We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average as a hotel - but superb food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 St. Peter's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very average as a hotel - but superb food”
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Maybe it was just us, but as hotel, we just didn't get the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn and we certainly can't see why it gets such high ratings. Basically, it felt like a slightly upmarket motel (the room we had was one of 20 or so on a long corridor) rather than the image we had of it (from its web site) as a more luxury, secluded almost resort like, with canoes and bikes etc. The room was okay, but nothing special, and as a hotel which prides itself on the food, it even had a microwave in it! And if you don't like noise, be aware the kitchen fan extractor (or maybe a generator?) was on all night and pretty noisy. The canoes and bikes were all chained up and we were left feeling that they weren't really easy to get to use. All rather disappointing and a little drab.

However, the food was great! I would certainly recommend that! Fabulous. I just wouldn't stay there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    53
    11
    9
    10
See reviews for
47
87
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

My husband and I stayed from July 22 - 26. We came for a long weekend get-a-way to a place we've always wanted to see. I did the research on the internet for a place to stay and gave my husband a few choices. We chose Bras d'Or Lakes Inn because it looked like an upscale Inn with a reasonable price. In fact I phoned to ask some questions and Rhoda was so helpful and so nice that she sealed the deal for us.

Our first night was a Ceilidh night and we made sure we went. We had a fantastic time and ordered dinner from their "family" menu. The entertainment was really good, add great food and some wonderful Nova Scotia beer and you have a recipe for a great evening.

Our room was the cleanest hotel room I've ever been in. It was so spotless, I didn't wear shoes or socks and didn't have a ton of towels on the bathroom floor to walk on. There is a good size mini fridge in the room that you can stock with snacks. The beds are really comfortable, same with the pillows. We didn't hear music nor were there loud noises in the hallway but we were out all day sight seeing and came home later.

We ate dinner our last night in the dining room. Our meal was perfection! Every bite was an explosion of flavour. The service was friendly and professional.

I can't say enough great things about this family run Inn. When I went to use the Inn's computer to confirm our flight, it wouldn't work. They let me sit behind the counter and use their computer. How nice is that!?

If you go to Cape Breton Island, you have to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oshawa_ways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My husband and I travel quite a bit and have found it difficult to find great accommodations in Cape Breton. However, the Bras d'Or Lakes Inn is a terrific place to stay. Think of it as a large, but cozy log cabin. Don't miss the restaurant which has family and fine dining options. We chose family dining since we were traveling with our baby and were very impressed.

Pros:
Large comfortable rooms
Mini-fridge and microwave in-room (great for families)
Free wireless Internet
Small dock with seating and outdoor fireplace
Short walk to the canal and town
Friendly service
One of the best restaurants we've experienced on the island

Cons:
Rooms are not completely soundproof. If there is noise in the hallway you will hear it.
Bathrooms are in need of updating.

That's about it. If you are looking for a home base for your Cape Breton vacation, or want a stop on the way to Sydney or Louisbourg, you should consider this hotel. We are already booked for another stay in the fall!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HernameisRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This Inn has a lovely location on the lake in a "town" that closes at 9PM. Our room was good sized and comfortable with a sturdy table, small refrigerator, microwave and air conditioning which was unusual for the area. Room was cheery with new looking bed spreads, fabulous pillows, comfortable pillow top mattresses and pleasant decor. Free Wifi was strong.

The dock has free canoes or kayaks but someone from the kitchen staff must come out to unlock paddles and life jackets (which can take a while) and then you must lift boats down to water. (There's no guide in room and one must make many inquiries to find out information). Paddling is lovely exploring the nearby canal, seeing jellyfish and mini- starfish through extremely clear water. The lobby has a cozy couch and big screen TV. Music at night can be heard in the pub.

Service was poor to terrible. The restaurant has either a "fancy" or "family" side and if you are on the family side prepare to be ignored even if the restaurant is almost empty. We watched 4 people wait over 1/2 hour for menus and water though only 2 other tables had people! The waitresses were rude, flippant, and unorganized and told us how busy they were forcing my sister to hunt down her wine (ordered upon entry 40 minutes earlier) half way through the meal from the bartender. The food, when it finally came, was tasty, but eat elsewhere if you can find somewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DulciTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rindge, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2010

A fabulous place to stay on Cape Breton Island. My wife uses the "bare foot" test of cleanliness, and very few hotels pass. No problems here, very clean! The owners are actively involved daily, and no request was too small for immediate action. All the staff were very friendly and accomodating. The meals in the restaurant were delightful, and equal or better than offerings in cities like Boston or New York. Obviously fresh ingredients with great presentations and wonderful taste prepared by a master chef!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davebfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

After reading the prior 8 reviews for this place I was very disappointed. Then I looked closer at the reviews, all 8 of the reviewers had one post, their glowing review of the Bras d'Or Lake Inn. My experience was far different than I expected.

The hotel was right on route 4 in the commercial district of St Peters. It's at least 40 years old and has not been updated. The rooms are small and dark, though very clean. The restaurant is not upscale but it is over priced and the staff upsells every chance they get.

It is on Bras d'Or Lake but unless you want to sit on the dock there's really no place to enjoy it.

The Inn has a roadside motel feel.

I felt totally had!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonFoodSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Words cannot even describe the amazing experience we had while staying at the Inn. The service was outstanding and we were blown away by the hospitality. The staff bent over backwards to ensure that we had a great stay.

The Inn is very versatile in the sense of accommodating different groups of people - families, couples, young wedding - goers (us) and anyone looking to experience the beauty and warmth this town has to offer.

We will definitely go back as soon as we have the chance. One of the best weekends of my life.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewfandHali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Peter's
10.8 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
23.5 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
173 reviews
46.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
45.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
20.2 mi away
The Iona Heights Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bras d'Or Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bras d'Or Lakes Inn

Property: Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Address: 10095 Grenville Street, St. Peter's, Nova Scotia B0E 3B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > St. Peter's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Peter's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bras d'Or Lakes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cedar log waterfront Inn fronts on the shore of the world-famous Bras d'Or Lake. Rooms at the Inn are adjacent the historic St. Peter's Canal which connects this big salt water lake to the Atlantic Ocean. Chef Jean-Pierre Gillet and his talented team will tantalize you with epicurean delights. The Inn features its own waterfront recreation area with kayaks and canoes, bicycles, lakeside lounging deck, and a hot-tub overlooking the lake. PLEASE NOTE: THE RESTAURANT CLOSES OCTOBER 19, 2017 FOR THIS SEASON. A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WILL BE THEN BE INCLUDED WITH THE BOOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Bras d'Or Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bras d`Or Lakes Hotel St. Peter`s

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing