We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's A Restaurant, Too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 St. Peter's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Millsboro, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“It's A Restaurant, Too!”
Reviewed 6 July 2008

I can't believe TA only lists this as a hotel! BTW: This hotel is NOT B&B; you pay for breakfast.

We stayed in the hotel two nights (June 27 & 28, 2008), and ate two breakfasts and two dinners.

Our meals included scrambled eggs, lobster omlette, lobster, cheesburger, pork loin, salmon, etc. It was all excellent. Everything was individually prepared: No bacon or home fries sitting on the side of the grill for hours. Deserts, mostly made there, were to die for.

Service was prompt and courteous, and they're fully licensed.

Helpful?
Thank ferd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    53
    11
    9
    10
See reviews for
47
87
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

We stopped here for dinner on our way back to Truro. Cute little spot with excellent service. The food was delicious, especially the famous burger and sweet potatoe fries. My husband ordered the seafood chowder and said it was the best he has ever had. I would definitely stop here again next time I am in Cape Breton. Hopefully I can stay the night next time.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianVonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We stayed at the Inn from June 12-19 in 2005 and had breakfast and dinner there every day. I only recently discovered that the Inn was on Trip Advisor - thus the tardiness of this review. We were fans of Jean Pierre and Rhoda Gillet's Brittany Restaurant in Ontario and made the Inn the focal point of our 10 day trip to Nova Scotia. It was a wise choice. The Inn made an excellent base for exploring Cape Breton - no packing or unpacking for 6 days. An atm, full grocery, and a drugstore are within a few blocks of the Inn. We did 2 day trips with Native Trail Tours [Wagmatook & Cabot Trail and Louisbourg & Chapel Island] that were supberb. A third day a friend took us to delightful Isle Madam. Our 3 days in St. Peters were equally fulfilling. From before European contact St. Peters has been an important locale - history abounds. Near the Inn are the Canal, beautiful Battery Park [Ft. Toulouse, Kavanaugh homestead, and Ft. Dorchester ruins and a view of both Ocean and Lake from the top of Mr. Grenville, a favourite hike of Jean Pierre's], St. Peters Trail and the Nicholas Denys Museum - all worth exploring. The current town of St. Peters also has much to offer. We ordered a print from the MacAskill Museum of the Halifax Public Gardens in 1927 which we treasure. Anyone with an interest in photography and/or sailing should enjoy this museum.

As for the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, it was all we hoped for and more, much more. We knew that Jean Pierre, Rhoda and their staff would bring integrity and grace to their endeavour. In their hands the Inn has blossomed. Quality is never sacrificed - that is why breakfast, lunch and the fine dining dinner in the evening are all truly excellent; different styles, but equally delicious. Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious with everything we needed. Among our special memories: the heron that Rhoda pointed out we could watch from the dining room; the eagle across the Lake that Jean Pierre came flying out of the kitchen to show us and finally the tiny vases of alpine like flowers that appeared at the dining tables one evening, gathered and shared by a townsperson. Regarding food, my husband wanted to note that a roast beef sandwish he had at lunch was the best he's ever tasted. I'd like to quote from his food journal for dinner on Thursday, June 16 " to start...venison pate...grand delight...main course...breast of duck...with scalloped potatoes, red cabbage, provencal tomato and French green beans...this combination of venison and duck reminded me of one of my favorite meals at the Eby St. Brittany: on New Years Eve, 1992, I had a mix of venison and breast of duck for my main course and the memory of it still produces great joy" And the memory of our stay at the Inn still produces great joy.

  • Stayed June 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank measure3.1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

Without a doubt, the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, located on the St. Peters canal on Cape Breton Island, gave us one of our best travelling experiences.

The rooms, lobby, and dining room were very comfortable, attactive, and inviting. Our rooms were large, clean, well furnished, and pleasent. We had a nice view of the St. Peters canal.

We had two meals at the inn, breakfast and dinner. Both were extraordinary! The price for breakfast was quite reasonable; although the cost of dinner was a bit more dear, it was certainly within reason, given their exceptional preparation and presentation (we were particularly impressed with the seafood entres).

As good as the facilities and meals were, the service we received was "the icing on the cake." From the moment we walked in the door to after we checked out, everyone with whom we had contact was genuinely warm and inviting. Even the dog was above average.

The Bras d'Or Lakes Inn has been given four stars... if it was up to me, I'd give it six!

We will be making the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn as manditory destination the next time we are headed to Nova Scotia.

  • Liked — Great Service
  • Disliked — A bit pricey, but worth it!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobMinneapolis_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

What a jewel in a very quite part of Cape Breton. We decided to go for the more scenic route on this trip. So we choice to stay away from the busier 105 and travel the more scenic 104. What a great choice. We had booked our hotel on line, so we already knew the exterior of the building was in need of a little bit of work. When we opened the door we could smell the pine walls in this lodge style building. We were greeted in usual Cape Breton style by the owner/manager Rhoda Gillet. What a warm welcome. She really hates smoking in her rooms and I don't blame her. They have been refurbished to perfection. I can easily see why this was a 4 star hotel. The view of the waterfront is breath taking and we also participated in an evening hot tub dip.The restaurant, "The Brittany" is a work of outstanding quality. Rhoda's husband Jean Pierre is the most magnificent chef. The food was beyond words. The service was superior to any I have ever found in Nova Scotia. Proper and easy to see influenced by the master Chef. A must dine experience. As for the area it offers outstanding scenery, and more quite. I love Cape Breton for it's quaint ways, and have decided I will never take the usual Baddeck route after finding all the jewels St. Peters has to offer. Beautiful Marina, 2 museums, the St. Peters Canal,(gateway to the Bras d'Or Lake) and 2 of the nicest shops on the Island, Glad Tidings (Christmas store) and MacIssac's Kilts.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aaatravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

We stayed one night at this hotel and found it was a big disappointment. We found it hard to believe that this is a 4 star hotel. I have stayed at 3 star hotels which are much better. It was all a bit uncared for whilst being fairly clean. The reception looked as though a tornado had passed through. It was really untidy. The outside also needed a good clean up. The staff were very friendly though.
The rooms were quite nice but a bit on the small side for 4 stars. The beds however were very very comfortable. We had a terrible mess of wires outside our window and not much of a view despite expecting a lake view. We did not eat at the hotel as it was very expensive. We were led to believe that the food was excellent if you wish to pay a bit more. It was however difficult to find other restaurants in the town which overall we found a bit uninspiring. The canal was quite intersting but St Peter's is not a town I would recommend or return to and I would not return to Brass d'Or lake Inn either. There are so many other far more beautiful places to stay in Cape Breton.

  • Liked — The lake view from the rear of the property
  • Disliked — Uncared for atmosphere, small room and not having a nice view from the room.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Fuerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2006

Far and away the best of a Cape Breton trip....the magic of French chef Jean-Pierre was unexpected and wonderful. Newly refurbished rooms were the best of a 10 day trip. Do not be deceived by the modest exterior. We gathered current management including Jean-Pierre is new and they have worked wonders. After much mediocre and over-priced meals elsewhere on the trip we dined on food as only a French chef prepares. Great flavours, reasonable prices. We should have discovered it sooner! Check on late season hours though...like much of Cape Breton this place tends to hibernate as winter beckons. We gave this a definite two forks up.

  • Liked — Great rooms and great food
  • Disliked — Modest exterior
  • Tips/Secrets — Beware of late season in Cape Breton...much closes and even this hotel is limited
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank larach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Peter's
23.5 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
173 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
45.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
24.6 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
#2 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
78 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Iona Heights Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bras d'Or Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Property: Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Address: 10095 Grenville Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia B0E 3B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > St. Peter's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Peter's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bras d'Or Lakes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cedar log waterfront Inn fronts on the shore of the world-famous Bras d'Or Lake. Rooms at the Inn are adjacent the historic St. Peter's Canal which connects this big salt water lake to the Atlantic Ocean. Chef Jean-Pierre Gillet and his talented team will tantalize you with epicurean delights. The Inn features its own waterfront recreation area with kayaks and canoes, bicycles, lakeside lounging deck, and a hot-tub overlooking the lake. PLEASE NOTE: THE RESTAURANT CLOSES OCTOBER 19, 2017 FOR THIS SEASON. A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WILL BE THEN BE INCLUDED WITH THE BOOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Bras d'Or Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bras d`Or Lakes Hotel St. Peter`s

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing