We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Peter's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We arrived in St Peter's without any idea where to stay. After a quick look round and seeing all three inns in town, we opted to see if the Bras D'Or had any rooms. Fortunately they did, we got a very warm welcome from the staff and a large room on the main room overlooking the lake. The room was very well equipped and looked to have only just had a new coffee pod machine installed - something we tested very quickly and good it was too.

The whole inn has the feel of a hunting lodge to it being all log construction so it felt nice and airy and open to us. The restaurant food was very good although perhaps a little on the pricey side. Breakfast though was very, very good value. If you buy it on arrival you get $3 off the price. It's a buffet affair and the chef prepares omelettes, crepes, eggs etc in front of you - a really good and entertaining feature.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NtheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us in St. Peter’s. You are right, we just upgraded all our in-room coffee makers to the K-Cup® technology! This compliments the fridge and microwave to give you some independence during your stay. And I agree, the breakfast buffet is a great value. We also try to ensure the dining experience is memorable for both the service and fare. In the end I thank you for your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your meals and the room amenities. I hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

After a long day of traveling with my 3 daughters we arrived at this Inn. We were welcomed so warmly by all the staff ( especially the ladies from Kitchener)even their chocolate lab was so friendly! We truly enjoyed the prime rib and the pecan pie was the best that I have ever had! My girls still talk about our night that we stayed there. I highly recommend you stay here if your traveling near St. Peter's . I look foreword to returning - whenever we get the chance to drive down a East again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SJ52014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time this spring to reminisce with us and your girls about your stay. Spring is around the corner beyond the snow banks and the staff and Bailey are looking forward to welcoming many guests like yourself back to enjoy the great food and accommodation and a sincere welcome. We will look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the island and thank you again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My group and I rived at the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn by accident. We had been in the car all day as it had been raining. When we arrived we were greeted immediately, and the hotels amenities described. We had decided on the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn b/c it had a hot tub available. The hot tub had an amazing view of the lake and was very nice and clean. You do have to request it be opened for you. Which we requested after an AMAZING dinner in their restaurant. The beds were comfy, and the rooms very clean. I would recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClassynCheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Always glad to hear that our dinner offerings continue to amaze and that we are able to provide a comfortable respite whether from rain and/or a long day of travelling! And a special thanks to you for remembering us and taking the time to write this review now that you are hunkered down for the winter and perhaps reminiscing about that relaxing evening in the hot tub under the stars! Your recommendation is certainly appreciated. Perhaps we will see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I could not have been more pleased with the wonderful time we spent at the Inn. Both Jean-Pierre and Pierre were so helpful in every way-they really made us feel at home. Jean-Pierre is an excellent chef and all 3 nights we had dinner in their very pleasant dining room, accompanied by excellent food. An additional plus is the fact that St Peters is an interesting location with some wonderful walks and scenes, including the remarkable canal and locks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwag64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for Vermont visitors for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at the Inn. I am glad you found us helpful and Jean Pierre’s menu satisfying over your extended stay. We do believe St. Peter’s is a great place to stop over and visit as well as the surrounding area while making your way around Cape Breton and all it has to offer. I am happy you chose us as your base. Sincere regards. Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After a long day of driving the coast, I was looking forward to a nice relaxing evening at the hotel. I was greeted warmly by the owner and the other members of the staff. It felt like I walked into a small B&B than a hotel. The place was clean and well appointed. The place looked like a huge log cabin. It had this rustic look to it.

The room was spectacular. The fake logs that made up the walls was a nice touch as well as the hardwood furniture went far to lend an air of a rustic room in the middle of the woods. The beds were super comfortable. It was like sleeping on a cloud. This place was by far the best place I stayed at during my trip to Nova Scotia. I wish I could stay an extra day or 2 at the hotel, but I had other places to visit.

The hotel has a restaurant that is top notch. Something I was not expecting to see or experience in a small town like St. Peter's.

I highly recommend the place to anyone who is thinking about stopping for the evening. Reservations are recommended. From what I was told, they were pretty booked the previous weekend and the weekend after I left.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your comments Michael. I am glad you chose us for that night of rest and relaxation and were able to reenergize before continuing on your trip. We do endeavour to be a destination for good accommodation and great culinary experience for those local and visiting the island - and St. Peter's is a good waypoint for both.

And we do try to connect with our arriving guests as appropriate, so I appreciate that we sometimes have a B&B feeling in that respect. Glad you felt welcome.

Hope to see you again and be your base while you enjoy more of the islands points of interest and activities. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Inn is very cosy and quaint. Rooms and bathrooms are immacuately clean. Beds and linens very comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep. Breakfast buffet is wonderful and will keep you energized all day.

Room Tip: Rooms are very clean, and beds are very comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you Virginia. I am happy you were comfortable with state of cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. And I agree, the hot breakfast buffet makes a great start to the day - whether it included the crepes or omelet made to order - or maybe both!

Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent the weekend in the Bras d'or Lakes Inn. I must say we were very pleased with condition of the premises and the food. St Peter's is a beautiful place in Nova Scotia where the canal allows boats to enter the Bras D'or Lakes from the Atlantic Ocean. The rooms were comfortable and very very clean. Washrooms well maintained and spotless clean with lots of hot water. Coffee maker and small fridge included in the room was nice. The Inn is on the lakes and is very scenic. The morning breakfast buffet is outstanding, but is my understanding the dinning room shuts down for the late fall winter months. It is nice to see the management hire 2nd and 3rd year students from the culinary school and all staff were well mannered and eager to serve the clients. Well done to the management and staff who are keeping this Inn well maintained, spotless clean with emphasis on serving their clients.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalifaxCozumelbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Public Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

St. Peter’s is a beautiful place where the ocean meets the inland sea by way of the historic St. peter's canal. Jean Pierre and Rhoda are glad to have purchased the Inn some 10 years ago and managed it in such a manner that they can provide their clients, and instill in their staff, some of the best of values in accommodation, service and dining experiences to be found on the island.

And you are correct, the dining room is usually open from spring until mid-October, closing after Celtic Colours. Rooms are available year round however - with continental breakfast included when the dining room is closed.

Thank you very much for your commendation. And enjoy Cozumel – another nice island – and with great scuba diving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Peter's
10.8 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
30.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
23.5 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
The Iona Heights Inn
26.5 mi away
Cove Motel
Cove Motel
#1 of 3 in Port Hastings
168 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Groundswell
The Groundswell
#1 of 1 in D'Escousse
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bras d'Or Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Address: 10095 Grenville Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia B0E 3B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > St. Peter's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Peter's
Price Range: £89 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bras d'Or Lakes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cedar log waterfront Inn fronts on the shore of the world-famous Bras d'Or Lake. Rooms at the Inn are adjacent the historic St. Peter's Canal which connects this big salt water lake to the Atlantic Ocean. Chef Jean-Pierre Gillet and his talented team will tantalize you with epicurean delights. The Inn features its own waterfront recreation area with kayaks and canoes, bicycles, lakeside lounging deck, and a hot-tub overlooking the lake. PLEASE NOTE: THE RESTAURANT CLOSES OCTOBER 19, 2017 FOR THIS SEASON. A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WILL BE THEN BE INCLUDED WITH THE BOOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bras d'Or Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bras d`Or Lakes Hotel St. Peter`s

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing