We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect French vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Terrace1: At  entrance level affords the refreshingly natural beauty of living by the river.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace1: At  entrance level affords the refreshingly natural beauty of living by the river.
Lounge with beautiful river views.
Welcome...Bienvenue chez nous...and please rest a while at the riverside town house.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Terrace1: At  entrance level affords the refreshingly natural beauty of living by the river.
Lounge with beautiful river views.
Welcome...Bienvenue chez nous...and please rest a while at the riverside town house.
Modern fully equipped kitchen.
Ah...the bedrooms. This is Bedroom 1 with it's own adjoining Terrace and bathroom suite.
Terrace 2: Bedroom doors open onto this suntrapped terrace. Sunbathing or taking in the views.
Bathroom 1 - a long bath or a quick shower?
Bedroom 2 is also a light and airy space. The comfortable shower room adjoins.
Bathroom 2
View from Bedroom 2 window showing some aspects of the local environs.
Terrace1: At  entrance level affords the refreshingly natural beauty of living by the river
From the entrance you are beckoned to go directly to the terrace.
Anytime, day or night, you can enjoy the terrace and the river.
To the open plan salon and the ground floor (street level) terrace. The Salon Terrace.
You are on the 'Salon Terrace'. The terrace is equipped with BBQ & patio furniture for easy living
From the terraces - Look to your left - someone's fishing and behind him is the famous Pont Suzanne.
Bedroom Terrace mountain views and wild life spotting
View from the 'Bedroom Terrace'. The opposite bank - Nestled at the foot of the mountains.
'The Gallery' lounge at the lower floor level facilitates direct access to the river.
View from the 'Gallery' terrace looking in to the gallery lounge.
Terrace3: The 'Gallery' Terrace, a private space to enjoy breakfast
From Terrace 3 - Getting even closer to the water's edge
A few steps down and you are there.
Seeking the trout.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Quillan, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vancouver...
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect French vacation”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in April 2018

This townhouse was exactly as described. It had all the modern conveniences required for an extended stay. The balcony was enjoyed on a daily basis. We absolutely loved the location with its very short distance to the square and promenade and all the shops and restaurants we frequented on many occasions. Our very friendly host Debbie was there to meet us and also answer any questions or small needs as they arose. Another big plus was the town of Quillan itself. Just loved it. We met many friendly and helpful people. A car is a must to explore all the surrounding towns, sites and incredible wineries. We can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Wonderful guests, such lovely people, would be please to see them again, really enjoyed meeting you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara P
Sittingbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the loveliest holidays we have spent in Quillan”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A real home from home! My son and I had one of the loveliest holidays we have had in Quillan.

A wonderful location, so close to the town. We were met by Judith and |Nick . What lovely friendly, helpful people they are. Views from the terraces and beautiful . The house has been thoughtfully renovated incorporating the old and the new and is tastefully furnished. Friendly local ducks were a delight and frequently visited for breakfast!!

Thoroughly recommend this beautiful house and would be very happy to spend another holiday there .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
Thank you so very much for your kind review. You were the most wonderful guests. The ducks are missing you, look forward to seeing you both again. Kindest regards
Debbie, Judith & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacinta N
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable mix of the old and the new in a great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this townhouse for a week in late July. What a great place! An older house that looks reasonably plain from the outside but has been nicely renovated inside, to provide all the modern amenities but retain a lovely relaxed French style. The basics are good - modern, well-equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge and dining area, 2 good sized bedrooms both with en suite bathrooms, laundry facilities. All the rooms have interesting touches - antique furniture, wooden beams, a river rock wall, things like that, and there is a lot of interesting art in the house as well.. But the highlight of the house is probably the outside, or specifically the terraces that open the house out to the river. There is a terrace on each of the three floors, the views are wonderful and the sound of the water carries you through the day. We fed the ducks every day, saw the shy local otter family a few times and numerous birds and even had a visit from a bat one night. Just one note: the basement level is still being renovated. The main room is done and provides a comfortable third bedroom but the bathroom on that level only has a toilet and basin at this stage. Any guests staying there would have to go upstairs for a shower. There is also some building equipment stored outside on that level and it has direct access to the river, so you wouldn't want to leave young children down there unsupervised. Great for a teenager who wants a bit of privacy though. The house is a short walk from the railway station, several good restaurants, the 2 main squares and shops in old Quillan and the marketplaces. Quillan is very lively in summer, and there were festivals and markets happening all the week, and there is plenty to see and do around the area as well. Walking is a key activity, with some of the Cathar trails nearby, and that is what we mostly did. But many people cycle in the region too and you can go white water rafting and easily get into Carcassone to see the amazing castle there, as well as to a variety of other historic towns nearby. We have stayed in Quillan before but this was our first time in this townhouse and we would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thank you so very much for your kind review. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Judith and Debbie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markjev
Alphington, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sensational accommodation in a cycling paradise”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This accommodation is one of the best houses you will find in this part of France. Very central location to Quillan and literally steps from several good restaurants. Also had a great kitchen and dining area if you want to cook for yourself. Nothing better than having a great bottle of red, eating wonderful local produce and relaxing with the sound of the river in the background. House stays very cool in summer. As a cyclist, I can also recommend Quillan as a base for cycling around the French Pyrenees. Quiet roads, awesome scenery and an amazing mix of different level of rides. Make sure you get the cycling map from the tourist office. From cols of 2000m to flat options - all mapped accurately with levels of difficulty. I've ridden all over Europe and rate this experience as one of the best. You will leave with memories of a lifetime - You won't regreat staying and cycling in this part of France!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Dear Mark
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is very much appreciated
Judith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranga7
Castlemaine, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful home and location- stay here!”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This is my second stay at this home in the small town of Quillan. It is in an excellent location, a few minutes walk from the train station and local shops, and backs directly on to the river. It is such a pleasant surprise to walk through the plain facade in to a contemporary but 'French' styled open plan living and kitchen area. It has a fabulous equipped kitchen that makes it easy to cook family meals, and test the lovely produce that can be purchased at the local markets. Both the upstairs bedrooms have their own unique character and charm, with very comfortable beds and modern ensuite bathrooms. The river bedroom is stunning in the Summer, and I stayed in room closest to the street in this last Winter visit. The basement level has a large couch which can fold out to a very comfortable double bed. This room has lovely artwork and another terrace on to the river, which offers a versatile area for entertaining, relaxing or sleeping. The house was very clean on arrival, with helpful instructions inside on how to use the TV, stereo, wifi etc. I would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Thank you so very much for your kind review. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Judith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location, beautiful house, welcoming host.”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had stayed at the riverside house in June for a week, and liked it so much we booked it again in September for a month. It is lovely, a perfect combination of a traditional French house with all modern conveniences. The views from the balconies over the river were amazing - we watched canoes passing and saw a kingfisher almost every day. The location too was ideal, just round the corner from the square with shops and market, cafes and restaurants. Quillan is perfect for walking, and we could choose a different hill each day.
The house was beautifully clean, and we were made to feel very welcome by Judith who was available for anything we wanted during our stay.
Just one thing might not suit everybody - it is advertised for 6 people, has plenty of living/dining room for 6 and 2 lovely double en- suite bedrooms, plus a downstairs room with double sofa bed and its own terrace, but anyone using that room would have to walk through one of the upstairs bedrooms to use a bathroom/toilet, so not ideal for more than four.
For the three of us it was perfect.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thank you so very much for your kind review. Thank you too for your comments on the number of people. I have acted on your comment and have amended the number back to 4 persons on the advert until the 3rd bathroom is in place. You were the most wonderful guests. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing