We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge De Cucugnan

Auberge De Cucugnan
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge De Cucugnan
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cucugnan
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

It's our second time and we will return. The food is exceptional and good value. The village is perfectly located on a small hill in the valley bottom between two of the most impressive Cathar castles. Room is small but clean. A shared patio with tables, chairs and a few loungers is a nice private space for reading etc

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mas_carrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
7
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

In the center of an absolutely beautiful small mountaintop village, in the Corbières mountains. Our room in a brand new section of the hotel. Very well kept.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancoisAhuntsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beynac-et-Cazenac, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

We arrived in a Cucugnan on a Monday afternoon out of season without having made any reservations. The village appeared moribund and the Auberge deserted. When we rang the bell at the gate as directed, Madame's head appeared from an upstairs window. She looked exhausted but was welcoming and friendly. We were shown immediately to two delightful rooms - not particularly large but entirely fit for purpose - spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and well equipped modern bathrooms. Our night's stay was quiet, restful and entirely comfortable.

We ate in the auberge restaurant and chose the cheapest menu. The service was efficient, warm and friendly and the food entirely delicious. The food was straightforward and simple, tasty and among the best meals we have had all year. The pintade cooked in the local Maury wine was outstandingly good

All four of us live for part of the year in France so are well used to the different standards of accommodation and cuisine that are available. We also use Logis de France hotels on a regular basis. We all felt that both the food and accomodation at the Auberge de Cucugnan represented fantastic value for money. I have never bothered to write a review before but felt our experience in Cucugnan was so entirely positive that it deserved it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acpackhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedditchburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

Our experience was almost exactly the same as Northerner in 2007. We also arrived at about 5.30 in the afternoon, with a booking which I had personally made by telephone with the hotel two weeks previously. We walked up to the hotel from the lower town and found the place entirely locked up. I phoned the hotel number and also had the response of the owner calling me out of the upstairs window. He was efficient, if not warm, in his welcome. We told him that we would have breakfast the following morning but that we had not yet decided whether we would eat there that night. Our friends later spoke to him and the kitchen staff about their menu and then decided that they would prefer to eat at the Auberge de Vigneron in the same village. Unfortunately, they apparently didn't make this clear to the owner, and so when we returned to the hotel later that night, we were told that they had reserved a place for us and had been disappointed that we didn't turn up. This, inevitably led the owner to conclude that we didn't want breakfast, and so there was more unpleasantness the following morning. The mesentente about the evening meal was probably the fault of our friends, but throughout our stay, we found the owner gruff, grudging and unavailable. Thus, when we arrived, and were in our rooms, I tried to use the advertised free internet access, but found that I needed a password, and that there just wasn't anyone around to ask about this, or indeed, anything else. The layout of the hotel, where you have to leave your room, go out into the street and then re-enter to find anyone in the restaurant, means that communication with the staff is non-existent, unless you are there just before the restaurant opens.
By contrast, the Auberge de Vigneron was warm welcoming and very pleasant for an evening meal.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedditchburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cucugnan hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

We didn't stay at the hotel, as it was full up, but we did eat here one night, and had the cassoulet of our dreams. Succulent, rich, plentiful - and served ina charming and beautful ambiance. I am still dreaming of that cassoulet... We stayed up the hill at a new place 'Les Ecuries' which I will also write up. The village is charming and unspoiled, and the whole region is very beautiful and desolate.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aude
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Six of us had one of the best meals ever at the auberge. It was good value and the service was excellent. We wanted to tip the waitress and gave her the tip in her hand as if it is added to the amount on the card she won't get it!! Worth making sure you have cash withyou

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stupidgirlAude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2008

Cucugnan is an ideal place to spend a few nights if you are exploring this beautiful part of France. The rooms in the Auberge are small but extremely clean and great care has obviously been taken by the owners. On arrival you do need to ring the bell on the gate post under the Logis de France sign to get checked in, but once you know this there is no problem. The food in the resturant is excellent and it definitely deserves its Bib Gourmand. It is also extremely good value. We found the owners to be very friendly and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Great Food
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BaileyGlenbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cucugnan
0.0 mi away
Auberge du Vigneron
Auberge du Vigneron
#1 of 2 in Cucugnan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
14.6 mi away
Le Tropic Hotel
Le Tropic Hotel
#3 of 10 in Rivesaltes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
9.2 mi away
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge la Table du Cure
Auberge la Table du Cure
#1 of 1 in Cucugnan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Tourette
La Tourette
#1 of 5 in Cucugnan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Vieux Moulin
Le Vieux Moulin
#2 of 2 in Duilhac-sous-Peyrepertuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge De Cucugnan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge De Cucugnan

Property: Auberge De Cucugnan
Address: 2 Place de la Fontaine, 11350 Cucugnan, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Cucugnan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cucugnan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge De Cucugnan 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Auberge De Cucugnan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing