We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Your relaxing weekend starts here, welcome to the Long House at Goosey Wick
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your relaxing weekend starts here, welcome to the Long House at Goosey Wick
King size comfy beds in both bedrooms Relax and unwind in our copper bathroom with a bath big enough for 2!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Your relaxing weekend starts here, welcome to the Long House at Goosey Wick
King size comfy beds in both bedrooms
Relax and unwind in our copper bathroom with a bath big enough for 2!
King size comfy beds in both bedrooms
Play some old fashioned games and unwind with the help of our honesty gin bar
Nothing better to do quiz
Remember home cooking, entertain using our Aga and fully equipped kitchen
Enjoy a real fire with our log burner and supply of logs
Ensuites to both bedrooms
Enjoy our creature comforts
Our courtyard and bbq offer privacy to unwind and to dine alfresco
Our wild garden for butterflies and bees
Wild garden
View from the mile long drive, not a car in sight
Nearby White Horse Hill for lovely walk and picnic
Please come again, at any time of the year
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Charney Bassett, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris D
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodation”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for a long weekend as a group of four friends. Lesley was very welcoming and gave us a great introduction. There are lots of extra touches that really set this place apart, including the home made cake, breakfast, iPad etc etc.

Very well kept property, clean and tidy.

Highly reccommended

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review, we're glad you liked the little extras. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareGord
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lesley greeted us to this lovely house full of fascinating artefacts with warm, generous hospitality”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely walk across the fields to the local pub.
Wonderful home made cake was waiting for us.
The White Horse was a lovely day out

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Clare. I'm glad you enjoyed your family break away in Oxfordshire. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveGi
Nice
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Truly Delightful Property”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A truly delightful property epitomising everything a country retreat should be. The palpable warmth and friendliness of Lesley's welcome set a lovely tone to our stay. Not forgetting the memorable goodie basket on arrival- the Victoria Sandwich was a real treat!

This converted barn exudes charm, comfort and style and is ideal for convivial gatherings. With cosy pubs, a plethora of walks and cultural pursuits on the doorstep one needs to look no further than "The Long House" Oxfordshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touch
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review Aline and Clive, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you and your dog Lulu again.
Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des F
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Idyllic , dont miss this one !”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at the Long House for two nights , what a wonderful experience. This barn is set in an outstanding location ; peaceful and beautiful. The conversion has been sensitively completed to a high standard. The bathrooms are exceptional and every little detail seems to have been considered throughout .The long house enjoyes so many little touches , I really think listing them here would detract from the experice of discovering them on a visit !
If you want to 're charge' in luxury , this is the place for you !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience at the Barn
Liked least: nothing !!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to send this lovely review, we're so pleased you had a relaxing time. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayashfie...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little peace of paradise”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We arrived for a two night, three day stay in this delightful converted barn. Designed to the highest standards, furnished with many interesting pieces. Everything was well presented, a basket of food for breakfast was supplied, a wide variety of gins available at the honesty bar and Lesley was there on our arrival to welcome us and ensure we settled in quickly. Set in delightful countryside, the small, but well maintained gardens were a hidden treasure. Only the sounds of the birds to listen to. Plenty of places to visit if you wish and the local village has a great steak house pub, for dining. The information book supplied was very useful. All the amenities you would expect and more at a property of this standard. By the time we had to go home, we felt we had been here for a week. Completely rested. We will definately be coming again. Thankyou Lesley for the wonderful welcome cake you kindly made. Ray and Sue x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and comfort of the property
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thank you for such a lovely comprehensive review of the barn and local area, we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive P
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife and I had the most relaxing time, the facilities were first class and a bit quirky. The owner cannot do enough for you.
Set in lovely Oxfordshire country side.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to send a review, I'm glad you had a relaxing time at The Long House. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S
Ardington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I have just spent the most wonderful birthday weekend at The Long House with some girlfriends. Lesley, the owner, has thought about absolutely everything a guest will ever need. From booking through to arrival, her attention to every single detail, was impeccable - she had even baked me a birthday cake!
It's all the little details that make a stay at The Long House so special. The sign outside the front door with a personal welcome message; the delicious hamper of breakfast essential; the log burner lit with a plentiful supply of chopped logs for later use; the very warm welcome from Lesley on arrival and the sheer luxury, peace and tranquility that is The Long House.
I will most definitely be booking another stay and would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a country stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Thank you for the glowing review Karen and I'm glad you had such a great birthday weekend with your friends. We look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing