We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place, especially the restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 St. Peter's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, VT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved this place, especially the restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

I don't know where the people who wrote the negative reviews stayed, but I can't blieve that it was the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn that we stayed at. The whole place smells like cedar which made it feel fresh and clean. The restaurant, ah the restaurant...the chef is a genius. The "cream puff" dessert-- was EXCELLENT. We had a great experience and would certainly return. We sat out by the water and found the location very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realvtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    50
    11
    9
    9
See reviews for
44
82
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napanee, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

I booked this inn without checking with TripAdvisor, and am pleased to note that it was great! The rooms were tidy and comfortable. The restaurant, however, was spectacular. It is rather unassuming, with its rustic, log cabin furniture. We had dinner and breakfast, and were thoroughly impressed with both. The crowning touch was the dessert, which I forget the name of, but it was the house specialty with French Cream, and it was an eye-opening experience. I definitely sets a high bar for all other desserts to aspire towards!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed one night on our way to Sydney. We took the package that included breakfast and the ceilidh. The rooms are lodge style with all the pine accessorizing. Comfortable and clean but also very Cape Breton.
But the real experience is in the dining room. French chef Jean Pierre has an incredible menu. The seafood chowder is truly to die for. My wife had lobster and I the scallops. Both were fantastic. The signature dessert was all gone so we had the adorable carrot cake but we were running late for the Ceilidh downstairs. So staff set up a table downstairs for us complete with linens and brought the carrot cake there.
Breakfast was spectacular and included in the package price. I am a Eggs Benedict lover and Jean Pierres were the best ever. My wife had the lobster omelet which she raved about. We loved it so much we stopped in for lunch a few days later on our way back to Halifax from Sydney. We were a bit early for lunch but they made me up the JP burger I was told so much about. It didn't disappoint. Since breakfast was still available my wife had to have the lobster omelet again. This time we did get a piece of the signature dessert and it was heavenly.
The staff in the DR and front desk were extremely pleasant and engaging. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

We didn't actually stay in the Inn. It seems nice enough. The location is great. What we did "experience" was the restaurant. Their sign promised "Fine Dinning". It was anything but. The Head Chef must have had the day off. The Chowder is inedible. They are a little too proud of their home grown herbs. Way too much made it horribly bitter. They claimed it was made to order (pretty doubtful for a soup) so we asked for another bowl minus the herbs. The Chef refused saying that was how it was made. The rest of the food was edible but certainly not well made. Greasy and gross for the most part. Even the French Fries were soggy. We skipped on the desserts when we noticed Fish (dated a month before) sitting in the dessert freezer. Not in any way sanitary and a good sign just how fresh their ingredients are. This is not FIne Dining. Ketchup and vinegar in packets. You would do better at the McDonalds down the street. The worst part is we discovered at the end of our meal that the woman who had provided us such terrible service was the owner! Turns out she doesn't like having to wait tables.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

In October 2008, my mom took her first trip since she immigrated to Canada over 30 years ago, mom felt like it was home away from home because we were encapsulated with warmth and kindness by Rhoda, the owner, and an outstanding and personable staff who we knew everyone by name. As well, mom had befriended their chocolate lab, unbeknownst to me, she is a dog lover.

We would begin our days with a vibrant Juanita at breakfast who always had a smile and chirping lyrics in the background. Every morning I had an eggs Benny that was prepared to the utmost perfection by Adam, the chef, which i struggle not to compare to it whenever I have one. I would also dabble into my travel companion's fishcakes which I cannot speak of without salivating.

As our bellies are filled, we explored the lands in Cape Breton, every day with a new adventure and we would return to our centralized base, Bras d'Or Lakes Inn, where we would be greeted by Moira to our table for dinner. We would have entrees of divinity as it was made for a food critic. We cannot go without mentioning the professional and stealth waiter, James, who would come by to change our utensils unknowingly which startled me every time so I suggested that he'd wear bells.

It was all our first times to Nova Scotia and it was a memorable one. Thank you Bras d'Or!!


Virginia, Nicholas and Kim

Toronto Canada

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

During our visit to Nova Scotia we spent time in 3 locations, St Peters, Baddeck and Halifax. St. Peters because of the warm, relaxing environment was by far our favorite. The owners Rhoda & Jean-Pierre fully understand the art of hospitality. The rooms were comfortable and quiet with views of Bras d'Or Lake.

Highlight - the restaurant - Jean-Pierre is a world class Chef and has trained his staff to prepare meals fit for any major metropolitan city. The grilled lobster and le gateau st. honore were unbelievable.

Higher Light - The people... The men and women at the Inn are kind, warm and provide exceptional service.

The owners were kind enough to take us out for a private sail boat ride.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cm3ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

We have learned that we are not bed-and-breakfast people. After 5 years of vacationing in Cape Breton, we've finally found a place to call home away from home. The Bras d'Or Lakes Inn is perfect! The inn enjoys a very central location on the island, surprisingly close to everything. St. Peters is a full-service, year-round town. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was spotless. The owners are pleasant and have a nice dog. If you're going to visit Cape Breton, this is truly the place to stay.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdeebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Peter's
23.5 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
30.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
46.4 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
46.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
6.7 mi away
The Groundswell
The Groundswell
#1 of 1 in D'Escousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bras d'Or Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Property: Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Address: 10095 Grenville Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia B0E 3B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > St. Peter's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Peter's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bras d'Or Lakes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cedar log waterfront Inn fronts on the shore of the world-famous Bras d'Or Lake. Rooms at the Inn are adjacent the historic St. Peter's Canal which connects this big salt water lake to the Atlantic Ocean. Chef Jean-Pierre Gillet and his talented team will tantalize you with epicurean delights. The Inn features its own waterfront recreation area with kayaks and canoes, bicycles, lakeside lounging deck, and a hot-tub overlooking the lake. PLEASE NOTE: THE RESTAURANT CLOSES OCTOBER 19, 2014 FOR THIS SEASON. A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WILL BE THEN BE INCLUDED WITH THE BOOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Bras d'Or Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bras d`Or Lakes Hotel St. Peter`s

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing