We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Swiss Food”
Review of Restaurant Baren

Restaurant Baren
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
murphy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Swiss Food”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Wonderful dinner at a great price for Switzerland. We shared 1 order of Cheese Fondue and 1 order of Cordon Blue, both were delicious and plenty of food for two people. The apple cake for dessert was delicious. It was well worth the walk to get there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank racndlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    103
    42
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
232 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I loved Baren! the atmosphere, foods, everything was perfect! We ate raclett and meat fondue(broth). The portions were big enough and very very delicious. There was an old but beautiful lady who was serving us. She was so cute and suggested us a great red wine! We loved everything we experienced in that restaurant. All restaurants in Switzerland are expensive but Baren was one of the few that really worth the money we gave.. If you go to interlaken, you should definitely go there!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Selin_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for great Swiss food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I truly enjoyed our dinner at this restaurant! It is worth the short stroll from Interlaken. The food was excellent, atmosphere fabulous (we ate in the grill room) and the service was great. We had the fondue bourguignonne (oil fondue) and we couldn't have been more satisfied with quality, size and of course the taste! We would definitely eat here again next time we visit the Interlaken area.

Helpful?
Thank KeiraNandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREENEVILLE, TENNESSEE
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great dinner New Years Eve!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We chose this place to dine for New Years Eve and were all delighted with the food and service. Also, we had a group of "bell ringers" to walk through the restaurant during dinner...sooo cool! The fondue was filling and fabulous. The other dishes were equally as great. We stayed at the Hotel Beausite and it was a quick 1 minute walk to the restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CATHYRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great authentic Swiss Dinner!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A great dining experience on New Years Eve! Everything we expected and more. Small and quaint. Fondue was great! Glad we chose to dine here!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MFranklinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Baren also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Unterseen, Interlaken
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 

Been to Restaurant Baren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing