We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable, great food.”
Review of Au Petit Verger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Petit Verger
Ranked #1 of 7 Puivert B&B and Inns
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable, great food.”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

In comparison with other B&B experiences (and the handful of hotels I stayed in while hiking part of the Sentier du Cathar) this was a unique and ultimately satisfying experience. The room I had was spacious (it appears designed for four people) with a clean and pleasant bathroom and a window looking out toward the hills down the valley. The bed was quite comfortable. The proprietors, Martyn and Ann Pickering, are a pleasant young couple, English ex-pats like over half the hosts I stayed with, with three delightful (and very energetic) young children. In contrast to several of the other places I stayed on the trip, I was seated for dinner and breakfast alone at a table in a separate room; the children proudly took turns delivering each course of the meal - which I found quite charming. I was warmly welcomed into the living area to watch a football (soccer) match with Martyn, which was quite enjoyable. I am gluten-intolerant, and Martyn thoughtfully prepared a very tasty dinner without any wheat - and a totally satisfying omelette for breakfast. As often happens (I think I'm lucky in my choice of accommodations) I left feeling that these are people I would enjoy getting to know better. For the price, this B&B delivers excellent quality - and its location, right at the entrance of town, is very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn P, Owner at Au Petit Verger, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
David thank you and sorry I have not replied before. The bit I like best is the 'young couple'. I guess it must be the lifestyle here that keeps me looking that way even if I can't really claim to be any longer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
24
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skanderborg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Excellent location at the end of the Sentier Cathare stage from Quillan. Veryy friendly host, Martyn, who cooks excellent food.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank janhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn P, Owner at Au Petit Verger, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
'Excellent location', 'excellent food', 'very friendly host' but only an average rating?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed here for one night during a walk from Comus to Quillan. I've stayed in some super-luxury B&Bs in the UK in recent years and this wasn't of the same type at all! It's an old-fashioned, muck-in-with-rest-of-us, family-run and family-style B&B. It met with my complete approval, especially the unexpected (but, to be honest, half-hoped-for) pleasure of a real English cup of tea when I arrived at the end of my 20-mile hike from Comus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergerblue, Owner at Au Petit Verger, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Hello The Professor34.

I think you visited whilst I was away so I'm pleased it seems the rest of the family looked after you really well. Many thanks for your kind comments and yes that it exactly what we set out to be. 'Home from Home'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed with Martin and his family for a week, a week of bike riding.

The hospitality was excellent, the rooms very clean and well appointed, we ate Breakfast and evening meals with Martin and the food was of resturaunt quality (and big in quantity), and he catered very well for my veggie Girlfriend.

Martin is a very friendly laid back Guy we had a very relaxing week, we were offered excellent advice about bike riding routes and were even supplied with some local riders to ride with.

Will deffo be visiting again

Room Tip: They are all fab, we chose the room with the view of Puivert!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompey_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergerblue, Owner at Au Petit Verger, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you Paul and Wendy, we enjoyed having you here as well. Paul you are easily the strongest, fittest cyclist we have ever entertained. Good luck with your race season. You are clearly well prepared!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have spent many short breaks at Au Petit Verger. We have always been made very welcome by the family and looked after in terms of hotel facilities, meals, guidance on walks and places to visit.

The hosts are bilingual in French and English and are happy to help with language and local burocracy should they be required.

The house is a beautiful old grand village house with original features and modern facilities. It is set in large gardens with an adjoining wood. The rooms are tastefully decorated in pastel colours in a French country style.

The village of Puivert is small and quiet but with a well stocked local shop and boulangerie. The lake is very pleasant for swimming and picnicking around. It is very safe for children.

There are many walks in the coutryside and nearby mountains. The scenery has to be seen to be appreciated. It is varied and very pretty.

We have stayed at all times of the year in hot sunshine and snow blizzards, during which the countryside takes on a magical quality. There are always things to do in any weather.

We will continue to visit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This is a family run chambre d'hote in a small rural village about 1 hour from Carcassone. Our room was clean and comfortable with en suite and large shower with views over the valley. Martin and Ann are great hosts providing excellent food (warm aniseed bread or croissants at breakfast are amazing) and are able to provide advice re local walks or cycling - they even arranged a birthday party for my husband and we had a fantastic time. We had dinner on a number of nights which was French country style, using local ingredients - often from the owners garden. Very good value.
There is a local buvette by the lake which serves salads, pizza etc, a small bar and unusually, an Afghan resturant a short distance away.
Overall, this is a quiet friendly place where you will be made very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieg52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herefordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Au petit verger is a very comfortable place to stop to unwind and refresh . The hosts Martyn and Ann are very friendly and helpful and so are the children . Between them all they are bilingual !
The house has a real french feel to it so it is really relaxing and one can appreciate the french charm without worryign about speakign the difficult language , but if you want to practise ,you can talk with te children in French , all good fun !!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francoisethenook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puivert
4.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Chalabre
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes du Lac Perdu
0.3 mi away
Green Horizons
Green Horizons
#5 of 7 in Puivert
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Occitania
Occitania
#6 of 7 in Puivert
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Au Petit Verger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Petit Verger

Property: Au Petit Verger
Address: 8 route Departementale 117, 11230 Puivert, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Puivert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Puivert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Petit Verger is a traditional stone built 'Maison de Maitre' in the lovely village of Puivert, featured as one of the most beautiful villages in the Pyrennees. The house occupies an imposing position with direct access to the Sentier Cathare and the principal road through the village. The Chateau of Puivert is directly to the rear of our extensive grounds. A terrace with lovely views is available to Guests. The beach and swimming lake is 3-4 minutes walk away.The house itself offers 5 well appointed bedrooms with a mix of private bathrooms and en-suites. Family rooms are available. A large lounge and breakfast room is available to guests and high quality evening meals are provided by reservation. Our welcome is warm and inclusive and we are certain you will enjoy a stay with us whether for one night or for longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Au Petit Verger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing