We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good, but it can be better easily!”
Review of Aparthotel Goldey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aparthotel Goldey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2009

There were no king, queen or double beds. Just the twin beds moved togther. House keeping Commented about water in the bathroom on the floor, there was littile drops when i left the room. One of the staff was unfriendly (Ursula) other were great. There was no room service, but we could get breakfast to the room for a charge, and request to have dinner in the hotel (need to inform the hotel before 5 pm to prepare the food) because some people reserve with half board (breakfast + dinner). The room was not air conditined - not that there was a need for it, the weather is great and it is cold at night-. The printer at the desk where customers can check internet was not printing, but the staff was more than willing to print the train time table.
All in all it was an awesome stay, although i was out most of the time sightseeing, when i came back i found a friendly staff and a clean room waiting for me. Except for that one night when i found the note from house keeping that because of water spilled on the bathroom floor, next time i have to pay 50 CHF fee because thay needed to clean the carpet near the restroom door. What ticked me is...there was no carpet, it was a plastic floor (the wooden patterned) and there was littile water drops on the floor. In addition, the reciptionist who handled me then was unfriendly. I think her name was Ursla.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g0ldenbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

My teenage son and daughter and I stayed at Hotel Goldey for 5 nights in July and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was helpful and friendly, the dining area warm and inviting, the food beautifully prepared. They provided free bikes, free Internet access, booked tickets to Jungfrau and made recommendations on activities. Best place we stayed on our European vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We went there in late March with our 1-year old and stayed there for 4 nights. What a delightful experience it was. There were some downsides as well But I will come to that in a minute.

UPs:
Service & breakfast: Everyone was very warm and helpful. We had friendly chats with them every morning. The breakfast was hearty and fresh (the baker delivering fresh bread and milk each morning).

Location: It is located right on the river on the northern edge of the town. This means it is tucked away quietly, but not more than 5 min. walk to the town-centre: cross the river bridge and walk for about 3 min and voila!
We were renting a car and because the hotel is off the busy streets and has its own lot, parking was not an issue.
Also, there were other people but it was not overcrowded.

View: This was the best thing. Our room had a balcony which opened to the clean blue river, looked over the town with snow-clad Alps in the background. Beautiful.

All of the above gave it a very homely and comforting feel.

DOWNs (and I write this reluctantly as I had such a nice time here).

Size: It is not huge. Same for the rooms. The sitting area is nice and cosy, however.
Facilities: The rooms are basic and not very fancy. But everything works.

If you want to get away from the big commercial names, are not concerned about the luxuries and want a comfortable cosy little break, then this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilal_rana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I came to Interlaken spur of the moment as it was raining everywhere else in europe. Only negative comments would be that the wifi internet was only in the lobby although I had a wifi router mounted on the wall outside my room?? which didn't send anything. The pool was actually a public pool a block down the street, but no biggy. Views were magnificent as the hotel is perched a bit above the banks but everything is breathtaking regardless of what hour of the day. Rooms were nice and tidy, tv a bit small compared to mine, beds and down comforters were very cozy. Bathroom was nicely laid out, plenty of room for everything and nice large balcony to enjoy the outdoors. In house restaurant was very quaint and served a delicious fresh breakfast. Free bike rentals and plenty of tourist brochures along with a very knowledgeable staff. Was a bit pricey but its Switzerland and nothing's really cheap here. Water was very good, drank it straight from the tap :-) Location is just a few blocks from the center in a nice quiet neighborhood. Plenty of bridges to cross over and you're right there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Extremely helpful and friendly staff. room was adequate if nothing special but amazing views of Jungfrau. Free rental of bikes was great. But staff were excellent. Very helpful and friendly and helped us greatly whilst we waited on a package for Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

What a delightful place! The views from paying extra money are well worth it and I challenge anywhere in the world to be able to rival the view we had from our bedroom. Lovely bright clean hotel with very friendly staff. Breakfast plentiful and good. Limited evening meal but plenty of places in town. Coffee and cakes in the afternoon at the hotel complimentary. Absolutely loved it.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank LaticsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Being a Swiss resident and having travelled quite a lot I have to say this hotel is rather above the Swiss average in particular in terms of cleanliness. Overall I think 240 Swiss Francs is though definetly compared t what you get for your money. The television sucks and the bed is not worth the money. It is a very good three star, but if you spend 100-200 Swiss Francs more you will get 4 or even 5 star quality. If I look what you get for USD 200 in other countries this is not really a good deal. From what I saw I would be willing to pay CHF 120.-

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yves.werder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
Backpackers Villa Sonnenhof
#1 of 29 in Interlaken
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Jungfrau Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Goldey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Goldey

Address: Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Unterseen
Price Range: £112 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Goldey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel with 14 x 2-bedroom apartments. Fully equipped kitchen with oven, microwave, kettle, rice-cooker. Most apartments have wonderful view toward river and overlooking snow covered mountains. Close to downtown within walking distance. Free parking. No smoking hotel. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Goldey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Goldey Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing