We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money”

Auberge De Cucugnan
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge De Cucugnan
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cucugnan
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Value for money”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had low expectations for this place as the rate seemed very low. Our room was small but clean and functional. Having read other reviews we were perhaps lucky that our room overlooked the gardens. It is a bit hard to find as the streets in the village are narrow and you will probably have to park about 150 metres past the hotel and walk back with your luggage.
The patron/chef was a bit hard to find at first but once we found the correct buzzer to press he popped his head out of the window and came down to show us our room.
Great values for money room and good breakfast. After dinner the patron came out of the kitchen to ask if we had enjoyed our meal, which we did, and he seemed very eager to ensure we liked his food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britabroadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    29
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
7
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We booked a room with a shower - no shower curtain. Room was tiny and cramped with a window facing on an air shaft - very disappointing - one night was enough. AC didn't work. There were only 3 rooms with a view and they were given to guests who booked for longer stays. It was a beautiful star lit night and we couldn't enjoy any view from our room!

Room Tip: Confirm after booking that you have a room with a window facing the garden and cross your fingers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjhassoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cucugnan hotels

Girona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

It's our second time and we will return. The food is exceptional and good value. The village is perfectly located on a small hill in the valley bottom between two of the most impressive Cathar castles. Room is small but clean. A shared patio with tables, chairs and a few loungers is a nice private space for reading etc

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mas_carrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

In the center of an absolutely beautiful small mountaintop village, in the Corbières mountains. Our room in a brand new section of the hotel. Very well kept.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancoisAhuntsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beynac-et-Cazenac, France
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We arrived in a Cucugnan on a Monday afternoon out of season without having made any reservations. The village appeared moribund and the Auberge deserted. When we rang the bell at the gate as directed, Madame's head appeared from an upstairs window. She looked exhausted but was welcoming and friendly. We were shown immediately to two delightful rooms - not particularly large but entirely fit for purpose - spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and well equipped modern bathrooms. Our night's stay was quiet, restful and entirely comfortable.

We ate in the auberge restaurant and chose the cheapest menu. The service was efficient, warm and friendly and the food entirely delicious. The food was straightforward and simple, tasty and among the best meals we have had all year. The pintade cooked in the local Maury wine was outstandingly good

All four of us live for part of the year in France so are well used to the different standards of accommodation and cuisine that are available. We also use Logis de France hotels on a regular basis. We all felt that both the food and accomodation at the Auberge de Cucugnan represented fantastic value for money. I have never bothered to write a review before but felt our experience in Cucugnan was so entirely positive that it deserved it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acpackhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedditchburn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Our experience was almost exactly the same as Northerner in 2007. We also arrived at about 5.30 in the afternoon, with a booking which I had personally made by telephone with the hotel two weeks previously. We walked up to the hotel from the lower town and found the place entirely locked up. I phoned the hotel number and also had the response of the owner calling me out of the upstairs window. He was efficient, if not warm, in his welcome. We told him that we would have breakfast the following morning but that we had not yet decided whether we would eat there that night. Our friends later spoke to him and the kitchen staff about their menu and then decided that they would prefer to eat at the Auberge de Vigneron in the same village. Unfortunately, they apparently didn't make this clear to the owner, and so when we returned to the hotel later that night, we were told that they had reserved a place for us and had been disappointed that we didn't turn up. This, inevitably led the owner to conclude that we didn't want breakfast, and so there was more unpleasantness the following morning. The mesentente about the evening meal was probably the fault of our friends, but throughout our stay, we found the owner gruff, grudging and unavailable. Thus, when we arrived, and were in our rooms, I tried to use the advertised free internet access, but found that I needed a password, and that there just wasn't anyone around to ask about this, or indeed, anything else. The layout of the hotel, where you have to leave your room, go out into the street and then re-enter to find anyone in the restaurant, means that communication with the staff is non-existent, unless you are there just before the restaurant opens.
By contrast, the Auberge de Vigneron was warm welcoming and very pleasant for an evening meal.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedditchburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We didn't stay at the hotel, as it was full up, but we did eat here one night, and had the cassoulet of our dreams. Succulent, rich, plentiful - and served ina charming and beautful ambiance. I am still dreaming of that cassoulet... We stayed up the hill at a new place 'Les Ecuries' which I will also write up. The village is charming and unspoiled, and the whole region is very beautiful and desolate.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cucugnan
0.0 mi away
Auberge du Vigneron
Auberge du Vigneron
#1 of 2 in Cucugnan
83 reviews
9.2 mi away
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
18.8 mi away
Le Mas des Arcades
Le Mas des Arcades
#12 of 46 in Perpignan
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
15.4 mi away
Hostellerie du Grand Duc
2.1 mi away
Le Vieux Moulin
Le Vieux Moulin
#2 of 2 in Duilhac-sous-Peyrepertuse
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge De Cucugnan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge De Cucugnan

Property: Auberge De Cucugnan
Address: 2 Place de la Fontaine, 11350 Cucugnan, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Cucugnan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cucugnan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge De Cucugnan 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge De Cucugnan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing