We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One you must visit!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosguill Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at Rosguill in our touring caravan. We were given a very friendly welcome by Peader and had a spacious site with unobstructed views of the beautiful beach and free pitch and putt (11 holes !) on our doorstep. There is also a tennis court and tennis is free too. The beach is literally a few minutes walk away and there are other magnificent beaches to explore, also within walking distance - Murderhole beach is fabulous. On the site the shower/ toilet block is brand new and separated into Gents, Ladies and Disabled. The layout provides maximum privacy and the showers are huge! (1 euro). These were all spotless. For campers there is a room with fridge, microwave and laundry facilities,again all new. We also had fabulous weather which showed the area at its best. It was just after the Easter rush so the site was very quiet but I imagine it is a tranquil place even when busier, Sometimes at a site, tourers and tents are located at the back or 'hidden away' but not here. You will have the best views and facilities which will have you booking to go back. We definitely are!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank brian_speirs219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosguillHolidayPark, Manager at Rosguill Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Brian,

Thank you for your recent review of Rosguill Holiday Park.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback & look forward to your staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just home from a five night stay over Easter. We were lucky to get fabulous weather which added to the experience. The beaches are beautiful! And the view from the caravan was the best we've ever had at any site so far!
The toilet/shower facilities look like they have recently been refurbished and are finished to a very high standard.
The pitch and putt is great fun and also great value included in the price of your stay.
The site is quiet with plenty of space between pitches and has recently been turned into hard standing pitches which would be great if the weather wasn't so great.
If you are looking for a site with great views, great beaches, quiet and peace then this is the place for you!
A quick drive down the road takes you to the singing pub which has a great play area for the kids and free wifi.
If I had to find a bad point to this location it would be that the road is quite hilly and narrow so we decided against cycling or walking but that's of no fault of the site.
Also although we didn't have any reason to need the staff during our stay the booking process was excellent via email with replies prompt and friendly.
We're actually disappointed that we don't live closer so we'll have to wait till the next bank holiday break before we can go again.
Thank you Rosguill for a wonderful Easter break :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank BRLun6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosguillHolidayPark, Manager at Rosguill Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Camper,

Thank you for your recent review of Rosguill Holiday Park.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback & look forward to your staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at Rosguill Holiday Park and once again have left having a wonderful, relaxing time. The site is close to the beach and the areas has some lovely walks. The site has the most amazing views and even when the weather wasn't particularly great it was lovely to sit and look out at the beach. It is also very clean and spacious. Our kids enjoyed the tennis and pitch and putt, free to campers. The new shower and toilet block was appreciated, being on the touring site and at a euro for a five minute shower was reasonable. Staff at the site were lovely and extremely courteous and pleasant. I will return to this site, DV, and have no hesitation recommending this site to anyone wanting a little peace and quiet :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunflower21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here for a week in July, 7 nights for the price of 6 (offer), which i think is very reasonable at €20 per night and i must say it is a wonderful place, very quite with a stunning location. Very spacious as we have a large family tent, and it was busy with other tents and motor homes, there was plenty space with a view every morning to die for. Beautiful beaches at your doorstep. Noise at night time was minimal. The facilities were excellent and clean. There was a new shower and toilet block (wet room) at the bottom of the campsite which is close by (bring your own toilet paper). €1 gives a 5 min shower plenty hot water and space and time to have a decent shower. The wash room has sinks and a washing machine etc. all clean and well maintained as is the whole site. Pitch and Putt is also available to use as part of the campsite, clubs available in office along with the tennis court which is also a great asset. Unfortunately the good spell of weather broke but because of location and site it was still a great place. There was a great place to eat nearby in The Singing Pub, not too far from campsite. All in all great place for a relaxing camping holiday.
The only issue and it is only a small one, was because we were staying for a week, and the weather was very warm, we had to refreeze the ice blocks for our cool box often, space was limited in freezer so i would recommend to the owner in putting in a large chest freezer for the wash room, which would sort that issue out easily. Other than that the staff were helpful in freezing our ice blocks.
I would definitely recommend this wonderful campsite, and hopefully will be back soon.
Keep up the good work and i hope you have a good season. Thanks

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Carrigman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

After finding this park last year we returned this year for another stay. This is a wonderful place. It is very private and has stunning views and a five minute walk to a great beach. We stayed this year from the 12th July - 15th July and although the site was probably close to capacity, lots of other caravans and lots of tents, it still felt quiet and spacious.

The owners are very friendly and also happy to give you local information if you want it. We were directed to a truly stunning beach only reached by a ten minute walk across fields, one of the many great beaches in this part of Donegal.

This is a great site for families and there are lots of kids having fun, but also it quiets down quickly as the sun sets. There are good facilities, and a new shower & toilet block this year close to the camping area.

Highly recommended. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were very fortunate to book a holiday the 8-11th of July. The weather could not have been better, the nearest town for provisions was about a 10 minute drive away. The only thing i would warn of is that the roads are very narrow and steep at times so be ready for a driving experience!

The Rosguill Holiday park was great, can't say enough about it. When first booking i thought the prices were a bit high just for camping but it was worth it. With your camping fee comes full reign of the site, they have a free pitch and putt that was fun and challenging, tennis courts with free rental of balls and rackets, and they also have a football pitch although our family didn't use it.
For the walk to the beach, it only takes about 5 minutes but bring sandals!! If the weather is hot the pavement is hot and there are some bits with stones so def bring footwear to the beach! The sand was soft and white, and the water so crystal clear and blue you could see your feet at the bottom. Stays shallow for ages as well. Not many critters or seaweed in the water either, which is a definite bonus! Water is cold but that's what you expect when swimming in the Atlantic. Beach is for all intents and purposes private and it's such an amazing view.

The campground itself was very well maintained. We were on a non-electric site and we had a view to die for every morning. There are no firepits so you will want to bring a BBQ or something to cook on

Staff were helpful but non intrusive and the facilities were well maintained.
Couldn't ask for a better spot

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GowdyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is a fantastic site in a perfect location ,a private beach ,tennis court,pitch and putt ,friendly staff , a real find. The views from the site are amazing , the nearest pub is a 2 mile walk which makes the First Guinness taste special. A walk in the other direction takes you out to Melmore head with its stunning views of Tory Island and Fanad .A trip to the local pier at the right time and you can get pick up some mackerel or cod for the evening b/q from the local charter boats as they arrive back from a days fishing.
Can't wait for the season to open and our next trip to this magical piece of Donegal.Just hope it doesn't rain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ilovefood186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
3.2 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
274 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
396 reviews
15.3 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
855 reviews
11.8 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
407 reviews
7.7 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosguill Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosguill Holiday Park

Address: Melmore, Downings, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Downings
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosguill Park is a Failte Ireland registered three star Caravan and Camping site that caters for both static mobile homes and for touring caravans, dormobiles and tents. This quiet family owned park is located on a stunning peninsula, part of the rugged and beautiful North West Donegal coast. Surrounded by six long, clean, sandy beaches within walking distance and a number of other beaches nearby in Downings it is little wonder that this part of Donegal is fast becoming one of the best locations for water-sports and outdoor activities in Ireland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosguill Holiday Park Downings, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing