We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house in beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ard Na Mara

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Decking accessed from sun lounge, picnic table and loungers available Sheltered natural stone patio, views of Horn Head, table, chairs & bbq available
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Decking accessed from sun lounge, picnic table and loungers available
Sheltered natural stone patio, views of Horn Head, table, chairs & bbq available
Open plan lounge with natural stone fire place
Spacious sun lounge, access to large decking areas
Kitchen with breakfast bar, seats 4 persons
Dining area, seats 6 persons
Natural pine staircase leading to galleria and master bedrooms
Master king bedroom with en-suite
En-suite shower room, 2 no.
Master double bedroom with en-suite
Double bedroom, bathroom next door
Main bathroom with shower
Bunk bed room, sleeps 4, bathroom next door
Bunk bed room, sleeps 4, bathroom next door
Games room with table football and board games
Games room with LED lighting
Horn Head and Tory Island by day from Ard Na Mara
Horn Head and Tory Island by night from Ard Na Mara
Purple pin locates Ard Na Mara Holiday Cottage, minutes from the beaches of Sheephaven Bay
Gently shelving Downings Blue Flag Beach suitable for children, 7 mins drive from Ard Na Mara
Tramore Beach, Downings, great for walking and parking available behind Rosapenna Golf Resort
Tramore Beach in the evening
Murder Hole Beach, Belmore Head, 15 mins drive from the house
The cave Murder Hole Beach
Tranarossan Beach, 10 mins from the house
Kayaking around Sheephaven Bay, kayak rental available at Jaws Watersports, Downings
Sailing Downings Beach
Excess to secret beach, walk to end of the lane,  continue opposite our lane down to the coast
The Singing Pub, great for sea food and child friendly
Horn Head, walk along the headland for great views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Downings, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catherine...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in beautiful location”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just returned from a weekend break at Ard Na Mara. This is an exceptional property set in its own private grounds with breathtaking views over the Atlantic! I went with my husband, grown up children and their other halves. We arrived late on Friday night and were able to find the house in the dark with the owners instructions. The fire was set for us and it wasn't long before we had it lit and were relaxing in the luxury surrounding us. The house had everything you could possibly need in a home from home! I would highly recommend this house and I am sure I will return some day. The owner was very helpful and responded promptly to my emails.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and position of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house was perfect for our stay and so clean and comfortable for all.
Liked least: Honestly the only thing I was least impressed with was the 2 days of rain we got!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large open dining and living area
Liked least: Everything was good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CAllanDer...
Derry
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 4 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We hired Ard na Mara as a place to hold a family reunion - and the house comfortably housed 6 adults, four children and one infant. The facilities were top knotch - all mod cons and we arrived to find the fire set and ready for lighting and a complementary bottle of wine in the kitchen.
The house is beautifully decorated and the open plan aspect to the living area made it ideal for us all to be able to catch up. Travelling with a toddler we were exceptionally impressed at the facilities at hand, including stair gates, a high chair and travel cot.
We could not have asked for more!
The outdoor facilities were equally impressive, with gorgeous gardens and outdoor furniture. We enjoyed a few glasses of wine on the decking with the stunning views of the Altantic coast.
Indeed it was the view which was stole the show for us. Our visitors, who had only been to Donegal once before, were blown away with the view, as was I.
Just 2.5 miles outside of the village of Downings (where there is a lovely bar, a small shop and a a takeaway if you don't feel like cooking), Ard Na Mara is a little piece of heaven.
A car would be a necessity, and make sure to explore the glorious countryside. This was a reasonbly priced getaway - we didn't want to go home and we will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$157
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing