We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location first class”
Review of Downings Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downings Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed just one night, slightly disappointed we were allocated a smoking room. After a few hours with the windows open the smell cleared somewhat.
The bar was lively, the room was very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent in the evening and the breakfast could not be faulted. The location in this gorgeous part of Donegal is breathtaking. Whether its for golf, the Atlantic drive or just chilling out, this is one of the worlds nicest coastlines for sure, and this homely hotel is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golftheology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Great family run hotel and great entertainment at night.

A warm welcome, great food and great beer.

We had a great night in the bar as there's not much to do when you're in downings when the weather is poor and this hotel became our main source of entertainment and did not disappoint.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DazMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The overall impression is of a good value for money hotel. Clean and comfortable rooms with all that's needed for the golfer. God food served in the bar at lunchtimes and at dinner.On the downside we stayed Friday and Saturday nights and outside the hotel it was very noisy until 2-3 am. The cooked breakfast is not available until 08.30, usually too late for golfers and the hot water is not always available

Room Tip: Stay away from the front of the hotel where most of the noise is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for the weekend and we were both very pleased with everything. Reception staff very friendly, check in was quick. Our room was large, clean with a very comfy bed. Breakfast was great, friendly quick service. We had a 3 course meal on our second night which was gorgeous. We are due our 1st baby in a few weeks and look forward to returning to this hotel as it is very child friendly. There were no negatives at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gems1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Been here quite a few times and never had a single complaint, good clean hotel with good food and friendly staff in true Irish tradition! The beaches in the area are amazing and the views and mountains will take you breath away, a truly amazing spot and part of Ireland!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Having not been to Downings in nearly 40 years and coming from the US we were not sure exactly what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the clean, comfortable, spacious room and bath. The hotel is relatively new (only 9 years old) and is modern. The beds were more comfortable than our own. The full Irish breakfast was great and made to order. Good food at reasonable prices was served in the bar and restaurant throughout the day. The staff was always helpful. We came to Downings to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary and the 40th anniversary of our meeting at the youth hostel a couple of miles from Downings, and the Downings Bay Hotel was a pleasant part of that experience. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vectorsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Downings Bay Hotel is a very family-friendly hotel. The staff are warm and welcoming. The adjoining bar serves great food all day. The breakfast is typically Irish with lots of cereals, bread and fruit also on offer - we went for the full Irish fry though a great start to the day.
The family rooms are spacious and airy. All rooms have a kettle for making tea or coffee.
This is our third year staying in the hotel and I am sure it will not be our last.
The hotel also offers access to the local swimming pool and kids activity centre (soft play for toddlers, trampoline, slides etc for older kids).
All-in-all a great hotel.

Room Tip: the room directly above the kitchen can be noisy and warm - try to avoid that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnD_DW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
401 reviews
5.3 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
423 reviews
18.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#3 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
975 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
421 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downings Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downings Bay Hotel

Address: Main Street, Downings, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range: £71 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downings Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the North West of Donegal on the beautiful Sheephaven Bay lies the thoroughly modern and luxurious Downings Bay Hotel with our award winning accommodation. The Sheephaven Suite is available for 20 – 350 people. JC’s Bar & the Haven Dining Room serve locally sourced fresh food daily. Magherabeg Leisure Centre & Kidz Kingdom are available complimentary to hotel guests. Local activities include golf, fishing, walking, horse riding & water sports. Within driving distance of Glenveagh National Park & Horn Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Downings Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downings Bay Hotel County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing