We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel?”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel?”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights b&b and 1 evening meal. Charlie and Mairaid made us feel very welcome on arrival and offered local knowledge and weather forecasts during our stay. The whole hotel was spotless, bright and warm, the food was great and the staff were excellent. Looking forward to returning with friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawesajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    61
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
89
169
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this Hotel for two nights. Really good. On check in, my room was very warm, not cold like May hotels after check in. The room was large, with sea views, and spotless. I felt relaxed as soon as I entered.
I had bar food which was very good, and fantastic value. It's a family run hotel and feels newly built. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. The bar has a log fire burning to enhance the cosy feel of this hotel.
Location is in the middle of this beautiful village, in north west Donegal. Will stay there again for sure.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

we have just returned from spending three very relaxing nights in the Beach Hotel in Downings . great hotel , very friendly hosts in Charlie and Mairead and an absolute star in Eddie . We were made very welcome , food and service excellent but it was the warmth and friendliness that make this a fantastic place to stay . we will stay again and hopefully very soon

Room Tip: we choose room with very comfortable seating area . room 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omagh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
down
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I spent a lovely relaxing night over the weekend.Room 204 has great view over the bay,and we were made so welcome.Food and service excellent and everywhere was spotless.Owners Charlie and Mairead and their son Darragh certainly know how to make their guests welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DownMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Top marks for welcome, rooms, food, location, excellent staff in every department, all in all the perfect spot for a break from normal life! Made feel like a family member returning home (even though had never been there before)
Great walk on the beach right beside hotel. Mc Nutts coffee shop home baking great atmosphere. Downings PERFECT in every way, even the weather! Look no further than Beach Hotel Downings for your next break away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Spent the weekend here whilst visiting friends who live locally. Food was first class. Premises were absolutely spotless. The hospitality afforded us was truly magnificent. Can't wait to return in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prop4ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed twice in the beach hotel as I was diving in Donegal The room was great and on both occassions I had to be up and away before breakfast and the hotel prepared tea and toast for me and gave me a large lunch of sandwiches which kept me going the whole next day
I had a wet undersuit and the hotel dried the suit on both occasions This made my next days diving very comfortable
I spoke with a girl by the name of Anna and later spoke with the son of manager who was most sociable
The rooms were great and the staff very sociable
Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brannock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.1 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
261 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
751 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
394 reviews
15.6 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
888 reviews
18.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Property: Beach Hotel
Address: Downings, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel Downings is a newly renovated family run hotel located in the heart of the seaside village of Downings over looking Sheephaven Bay. The Beach Hotel offers 30 stylish en-suite bedrooms, fine cuisine in both the Restaurant and the Bar along with regular live traditional Irish music to liven up the atmosphere. The Hotel is situated along the fabulous Wild Atlantic Way and is approximately 35 minutes from Letterkenny, 55 minutes from Derry and is the perfect location for all the near by attractions and activities including Fanad Lighthouse, Glenveagh National Park, Atlantic Drive, Golfing, Angling, Surfing and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Downings, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing