We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful great view”
Review of Aparthotel Goldey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Goldey
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Peaceful great view”
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Peaceful location exactly on the riverside. Very good for a 3* hotel concerning service and cleanness. The rooms are a bit old fashoined but we could live with that comparing to the great view of the snowy mountains. The room should be south facing to get this view as other rooms may face a dull view only. Reception staff were friendly and helpful all the time. The hotel is a bit far away from the main shopping area. Breakfast was nightmare! You have to book boiled eggs in advance and pay 2 SF for each!

  • Liked — South facing rooms that have snowy mountains view
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Abusaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    136
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
77
185
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Just returned from the Goldey where we stayed for a week with our two children. We had two interconnecting rooms with a view of the river. The Goldey was great for a simple week. We ate dinner in the evening and it was perfect for our fussy kids. Simple and wholesome. The staff are very friendly, helpful and generally all speak English. The pool nearby was very welcome on a hot day. We had wonderful views of the jungfrau and the hotel is in a great position for the town and the stations. I would highly recommend this hotel particualrly if you want a quiet spot away from the bustle of the town. The Goldey as three star hotel was more enjoyable than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in,
just great.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank kentJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights from 30th June 2008. I must admit that this was the worst decision in my entire 12 day trip to 5 cities in switzerland. We were 2 adults and 2 kids (one 2 year old and one 5 yr old). The rooms were so small that it seemed like a dungeon. My kids did not have any room to move. The hotel also did not tell me that I need a bigger room if i am getting two kids, despite my telling them while booking that i have 2 kids. The bathrooms are so small that two people cannot stand inside the bathroom. The shower area is covered by curtains which is a big mistake. While taking shower the entire bathroom gets flooded. The flooding created leakage in the floor below which incidentally was the restaurant. The hotel manager had the audacity to talk badly at us for flooding the bathroom, which clearly was not intentional. In fact he went to the extent of saying that we have to take care of the 2 year old kid which meant that we have to keep him in a leash like you tie up a dog!!!!! - miserable. The balcony also had a space to go to the neighbouring room. I do not understand how a hotel can have such easy access to neighbouring rooms. My 2 yr old did just that and there was a complaint. The hotel needs to realize that small kids are difficult to control and they should not provide space in the balcony to go to the neighbouring room. My 2 yr old kids' running in the restaurant also was looked down in disdain.
All in all an extremely unpleast experience - poor service, dingy rooms with pealing paint and torn carpet, extremely small bathroom and bath area. The only saving grace was the good view from the balcony. But it is really not worth it!!!! I have no clue why this hotel has a high rating in trip advisor!!!!!!! I also cannot understand how this hotel has a stamp of 'Swiss quality hotels'. Avoid this hotel totally. Also families with kids - please buy a leash (like a dog) for your kids if you are making the mistake of staying in this hotel despite this warning - because the hotel manager expects you to do so.

  • Liked — only the view from the balcony
  • Disliked — Dingy room, small bathroom and small bath area with curtains which results in flooding and space to go to the neighbouring room from balcony, unfriendly manager.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rama1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2008

We loved this place where we stayed for 4 nights in April 2008.Initially,I was worried because when we reached the hotel by taxi..it took us 15 mins to reach from the train station.It looked like its located in a very isolated place,we were mentally making up the costs for travelling to and fro by taxi everyday for the time we were going to stay there.But the next morning,we ventured out to see the neighbourhood...we were amazed.There is this tiny bridge we had to cross...voila there was the high street just round the corner with all the utilities! We got a room with a view,it was magnificent.
Breakfast was good...they are very very puntual...go a minute past 10 am...there wont be a trace of food.
Dinner menu is very basic and a bit highly priced for the menu they offer.
Internet if free.
Friendly staff.
We had an emergency(health) during one of the nights which was promptly taken care of...we will always be grateful for this.
Good level of professionalism seen during our stay.
Overall,a beautiful experience.Will go there again.

  • Liked — Quality of hotel
  • Disliked — bit more leniency towards breakfast timings would have been great.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank doctorsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape neddick, maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

stayed at the goldey for 3 nights in april. my wife and i had a river facing room. the room was clean and well appointed. afterall your not in switzerland to stay in your room. the view from our river side room was great. great breakfast buffet to get your day started. short walk to all amenities that interlaken has to offer. we loved crossing the river aare to get our day started. the staff at the goldey were wonderful w/ any help we needed. i would rate our stay at the goldey as five star

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank malnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2008

This hotel is situated almost directly between the Ost and West train stations. This hotel is right off the river. Ask for a mountain view for beautiful views of the Jungfrau.

Goldey was pretty simple and Interlaken hotels thrive on charging a bit more as Interlaken is such a popular tourist destination. If you have the time do yourself a favor and stay in Wengen or Grindewald up the mountain. Your views are just as good, you'll pay less and there will be less crowds.

Breakfast was clean and reliable, as was the room. Down the hall we could hear people up all night drinking and smoking on the balcony, which did not make for the best nights sleep. We'd try this hotel again, but was certainly not the best place we've ever stayed.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kridot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

We stayed here for a week in August and found it to be a wonderful choice. Great location right on the river with beautiful mountain views from our room, only a 5 minute walk into the centre of Interlaken and about a 15 minute stroll to either railway station. Despite the railway line running close to the hotel we were not disturbed by train noise at all. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was great. The hotel offers dinner which can be booked each day - that evening's menu is displayed in the lift each morning - but we didn't try it as we knew we wouldn't be back from our walks in time! There was also complimentary coffee and cakes in the afternoon. On return home I found an e-mail waiting for me hoping I'd had a pleasant stay. The only slight complaint was the temperature in the rooms which was bordering on the unbearable at night and there was no air conditioning. However I can't recommend the place highly enough and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The lack of air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albannach1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Goldey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Goldey

Property: Aparthotel Goldey
Address: Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Goldey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Goldey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Goldey Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing