We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 St. Peter's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

I can honestly say that the Bras d'Or Inn in St. Peters, Cape Breton was one of the nicest places I have had the pleasure of staying at. From the greeting at the front desk to the hotel room...it was top notch. I highly recommend if you are in need of accommodations in St. Peters, to give it a try....you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    50
    11
    9
    9
See reviews for
44
82
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

We had the opportunity to spend the last Thanskgiving week-end at Bras D'or lake Inn. and it was the most relaxing get away we ever had in Nova Scotia.We enjoyed everything from our very confortable room , the excellent food /wine (seafood is out of this world..)The owners make you feel at home ,the.staff is friendly and very professional. The Inn is perfectly located whether you want to rest or to go for day trip adventures(Fortress of Louisbourg, Cape Breton,ile Madame) or sailing on Bras D'or Lake.Fall colours were outstanding throughout Cape Breton.Imagine a beautiful dinner during a music festival with local fiddlers to entertain you and you really fall in love with this place. Travellers from Toronto ,Ontario.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canotier1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

We - along with a group of our close friends - decided to celebrate our "signficant" birthdays together on Cape Breton Island. We had heard about Bras d'Or Lakes Inn through a friend so made reservations there. Our hosts - Rhoda & Jean-Pierre - made us feel at home right away. The hotel is really cosy; it gave us the feeling of being in a log cabin. Every meal we had was better than the last. The Inn is close to the Cabot Trail as well as the Fortress of Louisburg so we were able to take in both of those sites, returning each night to sit around the fire and enjoy our friends. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NousToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Excellent stop at end of Cabot Trail. Well above average unique log construction motel overlooking Bras d'Or Lake on edge of small town. Clean well kept inn with outstanding food and friendly competent staff.Good sleeping accommodations and lively nighttime entertainment in the local traditions. Throw a line in the water, take a canoe or kiyak ride,stroll through the town or relax with a drink on the deck overlooking the lake, you will not be bored or disappointed with your choice of stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill05Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

A wonderful hotel. Excellent restaurant. excellent service! The rooms are clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Jean pierre and Rhoda are wonderful hosts! Thank you for a great visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominique100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

The view was great, the food was even better and the staff were so friendly, I didn't want to leave!!!

Once you visit the Inn and taste their cuisine, I guarantee your friends will salivate from the mere description of your culinary experience... This place is a Cape Breton hidden gem, and it's on the way to Fort Louisburg to boot!!!

Bon Appetite!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCamper049Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, VT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

I don't know where the people who wrote the negative reviews stayed, but I can't blieve that it was the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn that we stayed at. The whole place smells like cedar which made it feel fresh and clean. The restaurant, ah the restaurant...the chef is a genius. The "cream puff" dessert-- was EXCELLENT. We had a great experience and would certainly return. We sat out by the water and found the location very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realvtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Peter's
23.5 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
30.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
46.4 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.3 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
45.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
31.1 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bras d'Or Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Property: Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Address: 10095 Grenville Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia B0E 3B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > St. Peter's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Peter's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bras d'Or Lakes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cedar log waterfront Inn fronts on the shore of the world-famous Bras d'Or Lake. Rooms at the Inn are adjacent the historic St. Peter's Canal which connects this big salt water lake to the Atlantic Ocean. Chef Jean-Pierre Gillet and his talented team will tantalize you with epicurean delights. The Inn features its own waterfront recreation area with kayaks and canoes, bicycles, lakeside lounging deck, and a hot-tub overlooking the lake. PLEASE NOTE: THE RESTAURANT CLOSES OCTOBER 19, 2014 FOR THIS SEASON. A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WILL BE THEN BE INCLUDED WITH THE BOOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bras d'Or Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bras d`Or Lakes Hotel St. Peter`s

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing