We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TA recommendation gone horribly wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delmar Apartments & Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pollonia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've had extremely good luck with TripAdvisor recommendations so was incredibly disappointed when this Best Western stay went bad. The nice rooms that you see in pictures online are only of the suites, and our apartment looked nothing like what I saw when I made the booking.

To be fair, I'll start with the pros:
-Our ferry from Santorini to Milos was cancelled, and they were kind enough to shift our reservation forward one day.
-The hotel is a one block walk to the nice restaurants and waterfront area of Pollonia.

Cons:
-As I said, the one bedroom apartment looked absolutely nothing like the pictures on the Expedia page where we booked and had no Greek character whatsoever. When trying to decide which to hotel to book for Milos, we chose this Best Western because of the classic Greek rooms we saw in all the pictures we could find online, so needless to say, we were quite disappointed.
-The one bedroom apartment was on the street side of the hotel and was incredibly noisy, the bathroom was very small, and I was surprised by the fact that we had to make our own bed. The bottom sheet was made, but we had to lay out the top sheet, and there was no blanket.
-The next morning we expressed our disappointment that the room didn't look like the pictures of what we booked (which, luckily, I had along) and asked if they had one of the more traditional Greek-looking rooms available. Unfortunately, the only room that was available for the next two nights was a standard hotel room. It was more to our liking so we made the change, but since it was a downgrade from an apartment to a standard room, we asked if they would refund the difference in rate. They told us they would figure it out. We asked again the next day about the rate, and they said they were looking into it. Finally, at checkout, they said they weren't going to refund the difference in rate because of the fact that they had pushed our reservation forward due to the cancelled ferry, and that meant that our room sat empty for a night. This was disappointing to us because 1) The standard room that we moved into was empty anyway (they weren't filling their empty rooms), and 2) They had lead us to believe that they would change the rate. Had they just been upfront in the very beginning we likely would've just checked out and gone somewhere else.
-A very basic thing that a hotel needs to provide is hot water, but in our three night stay we only had hot water one night. Showers the other two nights were ice cold; after a long day of hiking and being sweaty, it was quite agitating to take an ice cold shower.

Room Tip: Only the suites look like the pictures you see online. Our one bedroom apartment looked nothing lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lov_2_travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakoronias, Manager at Delmar Apartments & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival.

Per your comments, we have updated our Expedia website to ensure that future travelers are better informed about the accommodations they are reserving. We have also completely renovated the particular Apartment.

As for the bed setting, they are set in the typical way as done all over Greece. We place an extra sheet on top of the fitted one.

Regarding the location, our Hotel is at the centre of Pollonia, just 40 meters from the sandy beach, the top restaurants and the market. Although this is a quiet fishing village, we understand that some guests might be more sensitive to sound than others.

We always try to be flexible and understanding with all of our guests. We provided an alternative which was accepted as well as not charging for the first night that was a No-Show.

Unfortunately, we had a temporary malfunction with the water heating system which was repaired as soon as possible.

We hope to see you again in the future and you can reach me directly at 0030.6932436588 if I can be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was our first hotel on our Greek Islands trip. We had booked a standard room, but on arrival Iliana kindly upgraded us to the Honeymoon suite, as we were her first ever guests from India! The suite was amazing and me being a bit of "Hotel Snob", it ticked all the right boxes. The hotel is situated in Pollonia, which is accessible to all the parts of the island with a car. Although we went in the low season of May, the island was beautiful and we had a chance to explore all the parts without bumping into hordes of tourists. Getting back to the hotel, it is a highly recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faqhera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For our first trip to Milos, Pollonia turned out to be the best place to stay. It is a small but vibrant and welcoming town and easy to access the rest of the island and beaches with a rental car.
This suite itself was perfect - spacious, comfortable, clean and a wonderful balcony to eat and socialise. All staff were extremely helpful and attentive and we appreciated their personal touch.
We were very happy, and definitely recommend this apartment!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bree240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My friends & I were hotel hopping in Milos and we booked for a couple of nights in Del Mar. We were so impresssed with the apartment and the service that we extended our stay in Milos just to stay an extra night in the hotel. Illiana & George were very warm, friendly, hospitable and generous and made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. The apartment was very clean, tastefully furnished with a well equipped kitchen. The hotel was very well located, the restaurants & bus stop were just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and free parking was available. I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends if they were to visit Milos.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We booked the Honeymoon Suite for 3 nights. The place has recently been renovated and it looks gorgeous!

Super modern while still keeping that Greek "like home" feeling. The place was super clean and the owner and staff are very kind. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I've never had such great service when it came to booking and reservation details. I booked this hotel through Booking.com. The concierge immediately sent me an email, thanking me for booking, and offered to assist me with arranging transportation to the hotel. We had some issues with our reservation dates and the hotel was extremely accommodating. If I ever go back to Milos, I will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayfarer143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife, mother and I spent a week at the Del Mar in a two bedroom apartment over Greek Easter. We were very impressed with the standard of the accommodation and particularly with the stylish interior decoration. The hosts Illiana and George were incredibly helpful and recommended some wonderful restaurants and places to visit. The location of the hotel is in Pollonia which is a 2 minute stroll to some of the best restaurants on the island so it's perfectly positioned. Milos is a stunning island and we found all the locals to be genuinely friendly.

We'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetravelzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pollonia
6.5 mi away
Artemis Deluxe Rooms
Artemis Deluxe Rooms
#1 of 1 in Paleochori
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tania Milos
Tania Milos
#1 of 7 in Pollonia
509 reviews
6.4 mi away
Psaravolada Resort
Psaravolada Resort
#5 of 35 in Milos
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Santa Maria Village
Santa Maria Village
#1 of 17 in Adamas
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nefeli Sunset Studios
Nefeli Sunset Studios
#2 of 7 in Pollonia
705 reviews
5.1 mi away
Thalassitra Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delmar Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delmar Apartments & Suites

Address: Triovasalos - Apollonion Road, Pollonia 84800, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Milos > Pollonia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pollonia
#3 Family Hotel in Pollonia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pollonia
Price Range: £57 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Delmar Apartments & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Delmar Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Hotel
Delmar Apartments & Suites Milos/Pollonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing