We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We recently spent 2 nights at the Beach Hotel and were very impressed by this family run hotel. It is located in Downings with its stunning scenery.
Check in so friendly and efficient with information offered on the local area and places to visit.
Food in the restaurant was well cooked and very tasty, breakfast excellent on both mornings with a good range of fresh fruit, cereals and cooked options.
Our accommodation was super and spotlessly clean, fantastic shower in bathroom.
Felt very well looked after, even had a wee knock at our door on our last evening to enquire if we were warm enough.
Atlantic drive is a must, scenery is absolutely breath-taking.
Would highly recommend, thanks again to everyone at the Beach Hotel for your excellent hospitality!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank b0bbyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Spent 3 days in this family run Hotel in Co Donegal and was most satisfied with the experience.The food was excellent and well priced and the staff and owners were very pleasant and attentive. The personal touch was very refreshing and as a guest one felt very welcome and nothing was too much bother. Advice on touring the area was always available and on ones return the staff and management enquired how our trips had gone.

Room Tip: With a beach view room 214 was excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Beach hotel for a short break, we had a lovely time, Room was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful and food was good. There was no entertainment on the friday nite as there was a poker game on which I thought was a bit strange for a hotel so we ended up going the short distance to The Downings Bay hotel. We had a great night there as there was entertainment on. Just one little tip - dont park under the trees in the carpark. We came out on Sunday after checking out and couldn't believe our eyes our car was completely cover from front to back and down the sides with birds excrement. There was rooks everywhere, we had to go back to reception to ask if there was a carwash anywhere handy, which there wasn't so we had to get a bucket of hot soapy water from the kitchen and wash it down, which wasnt easy. We had to stop on the way home at a carwash as it was so bad. Obviously that wasnt the fault of the hotel. Would go back again to the Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed there for 1 night only but I loved it. The photos on the website don't do it justice. The room was clean, spacious and warm.. It was also very quiet at night and the breakfast in the morning was delicious.
The hotel is just besides the beach and the owners were very
I will definitely stay there again.

A tip: Before booking a room, call the hotel directly, they might be able to give you a better price!

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor, room 109. It was perfect and quiet. It was looking at the road not be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Top class service, will definitely be back! Staff friendly, food great, real family friendly atmosphere. Oldest in our group was 62 and youngest 6 and a wonderful time was had by all, nothing was too much trouble for Charlie and his staff :)))

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent two weeks wondering around the coastline of Ireland and came upon the village of Downings. The Beach Hotel was the perfect spot to stay the night. Nice village to walk around. Great food served with a smile. Charlie and Mairead were so helpful in guiding us to tour the area and the beautiful Atlantic Coastal Road. We can not wait to return to submerse ourselves more into this beautiful area. Beach Hotel is the place to stay to flavor the experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side overlook a clean trailer park then onto the water. All quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in the Beach Hotel for three nights recently, and I have to say that it is one of the friendliest family hotels we have stayed in. Coupled with the fact that the food was delicious, excellent service and wonderful scenery I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Charlie and Mairead were excellent hosts, and always ensured that everyone was looked after. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.1 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
277 reviews
15.6 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
949 reviews
18.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
5.4 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
416 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: Downings, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range: £77 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel Downings is a newly renovated family run hotel located in the heart of the seaside village of Downings over looking Sheephaven Bay. The Beach Hotel offers 30 stylish en-suite bedrooms, fine cuisine in both the Restaurant and the Bar along with regular live traditional Irish music to liven up the atmosphere. The Hotel is situated along the fabulous Wild Atlantic Way and is approximately 35 minutes from Letterkenny, 55 minutes from Derry and is the perfect location for all the near by attractions and activities including Fanad Lighthouse, Glenveagh National Park, Atlantic Drive, Golfing, Angling, Surfing and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Downings, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing