We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Peter's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This inn is located on the lake.... what a view! You can sit by the lake and relax. The place is rustic and cozy. The beds were confortable. I could see the sunrise from my bed. We were a bit disappointed that we had to pay extra for breakfast which was good and varied. The place could use some renovations. The staff was friendly. We had dinner at their dining room.... delicious! Compliments to chef Jean-Pierre! We were at walking distance from the canal which is an interesting attraction.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gisèle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you Gisèle for taking the time to reflect on the amenities of the Inn and generally reinforcing support for the direction we have taken to make the Inn memorable for its comfort, culinary offerings and local. We are always looking at ways to maintain current with furnishings and appointments and will continue to do so.
As our breakfast is a hot buffet breakfast with omelettes and crepes made to order as well as all the other staples – certainly substantial – we have chosen to make it an option for guests. It is certainly a great value we feel at $11.00 per adult instead of $14.00. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a lovely surprise to find such a well appointed room in such beautiful spot. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was well worth the added cost - omelettes, crepes, fruit, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlyn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment so favourably on the amenities that the Inn has to offer to travelers in beautiful Cape Breton and the St. Peter's area - including the daily buffet breakfast to give our guests the extra boost in the morning. It is travelers like yourselves that give us the drive to provide our services to the highest standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our kids gave us a golf package organized by the Bras dor Inn. The staff is super friendly and the food is first class, the best dinner and breakfast I have ever eaten. The inn is beside an historic canal, the link to lake bras dor and the ocean. A great little village with everything you would ever need- a great place to stay and eat, a liquor store and a timmies! The rooms are comfortable and clean. There is live entertainment as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

I really can’t say more than we are super happy that the golf package turned out to be a great gift from your kids and that we were able to be part of it. The staff all work hard at making the meals memorable and the stay comfortable. And thank you for mentioning that St. Peter’s has a bit to offer everyone. Hopefully we will see you enroute again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Right on the water - great views.

Excellent restaurant right on site - dinner was top class. Live music during dinner hour that turned to a kitchen party later!

Water was hot and plentiful.

Staff were friendly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzzus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the Inn. I am glad you enjoyed the dinner and music. As you might now know we have music scheduled 5 nights a week including a Ceilidh on Thursday – the Kitchen Party that turns into a jam session!

Being on the waterfront does give guests ample opportunity to view this end of the Bras d’Or Lakes ‘where the ocean meets the inland sea’ via the St. Peter’s Canal and check out the scenery or walk along the water’s edge trail.

Our staff and amenities are here to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We are certainly happy to hear we are succeeding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We arrived in St Peter's without any idea where to stay. After a quick look round and seeing all three inns in town, we opted to see if the Bras D'Or had any rooms. Fortunately they did, we got a very warm welcome from the staff and a large room on the main room overlooking the lake. The room was very well equipped and looked to have only just had a new coffee pod machine installed - something we tested very quickly and good it was too.

The whole inn has the feel of a hunting lodge to it being all log construction so it felt nice and airy and open to us. The restaurant food was very good although perhaps a little on the pricey side. Breakfast though was very, very good value. If you buy it on arrival you get $3 off the price. It's a buffet affair and the chef prepares omelettes, crepes, eggs etc in front of you - a really good and entertaining feature.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NtheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us in St. Peter’s. You are right, we just upgraded all our in-room coffee makers to the K-Cup® technology! This compliments the fridge and microwave to give you some independence during your stay. And I agree, the breakfast buffet is a great value. We also try to ensure the dining experience is memorable for both the service and fare. In the end I thank you for your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your meals and the room amenities. I hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

After a long day of traveling with my 3 daughters we arrived at this Inn. We were welcomed so warmly by all the staff ( especially the ladies from Kitchener)even their chocolate lab was so friendly! We truly enjoyed the prime rib and the pecan pie was the best that I have ever had! My girls still talk about our night that we stayed there. I highly recommend you stay here if your traveling near St. Peter's . I look foreword to returning - whenever we get the chance to drive down a East again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SJ52014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time this spring to reminisce with us and your girls about your stay. Spring is around the corner beyond the snow banks and the staff and Bailey are looking forward to welcoming many guests like yourself back to enjoy the great food and accommodation and a sincere welcome. We will look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the island and thank you again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My group and I rived at the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn by accident. We had been in the car all day as it had been raining. When we arrived we were greeted immediately, and the hotels amenities described. We had decided on the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn b/c it had a hot tub available. The hot tub had an amazing view of the lake and was very nice and clean. You do have to request it be opened for you. Which we requested after an AMAZING dinner in their restaurant. The beds were comfy, and the rooms very clean. I would recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClassynCheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasdor, Guest Relations Manager at Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Always glad to hear that our dinner offerings continue to amaze and that we are able to provide a comfortable respite whether from rain and/or a long day of travelling! And a special thanks to you for remembering us and taking the time to write this review now that you are hunkered down for the winter and perhaps reminiscing about that relaxing evening in the hot tub under the stars! Your recommendation is certainly appreciated. Perhaps we will see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Peter's
10.8 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
30.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
675 reviews
23.5 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
20.2 mi away
The Iona Heights Inn
26.5 mi away
Cove Motel
Cove Motel
#1 of 3 in Port Hastings
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bras d'Or Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Address: 10095 Grenville Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia B0E 3B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > St. Peter's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Peter's
Price Range: £90 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bras d'Or Lakes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cedar log waterfront Inn fronts on the shore of the world-famous Bras d'Or Lake. Rooms at the Inn are adjacent the historic St. Peter's Canal which connects this big salt water lake to the Atlantic Ocean. Chef Jean-Pierre Gillet and his talented team will tantalize you with epicurean delights. The Inn features its own waterfront recreation area with kayaks and canoes, bicycles, lakeside lounging deck, and a hot-tub overlooking the lake. PLEASE NOTE: THE RESTAURANT CLOSES OCTOBER 19, 2017 FOR THIS SEASON. A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WILL BE THEN BE INCLUDED WITH THE BOOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bras d'Or Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bras d`Or Lakes Hotel St. Peter`s

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing