We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience to Remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Experience to Remember”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Disclamer: we're hard to please and we have high expectations when it comes to hospitality. In our opinion, you either get it or you don't, when it comes to the art of hospitality. And too many people and properties have forgotten that hospitality is in fact an art. Rosapenna and their staff have not forgotten it and they do in fact "get it." Too often one can be made to feel like the staff at hotels and resorts are doing us a favor by assisting us. Not at Rosapenna. Whether it was Chris and Andrew at the helm or Liz sorting us out in the dining room, I was always made to feel that not only was I a Guest and not just a customer, but that my presence was beyond appreciated. It was welcomed.

Being a bit of a self proclaimed food snob, we have come to lower expectations when we travel so as not to be disappointed. Rosapenna's F&B team have given us reason to rethink that mindset. It's clear that the chefs at Rosapenna are passionate about food and they create a dining experience that is not to be missed.

Were we not golfers, our Rosapenna experience would be one that we'd highly recommend to travelers across the globe. Being golfers, and having had the opportunity to play their renowned golf courses, there is no option but to place the Rosapenna Resort in the "don't miss" category. As we understand that they've purchased adjacent land to add yet another outstanding golf course, we've put Rosapenna on the short list of resorts that we will return to in the very near future.

It would boggle the mind a bit if one stayed any length of time at Rosapenna and didn't have an exceptional experience. I know "things happen" and that anyone can make mistakes. Having said that, with the care and attention that everyone on the Rosapenna team puts on ensuring your satisfaction, it's hard to fathom how that could happen at this property. Well done to the entire group at Rosapenna. Thanks for making our stay at your resort a great memory!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InGolfWeTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    42
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
81
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed three nights in Rosapenna in October 2012. Rooms were very clean, spacious with wonderful views of Downings Bay (Bay view suites). I was a guest at a wedding that weekend in the Downings and found the hotel excellent.
The food was good, decent menu with good hearty tasty food on offer. The staff and management I found were efficient friendly and v helpful (can really ask for more). The pool, sauna and steam room were pretty new and in well looked after.
Overall a very enjoyable experience in a really beautiful setting couldn't ask for more. Perfect for a weekend get away in the north west.

Room Tip: Try the Bay View suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weshtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed three nights early October. Rooms are spacious and clean with everything you need. Lovely views of the beach. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. The Bar staff were also excellent and If there was anything needed all you had to do was ask. The Restaurant staff were very efficient so service was brilliant as was the quality of the food with a great choice of both starters and main courses. You have to remember to leave room for something from the sweet trolley which has a marvellous selection to choose from. A very good and comprehensive breakfast menu with the food freshly prepared and delivered to your table in a very efficient manner to prepare you for the day on the golf course. (No buffet breakfast to queue for). The Old Tom Morris Golf course was in great condition all three times we played it. The swimming pool/steam room/sauna were very modern, clean and well looked after. This Hotel and Golf Resort is definitely a place I would recommend for golf, food and great hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights and found the rooms to be comfortable and well taken care of. The dining room service and quality of food was very good. We played both golf courses. The Old Tom Morris course was the first of our trip and a good starter as it is not overly difficult. The greens were bumpy and patchy, so that was disappointing. The Sandy Hills course is outstanding with dramatic views, excellent greens and nicely conditioned. We took caddies for both rounds and in both cases they were well qualified, friendly and enjoyable to have helping us.

Great location and hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norseman155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed for 4 days, deluxe room, which was good with a nice view of the beech. Only downside to the room was the maid service which seemed to be a bit rushed with bare minimum being done... bed not properly made, rubbish not lifted from floor, glass not washed. Food in restaurant good overall and service good with staff going out of their way to get what we wanted. Only complaint was that the jacket boiled potatoes were not hot. Nice menu each night.

Hotel a bit on the quiet side in September so early nights all around. Golf courses in great condition but judging by the price that we paid, I would have thought that a round on both courses would have been included.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the beech
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moon159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magherafelt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

stayed here on saturday night and found the hotel really good and the staff excellent.Pool facilities perfect and the food amazing.The staff could not have done more for us and we had our dog zak staying with us which was not a problem.the food was just perfection and the views from the dining room beautiful, The weather was fab as well and definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debs66red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed for 3 nights including golf and one evening meal. The location is stunning with great Donegal scenery. The Hotel Room was very good and cleaned to a high standard every day.
Our dinner in the restaurant was well presented in a professional manner. The price was on the high side.
The quality of the Greens on the golf course were poor. Otherwise the Golf Course (Old Tom Morris) was a good but fair challenge.

Room Tip: Look for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.5 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
387 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
378 reviews
18.2 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
5.6 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Rosapenna, Downings, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort is one of Ireland's premier 4 star luxury hotels, and has been since 1893. It sits in an 800 acre estate on the edge of the Atlantic ocean, where the bays of Mulroy & Sheephaven meet on the coast of Donegal. The hotel boasts a health & wellbeing Centre, Tennis Courts, Billiards & Card Rooms, Putting Green, Driving Range as well as two 18 hole championship Golf Courses and state of the art Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosapenna Hotel And Golf Resort
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Downings
Rosapenna Hotel Downings
Rosapenna Hotel & Golf Resort Downings, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing