We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Young families not made to feel welcome. Must be 70+”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Young families not made to feel welcome. Must be 70+”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This was booked last minute & our decision to go was based on the beautiful sea views which did not disappoint. We found the price was strictly non negotiable. Hospitable, the staff are not- when we asked for a cot- it was a bother, when we asked for a new hairdryer, it was a bother & when we were 15minutes late for dinner we felt like we had totally inconvenienced them and were rushed through dinner. The steak though, was good, even if everything is a bit of a 90's revival- melba toast! Breakfast too was good. Unusual opening times for the pool. wifi didn't work. Bed by 10:30!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank grainnebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    42
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
77
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The hotel is situated between 2 glorious sandy beaches, a stones throw from the grandeur of Donegal's hills and bang next door to the resort's own golf course - so the location couldn't be better. The exterior of the hotel is rather average; inside it's quite grand - large lounges, golfing momentoes and photos, sweeping views of the beach and hills. We stayed in a superior room - spacious, comfortably furnished, bathroom adequate (bit small). Breakfast was hearty, cooked to order plus a small buffet. Scrambled eggs best avoided but otherwise good. Evening meal was good - service scarily fast, standard fare well cooked and large quantities; felt like a 70's time warp, but nothing wrong with that. Clientele are mostly 50+, golfers, well heeled. Swimming pool is little used, good sized. Not much sign of serious competion in the environs so if you,re looking for a comfortable base in in Donegal and want 4* comforts, this would be a good choice. But dont expect nouvelle cuisine. Internet only in public areas.

Room Tip: Superior room is larger with beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife,Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

As a group of 4 golfers the trip to Rosapenna has become something of a yearly pilgrimmage for us. As stated by others the courses are fantastic with sweeping views of Sheephaven Bay compensating for any missed fairways or putts. The old course is much more forgiving than Sandy Hills which offers some of the most spectacular holes any of us have seen.
The Hotel can appear a little dated but the facilities are excellent and the views from the dining room superb. The comments from some regardiing no smiles from staff seem hard to believe as we have always found them more than friendly. The food is plentiful and very good and as for the desert trolley - why don't more places do this?
As golfers the package including DB&B plus free golf on the Old Course is hard to beat in terms of value for money anywhere in Ireland. Just go and enjoy.
Ps take the walk along the beach in the evening and enjoy a drink at the Harbour Bar.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuban-Heals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

My wife and I like playing golf and that was the primary purpose of our visit to Rosapenna. We stayed here for the weekend (Fri. & Sat.) after the June Bank Holiday Weekend. I had booked their Golfer's Delight Special from their web site as I initially felt that it represented the best combined Golf/Accomodation/Food deal available in Ireland, particularly given that the Rosapenna Sandy Hills Course is rated in the Top 20 Golf Courses in Ireland. The best overall comment that I can make about our visit is that I think that my views on value for money were absolutely confirmed.

In the end, we played 3 games of golf. One of them (Sandy Hills on the Friday) was really tough given the rain and wind, particularly in the middle of the round. But the other 2 days were magnificent (the relatively good weather having a lot to do with our opinion), with the scenery around Rosapenna with views of Sheephaven Bay being an added bonus. The Old Tom Morris Course is now among my wife's favourite golf courses while having beat my handicap on Sandy Hills (11 shots better than the Friday) on the Sunday, I'd classify the course as a tremendous links course, challenging in terms of demanding accuracy but still manageable.

Both the hotel and golf courses were quiet. On enquiring, we were told that it was an unusually quiet weekend for them, probably as a result of it being exam time at the moment.

The food, both breakfast and dinner, was excellent. We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful, particularly, our Wine Expert, Giuseppe, who convinced us of the merits of holidaying in his native Sicily at some time in the future. He was also pretty knowledgeable about the merits of various Donegal tourist attractions, with a visit to Tory Island being top of his list.

The area around Rosapenna is magnificent in terms of views of the Atlantic against the Rugged Terrain of the Donegal coastline and remote beaches such as Rosguill. We also travelled up to remote Horn Head via Dunfanaghy on the Saturday and thought the place a remote and spectacular area.

The negatives about the area, if there are any, is the distance from major conurbations. Letterkenny is a long 35km away. If you want to combine Rosapenna with other destinations, then you're in a for relatively long drive. That said, it's remoteness is probably part of its charm.

We'll return some day for sure!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

stayed here with a group of golfing friends may bank holiday weekend. lovely staff, great food very nice hotel. would recommend to any one.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedgar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELFAST
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

I have stayed in the Rosapenna Hotel on several occasions in the past years and I believe there is no hotel in Ireland that provides better value for money for golfers. My latest visit has merely confirmed my view.
The sleeping accommodation is very comfortable,quiet and maintained to a very high standard.It is spotlessly clean as are all other areas of the hotel.
Dinner is simply superb with a wide choice of delicious dishes All of the 4 courses are served piping hot by an army of very efficient and most pleasant staff.Breakfast is equally delicious with a vast array of lovely fruits ,cereals and juices on offer The fried breakfast is to die for!
The views from the hotel are breathtaking and the nearby beaches provide great walks according to my wife.My friends and I took on the challenge provided by the 2 superb links golf courses attached to the hotel.The Old Tom Morris course was beautifully presented and proved a stern but enjoyable test for us as we are high handicappers.
On the following day we played the Sandy Hills course.It was tough and was made tougher by the wind.The layout of this course would present a mighty challenge for golfers of any standard and it is obvious why it is regarded as one of the top courses in Ireland.
Rosapenna Hotel has for many years maintained high standards of accommodation,food and friendly service I am delighted that my latest visit has confirmed that it is continuing .This ,combined with 2 great courses makes Rosapenna an unbeatable venue in Ireland for a golf break

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOMMY59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We were visiting Rosapenna for partners to play golf. The weather was wonderful with sunbathing oportunities! The golfers enjoyed the golf. Highlights were comfortable rooms, attention to detail, fabulous food (breakfast deserves a special mention) and views to die for! Miles of beaches for the non golfers to walk. Thanks to all at Rosapenna for a lovely time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.3 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 2 in Rathmullan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Rosapenna, Downings, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort is one of Ireland's premier 4 star luxury hotels, and has been since 1893. It sits in an 800 acre estate on the edge of the Atlantic ocean, where the bays of Mulroy & Sheephaven meet on the coast of Donegal. The hotel boasts a health & wellbeing Centre, Tennis Courts, Billiards & Card Rooms, Putting Green, Driving Range as well as two 18 hole championship Golf Courses and state of the art Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosapenna Hotel And Golf Resort
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Downings
Rosapenna Hotel Downings
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort Downings, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing