We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel unwelcome”

Auberge De Cucugnan
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge De Cucugnan
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cucugnan
tedditchburn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Made to feel unwelcome”
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Our experience was almost exactly the same as Northerner in 2007. We also arrived at about 5.30 in the afternoon, with a booking which I had personally made by telephone with the hotel two weeks previously. We walked up to the hotel from the lower town and found the place entirely locked up. I phoned the hotel number and also had the response of the owner calling me out of the upstairs window. He was efficient, if not warm, in his welcome. We told him that we would have breakfast the following morning but that we had not yet decided whether we would eat there that night. Our friends later spoke to him and the kitchen staff about their menu and then decided that they would prefer to eat at the Auberge de Vigneron in the same village. Unfortunately, they apparently didn't make this clear to the owner, and so when we returned to the hotel later that night, we were told that they had reserved a place for us and had been disappointed that we didn't turn up. This, inevitably led the owner to conclude that we didn't want breakfast, and so there was more unpleasantness the following morning. The mesentente about the evening meal was probably the fault of our friends, but throughout our stay, we found the owner gruff, grudging and unavailable. Thus, when we arrived, and were in our rooms, I tried to use the advertised free internet access, but found that I needed a password, and that there just wasn't anyone around to ask about this, or indeed, anything else. The layout of the hotel, where you have to leave your room, go out into the street and then re-enter to find anyone in the restaurant, means that communication with the staff is non-existent, unless you are there just before the restaurant opens.
By contrast, the Auberge de Vigneron was warm welcoming and very pleasant for an evening meal.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedditchburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    29
    10
    10
    8
See reviews for
8
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We didn't stay at the hotel, as it was full up, but we did eat here one night, and had the cassoulet of our dreams. Succulent, rich, plentiful - and served ina charming and beautful ambiance. I am still dreaming of that cassoulet... We stayed up the hill at a new place 'Les Ecuries' which I will also write up. The village is charming and unspoiled, and the whole region is very beautiful and desolate.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aude
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Six of us had one of the best meals ever at the auberge. It was good value and the service was excellent. We wanted to tip the waitress and gave her the tip in her hand as if it is added to the amount on the card she won't get it!! Worth making sure you have cash withyou

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stupidgirlAude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Cucugnan is an ideal place to spend a few nights if you are exploring this beautiful part of France. The rooms in the Auberge are small but extremely clean and great care has obviously been taken by the owners. On arrival you do need to ring the bell on the gate post under the Logis de France sign to get checked in, but once you know this there is no problem. The food in the resturant is excellent and it definitely deserves its Bib Gourmand. It is also extremely good value. We found the owners to be very friendly and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Great Food
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BaileyGlenbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

We identified this small hotel and booked two nights there using the Logis de France website. We had visited Cucugnan in the past and knew it to be a fascinating village with two wonderful Cathar castles (Peyrepertuse and Queribus) very close by.

But the Auberge was a disappointment. We did not experience the friendly welcome noted by the previous reviewer. In fact we didn't get much of a welcome at all. We arrived at Cucugnan at about 5.30 in the afternoon and encountered the first problem that the Auberge was in a one-way street so narrow that parking anywhere near it caused one's car to block the entire road. The obvious main entrance to the hotel was completely closed and locked and there was no sign of life. We were unsure what to do next (I was contemplating calling the hotel phone number on my mobile) when my wife noticed a small sign pointing back down the street, indicating that we should ring a bell by a side gate further down the hill. We found this and rang the bell; there was no response. We rang it repeatedly without any response. We were about to give up (after, oh, five minutes at least) when suddenly an upstairs window was flung open, a man leaned out and rather gruffly asked what we wanted. For some reason this reminded me of a scene from an opera, but I can't remember which one!

We explained about our booking and he said he would come down, rather grumpily we thought! After several minutes he appeared and, to be fair, he carried both our heavy cases up the steep stone steps at the side of the hotel, through a side door to a small double room at the front of the building.

We enquired about the time for dinner and he informed us rather curtly that the restaurant was closed that evening. I asked where we could eat and he said there were two other places to eat in Cucugnan - the Vigneron and La Table du Cure. All three places are in the Guide Michelin by the way and are Logis de France, and both current guides indicate the Auberge restaurant as open on the evening in question. We chose the Auberge because we thought it looked nice on the LdF website.

The man made no offer to help make a booking for us, and no apology for the Auberge being shut. We actually wondered if we were even expected there, and we don't know to this day whether this was the problem in that our booking had not transferred properly from LdF to the Auberge, or whether this was in fact a typical "welcome". We also discovered that the hotel parking was some way away on the edge of the village.

When I called the Vigneron they told me their restaurant was full that evening. Fortunately La Table du Cure could accommodate us but not until 9pm, later than we wanted - but we had no other realistic choice. Indeed it turned out we were very lucky as when we arrived at La Table du Cure the proprietor said that we had been his last feasible booking; this was certainly true as he turned several other people away. However we had a really excellent meal there and the proprietor's attitude could not have been more different from the man at the Auberge. Noting that La Table du Cure has accommodation (but only two rooms) we both agreed that if we ever wanted to stay in Cucugnan in future, that is where we would choose (it's also by far the cheapest of the three places).

I had been careful to check at L'Auberge de Cucugnan that the restaurant would be open on our second evening there - they said it would, and so I booked a table for two at 8pm.

When we arrived in the restaurant on the dot of 8pm the following evening (you can get there from the rooms without going out of the building though the way isn't immediately obvious), it was clear to us at once that every table was occupied and people were still on their starters. Undaunted we reminded the staff of our booking and mild panic ensued. Would this lead to a second meal at La Table du Cure I wondered! But they found us a table on a dark , barely lit landing at the top of the stairs, overlooking some of the diners beneath. I suppose it could have been considered romantic, given the minimal lighting, but it was obvious that it was an area not supposed to be in use, and it was completely lacking in atmosphere, unlike the proper restaurant area which had a pleasant buzz. Surprisingly, the service to our lofty perch was good; we didn't get forgotten as I had feared. I think they were genuinely embarrassed by what had happened. All the same their attitude to us was very "matter-of-fact" throughout. I speak fairly good French and I detected no hint of an apology. The food was very good and reasonably priced at 90 euros including wine. It was simple, appetising stuff, with good sauces, well prepared and cooked.

Our room although small and functional was clean and the bed was comfortable - the bathroom was small like the bedroom but it too was spotlessly clean. At 61 euros per night (for 2) including breakfast, it's certainly not expensive for what you get.

The fact that the room was basically OK and the food was good (on the one night we could eat it) saved this place from a rating of "terrible". Our experience seems so different from that of the previous reviewer, one wonders if the hotel was under temporary management when we stayed, or perhaps has changed hands.

I'm afraid we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — Room and batroom were clean, food (when available) was good
  • Disliked — Arbitrary restaurant closure, poor and unfriendly service
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Northerner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cucugnan hotels

Birmingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2006

Cucugnan is a small and delightful village about 45 minutes drive north of Perpigan Airport and located close to the amazing Cathar castles of Peyrepetuse and Queribus. Auberge de Cucugnan is located right in the heart of the village. The rooms are quite small, but the welcome is friendly and helpful. The building itself has a huge amount of charm, with some parts appearing to be dug out of the rock of the small hill on which the village/hotel stands. The restaurant is certainly worth a visit.

  • Liked — Charm of the building and village
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosamunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cucugnan
0.0 mi away
Auberge du Vigneron
Auberge du Vigneron
#1 of 2 in Cucugnan
90 reviews
9.2 mi away
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
18.8 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge la Table du Cure
Auberge la Table du Cure
#1 of 1 in Cucugnan
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Ecurie de Cucugnan
L'Ecurie de Cucugnan
#2 of 5 in Cucugnan
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Rampaillou
Le Rampaillou
#4 of 5 in Cucugnan
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge De Cucugnan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge De Cucugnan

Property: Auberge De Cucugnan
Address: 2 Place de la Fontaine, 11350 Cucugnan, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Cucugnan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cucugnan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge De Cucugnan 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Auberge De Cucugnan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing