We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of The Singing Pub

The Singing Pub
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Pub itself looks nothing from outside, step in and your welcomed by a very cosy bar filled with locals. Step threw the bar into a glassed courtyard and into the small restaurant, which was packed for a Tuesday night. Great steak and fantastic fish. The best the mother in law has had! A gem in a gem of a place in beautiful Donegal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SwiftsBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    68
    23
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2 lovely evenings at The Singing Pub”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was with a bunch of sea kayakers from the Causeway Coast Kayaking Association, paddling by day and partying by night. We had 2 lovely nights at The Singing Pub, with Tony and his team providing exceptionally friendly and efficient service. I like my food but wasn't really expecting anything more than average pub food. So on the first night I had the Scampi, a fairly safe bet, and it did what it said on the tin. In a bigger group on the 2nd night we went for a wide variety of dishes on the menu. I had the mussels (rope cultured on the door step in Mulroy Bay). Delicious. And I sampled a few of the other dishes too. I've seen a few negative comments here and know that a few people were unfortunate. This happens some times (I know, I ran an award winning restaurant for 9 years). But my experience was totally positive. The atmosphere here is lovely, the music, particularly on the first night (a group of 4 musicians, playing fiddle, whistle, guitar, ukulele ... and harmonising beautifully) ... A real gem. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pub grub ever”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

we spent the weekend there and ate in the singing pub both nights... delicious food and excellent service.. the staff were extremely friendly and professional.. would recommend it big time!

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

After visiting the singing pub regularly over the last 18 years our experience over the Easter holidays put us off so much will never return.the family wanted to return for something to eat as the food had always been great,my son ordered the haddock and chips which when came out looked amazing only to discover the fish was indeed full of worm like creatures which to our horror was completely unable to finish any of our food as thee was 3 of us eating the haddock,after complaining to a very understanding waitress who we found lovely as it was not her fault but what find appalling is that the manger that day did not have the courtesy to acknowledge what had just happened but left this young girl to deal with such a bad experience had we been acknowledge by him we would certainly go back for a drink although not food but that has put us right off and feel we will not return such a pity

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“What a spot”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Yet another one of our bike trips, never mind the views on route round to The Singing Pub but the pub it's self is a very friendly spot and great craic.
I'm looking to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Singing Pub also viewed

 
Downings, County Donegal
 
Dunfanaghy, County Donegal
 

Been to The Singing Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing