We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside view of the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside view of the property
Living room with wood burning stove Sitting room with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Outside view of the property
Living room with wood burning stove
Sitting room with open fire
Main bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Kitchen
bathroom
Back of house including yard
The Mourne Mountains
Guests in the kitchen
Guests visiting Finnis Southerraine
James on the quad
Florence the donkey
Marty the bull
The cattle
Lagananny Dolman
Way to travel at Grove Fort
Over the Rib on a snowy day showing the potato drills from 'famine' fame
Scarva Canal walk,
Fort Road - Great place for a walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dromore, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maureen M
Fuerteventura, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed with daughter and granddaughter for a week and could not fault the accommodation. Everything was spotless and there was a warm welcome when we arrived. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne p
1 review
“Rural yet convenient for exploring Northern Ireland”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed here with my family for three nights. It had everything you would expect for a comfortable stay. The owners were very welcoming and a very nice touch was the scones, tea, coffee and milk left for us on arrival.
The location is quite rural but it is convenient for touring. We had a great day in Belfast where we visited the Titanic exhibition. On another day we explored the Antrim coast and the Giant's Causeway.
I would definitely recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: trying to find the place( there are two Dromores and we went to the wrong one)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent home from home.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed 4 nights and right from the start we both slept well, which usually doesn't happen in a new place. Very easy place to settle in to. It was quiet, clean and well kept and the owners were very friendly and helpful.
It was nice to hear the local sheep in the morning too.

The immediate surroundings weren't ideal as it's in a farmyard and beside the road, but it's a clean farmyard and a quiet road so it didn't matter, particularly as the location is so convenient for touring the area...even though it might seem a little out of the way at first glance. 6 miles to the main north/south Belfast road at Dromore and a gorgeous 10 mile drive the other way through stunning scenery to the coast and Mourne mountains. Returning at the end of a busy day out felt like coming home.
Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OverseasI...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“A Farmhouse Christmas”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

An Irish Farmhouse in the beautiful rolling hills of County Down. Great access to Belfast and Dublin. The most friend;y and helpful of hosts. Warm even in winter, centrally heated and a welcoming fire.
The family and friends all loved it. Many thanks to Ivan and Annette.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Position, a real fire and turf, countryside
Liked least: Slightly hard Mattress
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqueum
Galston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely farmhouse with friendly & helpful owners & neighbours”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent short break at Grove Fort. The farmhouse was lovely, and the owners very helpful. The only missing thing for us was Internet access, which for us resulted in quite a few long drives to McDonalds. One neighbouring farmer was also extremely welcoming. As well as offering our 5 year old a ride in his tractor, he invited us over to see his 26,000 free range chickens & sample their eggs.

If you don't need Internet access, we'd thoroughly recommend Grove Fort.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2013
Thank you Martin for your review. Sorry you had to travel to McDonald's for internet access but thanks to your suggestion Grove Fort now has it's own internet access!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muriel H
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding what a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at grove fort.The holiday let was well equipped.It was lovely listening to the cows mooing in the mornings.Annette & Ivan made us welcome .We will be staying there again with out a doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we loved the area the holliday let was at right out in the country
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing