We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend Break at the Long House”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Charney Bassett, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emilyd400
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Break at the Long House”
Reviewed 18 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We booked the Long House for a relxaxinng long weekend having not visited the Oxford area before.

Upon arrival to Goosey Wick we came across a number of converted barns and farm houses, one of which was the stunning Long House. The kitchen is huge with a beautiful argur and gin bar!

The living area of which we spent our Friday evening once the weather had dropped, playing board games in front of the wood burner.

The coartyard is just stunning with a BBQ and outdoor seating it’s so peaceful.

Both bedrooms and bathrooms have stunning decor and the whole barn is spotless.

I can not reccomend the long barn enough to couples loooking for a peaceful weekend getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2018
We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking time to leave a review. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathybd20...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real gem”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is the second time we’ve stayed at the long house and it felt like home as soon as we walked through the door. As before it was spotless, everything was ready and it was fun to spot the new curios and antiques that have been acquired since our last visit. We explored the area a bit more this time and found some beautiful villages and tea rooms. It’s worth doing this as it’s a lovely area.
On our last night we sat in the courtyard enjoying the last of the evening sun (it’s a real sun trap) - so peaceful and relaxing. Would not hesitate to recommend the Long House - we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review it was lovely to see you again. I’m glad you enjoyed the surrounding area as much as the barn. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_B2408
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed here for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were welcomed with homemade cake, which was delicious, eggs for breakfast and a cosy wood burner. The barn was beautifully decorated and well equipped for a relaxing break. The location was fantastic, so peaceful and perfect for countryside walks. It was also only a short drive to Oxford. We would recommend the free walking tour guide through the university colleges, this was packed with interesting facts.Thank you for our stay, we would love to come again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review and so glad you had a relaxing stay but also enjoyed popping in to Oxford. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W
1 review
“One of the best (if not the best) places we've ever stayed”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The Long House is absolutely beautiful. It's been decorated discerningly and the cottage is full of fascinating paintings and artefacts. Every room is a work of art. Not only is the Long House visually attractive, it's also extremely comfortable. Lesley is a fantastic host - never before have we arrived to a blazing fire. And did I mention the honesty gin bar? The accolades just keep on coming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you found The Long House cosy and comfortable despite the miserable weather. If you come again let's hope for a sunny weekend for you to enjoy a G&T in the courtyard! Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmie M
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Me and my two daughters and two dogs were blown away by the quality of this cottage, the exquisite design and amenities were endless throughout the cottage. We were given a wonderful hamper including a delicious victoria sponge cake! Lesley was fantastic and very hospitable and the location was great for country walks, pubs and accessibility from London. We visited most local villages and the selection of pubs for dinner were superb! We have done lots of weekends away staying in various cottages, but The Long House is hands down the best cottage we have ever stayed in and we will be back for sure. Thank you!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Thanks for the lovely review Sara, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here with your daughters. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy F
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nowhere nicer to do nothing”
Reviewed 1 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This is the single best-equipped and most comfortable rental house I've ever stayed in. Every need was anticipated and everything was superb quality. Unbelievably relaxing, quiet and just perfect. Perfect place for pottering about or just sitting by the fire. Lesley is a superlative hostess. If there were twenty stars I'd give them all to The Long House!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2018
My goodness what a lovely review, we’re so glad you had a relaxing time. We look forward to welcoming you again. Thanks for taking the time to write a review it is appreciated. Kind regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspire69...
1 review
“Perfect countryside retreat”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had an amazing four nights stay over the New Year period at the Long House. It met our expectations and some! We wanted a cosy getaway in the countryside that was also dog friendly. The Long House offered just that. This quirky, fun bolthole caters for all your creature comforts, with a wonderful welcome hamper and delicious cake on arrival. Lesley and Roger have thought of absolutely everything and were on hand to give advice on pubs / restaurants and even cooking a roast in the Aga! The surrounding area has so much to see and do. We enjoyed lovely country walks, a trip to Woodstock/Blenheim Palace, the White Horse and very good pub grub at the local Chequers Inn. The Long House was exactly what we wanted, a charming warm retreat to cook/relax and chill out. 10 out 10 to Lesley and Roger for creating a little slice of heaven!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review, it sounds as if you made the most of your stay, we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Lesley and Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing