We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taergesen B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taergesen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taergesen
Certificate of Excellence
Omagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Taergesen B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Lovely old building inside and out... sort of like an inn as it had a restaurant down stairs and rooms above. Staff very friendly and helpful. I have only one complaint and that is I thought that the bed linen was not all that clean. The pillow on my bed was lumpy so i checked the spare one in the cupboard - but it was full of stains and really smelled. I had to make do with a little cushion which I put my t-shirt over. I liked Reydarfjordur too. I ate in the restaurant in the evening and food very good.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rubyonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    20
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gooik, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

We staid for one night in this guesthouse. The room was big and nice. There were 3 bathrooms but not one of them was clean. There was no toiletpaper anymore in 2 bathrooms. You have to take the breakfast yourself out of the fridge

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrik_Cro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
234 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed for a night at Taergesen on the way to Lake Myvatn. The exterior of the guesthouse is very good and has a typical "fishing village" charm. The inside has got a rustic feeling with wooden furniture and decor. There's some antique items displayed in the restaurant which adds to the effect.
The rooms are on the top floor and are comfortable. The floors are wooden as is the corridor, so there's some amount of creaking always. Breakfast spread was quite limited to cold cuts, bread and some beverages.
The hosts were particularly helpful.
Overall a comfortable place in reydafjordur.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niloy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouarzazate, Morocco
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

I stayed on Taergesen Guest House coming from Mvytan lakes. it was a long drive so I was kind of tyred, but still, I got there around 4pm. I had plenty of time to walk around the village and get to know some interesting things about it.

Taergesen Guest House's building is interesting due to be painted in black color. I've never stayed on a black colored hotel before. :)

Staff was polite, although they didn't do anything vegetarian for me, so, I had to go and buy things at the supermarket.

This was the only place I found with free bed. It has no private bathrooms, so, all rooms have shared wc.

All rooms are fully equipped and all with nice quality furniture.

Everyone's supposed to take their shoes out before going up the stairs to the rooms area.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joaoleitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reydarfjordur
9.8 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Eskifjordur
Hotel Eskifjordur
#1 of 3 in Eskifjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Blafell
Hotel Blafell
#1 of 2 in Breiddalsvik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Herad
Icelandair Hotel Herad
#2 of 5 in Egilsstadir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hildibrand Hotel
Hildibrand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Neskaupstadur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hia Marlin
Hia Marlin
#1 of 2 in Reydarfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taergesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taergesen

Property: Taergesen
Address: Budargata 4, Reydarfjordur 730, Iceland
Region: Iceland > East Region > Reydarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Reydarfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Taergesen 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taergesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing