We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick break from everyday life.”
Review of Wilsham Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wilsham Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick break from everyday life.”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, felt comfortable & relaxed. Richard is a very warm & friendly host, & made us both feel welcomed. Beautiful place in stunning location. Room very comfortable & well laid out, homemade complimentary flapjack needs a mention, better than my Mums (Hope she dosent use trip adviser). Only regret is that we were unable to stay longer. Will definately be looking to visit again, to recharge batteries, & explore more of this amazing landscape.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    13
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
73
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at Wilsham for two nights in May - a great location with stunning views. Room was huge with a great 4 poster. Very clean and comfortable if a little dated. Breakfast was excellent - taken in the conservatory with a view that to match. Richard was a friendly and helpful host with information and advice on where to go etc. We eat in the small village of Brendon one night - the Stag Hunter. Nice meal in a traditional Devon atmosphere. If you like walking this is a great base or if you just want to get away from it all for some real peace and quiet it's perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed in self catering house with group of 14 for celebratory weekend, our second stay in 2 years. Beds clean and comfortable, all linen provided in good condition. House showed obvious signs of heavy wear since first visit- damp in bathrooms, damp on some walls, dishwasher part kept falling off, freezer shelf broken, food mixer not working. no locks on some bathroom doors. Pool itself clean and warm, but poolside needs scrub- eg green algae on edges of floor tiles. On one evening we had a lovely meal in main farmhouse cooked by owners, special diets were catered for with no problems. A small issue with heating which did not come on, and seemed to have been switched off twice during our stay at the timer which was in an adjacent barn- fortunately we knew where the timer was so were able to switch it back on! Richard is a character. location is perfect. size of house is perfect. not sure if we would return for a third visit- feel the house needs more maintenance and investment. and a good deep clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dw13abl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have just returned from staying at wilsham farm. The room was very beautiful, extremely comfortable (had a fab nights sleep) and pristinely clean! The owner Richard was so helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. The farm is set in beautiful landscapes with lovely views over exmoor. We will definitely be visiting again! Good location and so peaceful! Fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojo123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We (family of 9) stayed at Wilsham house over the christmas period and had a fantastic time. There are both positives and negatives at the house. Fantastic location, we loved the pool, but it was a bit chilly for most of the family. The main living room was really cosy (not keen on the wood burner, it was very smelly) and it had enough seating for all but to be honest even though I am not much of a TV addict, the TV is too small for lots of people to watch together, which we wanted to do some evenings. The dining room attached to the kitchen was fantastic. The bedrooms were very nice, most being fairly large but be aware there is not a room with lots of single beds, they are in the upstairs passage, which we found a little odd, although groups of children might like it. The beds are on the hard side but I am definately a princess and the pea sort and like a very soft comfortable bed. All in all good place for a large family to relax. We met Richard whilst we were there and he was very friendly and very accomodating. We were happy to be left alone but knew he was there if needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just returned from a great 2 night stay at the B&B. I can only reinforce the positive comments already mentioned. The wonderful breakfasts(you won't need any lunch!)need an extra mention as does the fantastic location.You are in the middle of the moor,we were even lucky enough to see and hear the deer when Richard took us out personally to locate them. We have stayed in various B&B's on Exmoor but I think this will be a definate favourite,we have already booked our next visit for 2013!

Room Tip: The stags rest has a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I visited Wilsham house (self catering) on the weekend and enjoyed it immensely! I visited with many friends (19 in total) and was balled over by how much the owner bent over backwards for us (especially as he had an injured back). Easy to find although it could be missed if lacking in concentration. I had such an amazing weekend and have made very special memories that i will cherish always, Thank you sooooo much, we will be seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupman91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Countisbury
2.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rockford Inn
The Rockford Inn
#1 of 1 in Brendon
262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Ball Inn
Blue Ball Inn
#1 of 2 in Countisbury
422 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilsham Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilsham Farm

Property: Wilsham Farm
Address: Countisbury, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Countisbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Countisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Wilsham Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilsham Farm Hotel Countisbury
Wilsham Farm Countisbury, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing