We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite noisy”
Review of Downings Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downings Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

THis hotel has a very noisy disco during the weekend so make sure your room is not above the disco room. Another misleading thing is the spa facilities which are not in the hotel but located a few minutes away, so do not envisage putting on your robe and nipping downstairs to enjoy these facilities. Apart from that it is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastLass50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in July. Unfortunately, one of these coincided with Nathan Carter's concert and was manically busy. The other was a Friday night and the screaming and laughing from the road outside continued until 4.15 a.m so not a great night's sleep for me.
The room was spotless with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was equally clean with a great shower (over bath) and lovely towels. Tea/ coffee making facilities provided and an iron and ironing board. The television was small but fine.
Breakfast was buffet-style with cereals, porridge and fruit. A variety of breads were available and a toaster provided. Cooked breakfasts were available by ordering from the waitress. The waiting staff were kept pretty busy but were friendly and helpful, especially Angela.
We had a drink in a smaller pub part of the hotel and the barman coped admirably with the very busy concert night. Well done,Gerry.
We will return but the next time will be asking for a room as far away from the road as possible!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zanezanezane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at the Downings bay for 2 nights early July 14. Whilst playing a number of local golf courses.
Found the en suite bedrooms to be of a good size, clean, and modern. By contrast the TVs are rather small.
Good food at a reasonable price, breakfast room and dinning room pleasant as are the hotel staff.
A good value for money hotel.
Try the ice cream from the small shop opposite the hotel - really tasty!!!
Ideally situated for the local beach just a few mins. Walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The chefs must feel let down by this place, the food is very good, but the service was absolutely terrible. Asked for a table, waitress showed me a table near the window, as we proceeded to sit down, she planked 3 menu's down and walked away. I walked to the bar to get my own drink for the party off 3 and my little girl, came back still no sign of a drink offered to my table.
When I was at the bar I noticed a special menu, showing 3 kinds off fish, which look very nice. So 15mins later a waitress arrived, looking to take an order, I had to ask was the specials still on, yet she hadn't a clue what they were or more to the point could not just be bothered with us, and boldly stated yeah ahhhh mmmm brill hake and some sort of seabream, oh and yes we have roast beef as well. She didn't want to be there and it was plain obvious she didn't like being nice to people.
Starters sat on the table for 25mins until I asked for them to removed !!
Another 15mins for the 'HAKE with crab mash' worth the wait but omg, fired on the table after having to request it, oh and still no drink order offered, or how was your starter etc RUDE at best !
Never in my life have I had such an experience were the food is so good, only to be let down by rude, unhelpful staff, but I will note one particular person made the experience a complete let down, but we weren't exactly surrounded by anyone particularly helpful.
I have eaten here before on my occasions over the years, hence to say it was my last. You could not justify paying a bit extra than most places in Downings for shocking service.

P.S you cant buy an excuse like being busy during high season, cost nothing to be polite, friendly and attentive to your customers. I was here sat 13 July.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in rooms 110 and 112 which were both the same. The rooms are a great size and very clean and comfortable. Much better than you would usually expect in a 3 star. The food was great as well but what really made the stay was how helpful everyone in the hotel is. The leisure centre is a short drive away but is worth a visit, particularly for families as it has a really good pool. The local area is beautiful with stunning scenery around every corner. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: It wasn't noisy when we were there which included a Saturday night. However if it was a busier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMCG060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel was clean, the room was spotless and comfortable; however, don't stay in Room 104 or towards the front of the hotel if you want sleep...the chippy across the street stays open all night, and the drunks are in full force on Fridays and Saturdays.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff2841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I turned up without a booking and was given a lovely room. Seemed newly renovated. Roomy, clean, well furnished, lovel en-suite, tea and coffee basics, iron and ironing board. Very quiet and slept well. Great value.

The restaurant did me a nice vegetarian pasta. It's definitely a family restaurant, so it's not the place for a quiet or a romantic meal.

Drive up to Melmore Head for spectacular views and beaches.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downings
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
399 reviews
18.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,159 reviews
15.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
415 reviews
5.3 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
416 reviews
17.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downings Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downings Bay Hotel

Address: Main Street, Downings, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Downings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Downings
Price Range: £72 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downings Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the North West of Donegal on the beautiful Sheephaven Bay lies the thoroughly modern and luxurious Downings Bay Hotel with our award winning accommodation. The Sheephaven Suite is available for 20 – 350 people. JC’s Bar & the Haven Dining Room serve locally sourced fresh food daily. Magherabeg Leisure Centre & Kidz Kingdom are available complimentary to hotel guests. Local activities include golf, fishing, walking, horse riding & water sports. Within driving distance of Glenveagh National Park & Horn Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Downings Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downings Bay Hotel County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing