We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights and found the rooms to be comfortable and well taken care of. The dining room service and quality of food was very good. We played both golf courses. The Old Tom Morris course was the first of our trip and a good starter as it is not overly difficult. The greens were bumpy and patchy, so that was disappointing. The Sandy Hills course is outstanding with dramatic views, excellent greens and nicely conditioned. We took caddies for both rounds and in both cases they were well qualified, friendly and enjoyable to have helping us.

Great location and hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norseman155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed for 4 days, deluxe room, which was good with a nice view of the beech. Only downside to the room was the maid service which seemed to be a bit rushed with bare minimum being done... bed not properly made, rubbish not lifted from floor, glass not washed. Food in restaurant good overall and service good with staff going out of their way to get what we wanted. Only complaint was that the jacket boiled potatoes were not hot. Nice menu each night.

Hotel a bit on the quiet side in September so early nights all around. Golf courses in great condition but judging by the price that we paid, I would have thought that a round on both courses would have been included.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the beech
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moon159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

stayed here on saturday night and found the hotel really good and the staff excellent.Pool facilities perfect and the food amazing.The staff could not have done more for us and we had our dog zak staying with us which was not a problem.the food was just perfection and the views from the dining room beautiful, The weather was fab as well and definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debs66red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights including golf and one evening meal. The location is stunning with great Donegal scenery. The Hotel Room was very good and cleaned to a high standard every day.
Our dinner in the restaurant was well presented in a professional manner. The price was on the high side.
The quality of the Greens on the golf course were poor. Otherwise the Golf Course (Old Tom Morris) was a good but fair challenge.

Room Tip: Look for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

As we have a holiday home locally we don't stay here but the restaurant is simply amazing. Had Sunday lunch, 3 courses for 22-50. crab and prawn cocktail, followed by traditional turkey and han then plum tart to finish. Complimentary coffee and mimts. Just do it... Beautiful setting with amazing food.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

From the moment you arrive at the reception, to the moment that you check out, you feel that you have been taken care of so well. This Hotel could give lessons in "How to look after guests". Dinner was superb and the service was excellent, the breakfast was perfect also. This Hotel has it all, if you are thinking of going-- don't think---- Just go. It is a real treat. The golf is good too!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have been coming here on and off for the last 20 years and decided that this was the place for a special family celebration. We certainly weren't disappointed. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and spacious with an air of understated elegance in the lounge and dining room in particular, but nonetheless very relaxing and unpretentious and the location quite spectacular
The staff are efficient, friendly, courteous and the epitome of Irish Hospitality!
A wide range of good quality local produce beautifully cooked and presented is the order of the day, with the menu changing every evening. My favorite for breakfast is the soda bread, but son David says he's never tasted porridge so good, while grandson loved the freshly squeezed orange juice.
Four of our party are golfers and we all enjoyed playing the 'Old Tom Morris' in it's new layout since our last visit. For the real golfers in our group, 'Sandyhills', with some fantastic holes and wonderful views offered a real challenge and rewarded our accuracy. We can't wait to come back and play it again. If you don't want to golf, worry not, there is a host of other activities at or near the hotel.

Room Tip: We made a late booking which fell on a busy bank holiday and so missed out on the Bay View Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendamcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.5 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
396 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
5.6 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
413 reviews
13.3 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 1 in Rathmullan
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Rosapenna, Downings, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range: £140 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort is one of Ireland's premier 4 star luxury hotels, and has been since 1893. It sits in an 800 acre estate on the edge of the Atlantic ocean, where the bays of Mulroy & Sheephaven meet on the coast of Donegal. The hotel boasts a health & wellbeing Centre, Tennis Courts, Billiards & Card Rooms, Putting Green, Driving Range as well as two 18 hole championship Golf Courses and state of the art Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Downings
Rosapenna Hotel And Golf Resort
Rosapenna Hotel Downings
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort Downings, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing