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

An hotel who deserve its 3 stars even 4 ...

- Room with separate bathroom and rest room
- Very large and quiet rooms
- Housekeeping is doing great job
- Front desk very friendly and warm welcome
- Very nice french restaurant with awsome "cassoulet"
- Super breakfast with vienoiserie and freh bread
- Parking with elevators to go directly to the rooms

I recommend this hotel if you do a tour in the region, it is very nice, safe and clean

Room Tip: ask for the new aisle for the new rooms, very quiet and brand new
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranckGTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a nice hotel in a reasonable location. I stayed for a couple of nights, whilst visting relatives.

I was here in Febuary, so it was very quiet so I had none of the noise problems others have mentioned. The service was very good.

One of the best features was the tea at breakfast - which was the best tea that I have had in France.Earl Grey to die for.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msrbcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had driven virtually across France. Starting from Leipzig, Germany as we travelled south the air became balmier, sunnier and French. However our dilly dallying, taking in the French ambience and cuisine made us late for our hotel arrival time. After passing the village of Quilaln twice we finally pulled up outside La Chaumiere at three a.m. There was not a soul in sight. We tinkled the bell. Nothing. Almost resigning ourselves to sleeping in the car we heard the sound of voices coming from down the street. The voices were that of the cafe owner a block down from the hotel La Chaumiere. In our falting, school age French we explained our sitatuion. The cafe owner rang La Chaumiere and the owner opened up for us. The air outisde had chilled and our tired muscles welcomed the warm shower, luxurious beds and beautiful decor.. It was a great place to satge daytrips around the beautiful Languedoc.and the staff were friendly and very accomodating and hospitable. La Chaumiere had a family friendly feel that we really enjoyed and with our four year old in tow this was one quality that stood out for us. Not to far from the Mediterranean coast and set in the foothills of the Pyrenees, La Chaumiere is my dream hotel come true.

Room Tip: Our room had a great view to the east form the balcony so we sat tehre in the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tabboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and i spent 3 nights at Hotel la Chaumiere in October. I chose it on the basis of some very good reviews and on the fact that Quillan, while not a place of huge interest in and of itself, is a very good base for visiting Cathar castles both to the east and west.
all this worked out pretty much as i had planned. The hotel room was very modern - the owners have obviously put a lot of money into renovation - while the restaurant has been restored to a more traditional looking site. Since we were staying 3 nights, we received a discount of 5 Euros each on the demi-pension. We also received free garage for our vehicle.
The food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent, and at the rate of 25 Euros each per day was a real bargain.
Our room for 75 Euros a night was spacious and spotless. All in all, I would say this was an excellent place to stay, especially if you are interested in visiting the Cathar castles and the surrounding beautiful countryside. If you look at a map of htis part of France you'll see why.

Room Tip: No advice to offer here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steveSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

A really nice stay. The service and food were very good although we thought that the rooms were only ok. It was rather noisy at times something that we found generally a problem here in France; I think that we would go back for the food however.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cycleripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quillan
6.0 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cartier
Hotel Cartier
#2 of 3 in Quillan
149 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hostellerie du Grand Duc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
441 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
7.6 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chaumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chaumiere

Property: La Chaumiere
Address: 25 boulevard Charles de Gaulle, 11500 Quillan, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Quillan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Quillan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Chaumiere 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant La Chaumière welcome you in the heart of Aude Upper Valley, nearby main Cathar stunning sites in the Corbieres. You can enjoy our fully renovated rooms and facilities nearby Rennes le Chateau, Bugarach, stunning Aude river or Galamus canyon. located between Carcassonne, Perpignan Andorra and Foix , relax in a our standart or superior room and savor traditional french cuisine in our restaurant and get at your ease on our under the stars outdoor terrasse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Chaumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing