We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up”
Review of Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed here on a hen party recently and I have to say I was so impressed with this hotel. It's so modern but not too modern if that makes sense. The room was lovely, so clean and bright, loved it. We had dinner in the hotel as well and the food was just lovely. Staff were so friendly and there was just a great atmosphere in the place. I'd have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodiejojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a fabulous room overlooking the bay.staff were very friendly ,helpful and the food in the restaurant was excellent and not overpriced.I would recommend this hotel to anyone I will certainly be back sooner rather than later

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Colum46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This was my third stay here. Absolutely loved it again. Room was spotless and very comfortable. We ate in hotel two nights over the weekend. Food in the bar area is just so tasty. The house wine was lovely too.
Breakfast was the same as always...delicious.
The highlight again though is the hospitality of the place and the good buzz about the place. Always a great atmosphere. Had the most chilled out night on the Sunday watching the golf in the bar with a few drinks.
Thanks again to Charlie, Mairead, Darragh, Eddie and all others for the great service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rosco263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My Wife and I stayed recently for two weeks and had a fantastic time, it was our third visit in three years staying longer each time and have already booked for two weeks next year
Everything is first class very friendly and welcoming, room was very comfortable great view at rear of hotel ,all the staff were very switched on and made the extra effort to get to know you and have a chat even when busy, bar staff to name a few(Ed Robert James David Zara) were excellent , restaurant staff Eileen and Teresa also first class and food better than a lot of so called 5 star hotels, Receptionist Anna in a class of her own nothing too much trouble.
Mairead and Charlie the owners what can I say , absolute pleasure to know you and thanks for everything ,keep up the good work and we are looking forward to seeing you all again next year

Give our thanks to all

Neil & Barbara

Room Tip: rear for view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeildStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed on sat night. On arrival receptionist was very nice and helpful.. room was lovely, thanks darragh, bar staff were friendly and we meet friend for dinner in restaurant food top class.. overall brilliant hotel. We will be back

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1385jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I met up with other members of the family to have a meal in the beach hotel Last night. We had a wonderful time and the food was excellent. The staff were very helpful and made the whole experience great.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed recently as a group of four and had a fantastic time. Had orignally booked two interconnecting bedrooms and I received a call the night before we were to check in to inform us that they had upgraded us to a suite (larger room, larger beautiful bathroom and a lounge area) We were delighted with the room - everything was immaculate, could not find fault.

We ate that evening in the bar and the food and service was first class. Staff were very attentive - our order was taking swiftly and food was served piping hot! Upon returning to our room, we contacted reception with a few requests, which were dealt with promptly!

We cannot find fault in our stay (except for the rain, but we can't have everything). We will certainly be returning to The Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SaffronButtercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.1 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
273 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
824 reviews
5.4 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
395 reviews
18.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,141 reviews
15.6 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: Downings, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range: £78 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel Downings is a newly renovated family run hotel located in the heart of the seaside village of Downings over looking Sheephaven Bay. The Beach Hotel offers 30 stylish en-suite bedrooms, fine cuisine in both the Restaurant and the Bar along with regular live traditional Irish music to liven up the atmosphere. The Hotel is situated along the fabulous Wild Atlantic Way and is approximately 35 minutes from Letterkenny, 55 minutes from Derry and is the perfect location for all the near by attractions and activities including Fanad Lighthouse, Glenveagh National Park, Atlantic Drive, Golfing, Angling, Surfing and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Downings, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing