We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the walk”

Restaurant le Brantalou
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Quillan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$66
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: You are searching for a nice place to have dinner in the south of France, at the foot of the Pyrenees? In Haute-Vallée de l’Aude, in the village of Quillan, Cathar Country products are used in the kitchen of our restaurant Le Brantalou.Situated in the heart of our domain, Domaine de L’Espinet, the restaurant is open all year round. The restaurant is open to everyone, whether you are looking for a romantic dinner, a birthday party or a wedding. A wide range of traditional French and Mediterranean dishes and menus are on offer in our extensive dining rooms.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We do not have a car, so took the 53 bus from Quillan to the L'Espinet stop and walked up to the restaurant. The walk took 10 minutes, but the restaurant was well worth it. We were seated quickly. Water and bread (several types) were brought without our having to ask for them .The menu du jour, vin compris, was 13.90 euros (we opted for the non-dessert version) and was excellent, and milk-free as proposed. My husband is intolerant to dairy products and how a restaurant handles this is a good test of the quality of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 42again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorienVB, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant le Brantalou, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear 42again

We would like to thank you for your comment and especially your kind words towards our restaurant team.
I will make sure they read your comment as well.
Again, thank you for visiting us.
We hope to be able to receive you again soon.

Kind regards

The l'Espinet team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    29
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Albert is a good cook, who is committed to make every dish a treat. Everything is homemade, and a lot of specialities from the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorienVB, Responsable relations clients at Restaurant le Brantalou, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Google Translation
Beste Mark C

Bedankt voor je feedback. Ik geef de complimenten zeker door aan onze keuken en aan kok Albert Batlle.
We hopen je in de toekomst nog eens te mogen ontvangen.
Met vriendelijke groeten

Jorien (in naam van het l'Espinet team)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best restaurant in Quillan”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

excellent service, nice people, nice view, big choice on menu all in for a decent price, very good food, good wine, everything is ok

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fabienne1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorienVB, Responsable relations publiques at Restaurant le Brantalou, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Fabienne

We would like to thank you for your lovely feedback on your stay at Domaine de l’Espinet. We think it’s splendid that you had a great time with us and we’re looking forward to welcome you again on our domain in the future.
Do not hesitate to contact us when you have any further questions or remarks.
Kind regards.
Jorien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quillan, France
Level Contributor
291 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 700 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Meals cold and badly prepared, ambinace poor, staff unhelpful, wine overpriced and so were the meals

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JorienVB, Responsable relations publiques at Restaurant le Brantalou, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Google Translation
Monsieur

Dans un souci d'amélioration du service proposé à tous nos clients, nous nous permettons de vous écrire pour vous demander d'argumenter vos propos au sujet de notre restaurant.
Pour rappel, notre Chef, Albert Batlle a reçu le titre officiel de «maître restaurateur» il y a moins de trois mois, un label censé récompenser les établissements les plus pointilleux en matière de qualité des produits et d'accueil.
Enfin, à la vue de la date de votre commentaire, notre établissement était fermé au public depuis déjà plus de quinze jours. Si effectivement un problème particulier avait eu lieu chez nous, nous vous invitons à nous indiquer ce qui vous a déplu ainsi que la date à laquelle vous nous avez rendu visite.

Bien sincèrement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant le Brantalou also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant le Brantalou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing