We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beausite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Beausite
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Hotel Beausite, Interlaken from 1st October to 14th October 2013. We felt totally at home during our stay and the entire staff treated us like family. Every day the reception staff (Ivonne, Sabastian and Brigette) would gave us directions to the desired place of our visit including print outs of travel mode/schedule. They even helped us in booking tours desired by us to Europa Park from Basel (highlight of our trip) and Black Forest tour from Zurich. One can enjoy all cities of Switzerland by staying at Interlaken, the most beautiful city. All you need is a Swiss Saver Pass for the number of days of your visit. The pass covers all travel by Trains, Bus, Boats, Cable Cars at many places and entry to many Museums/ Palaces. No major city is more than 1-2 hours of train travel away.

The hotel is just 4 - 5 minutes of beautiful walk from Interlaken West Station and one does not require any taxi to tow the baggage to hotel. Or if you are tired, you can take bus no. 21 from the station which stops right in front of the hotel (this bus stop is named as ‘Unterseen’ and is just next halt from station). The hotel is overlooking beautiful mountains and is in a sparsely populated area. The market and the city area too are only 5-6 minutes of walking distance.

Coming back to the hotel, the breakfast is unmatched in 3 star hotel category. Though the hotel promises only cold cuts, there are number of hot entries including 3 items in vegetarian category (viz. steamed rice, mixed vegetable curry and noodles soup), eggs (boiled and scrambled), milk, juices, cheese and salads, cold cuts of meats, variety of corn flakes, variety of breads, butter, jams and Fruit Salad. The Sunday breakfast (they call it brunch) is sumptuous with additional Rosittee, hot sausages and red kidney beans curry, cold salmon, Apple struddle (2 kinds), variety of drinks and wines. Breakfast review without the mention of Marta and Antonio, very hard working and pleasing staff, would be incomplete.

One thing which no other hotel does as included in room rates is afternoon coffee, tea and cake pieces from 2 to 6 pm, which is very refreshing after a tiring but enjoyable day, before going back to the room.

The rooms are good sized with modern bathrooms and tea/ coffee maker, with good housekeeping. The bed mattresses have divided opinion. While my wife, with chronic back problem, liked them, I found these were too soft and had space between the two mattresses on the king sized beds. Well, it’s a small negative thing to mention and would not limit my visits many more times to this hotel.

The garden of the hotel too is very interesting with trees of Hazelnut and Walnut. One can spend several hours by just sitting in the garden and enjoying flora and fauna. They have pretty cockatoos (birds) and rabbits too for the guest’s pleasure.

The entire credit finally goes to Max Ritter, the owner of this hotel. We had very small but very significant interaction with him. My wife had some injury in the foot and requested reception if they had Band Aid. Mr. Max, whom we did not recognize, heard me and went out of the way to get me all the first aid kit from his personal office chest and asked us to keep the kit till we needed it. This was a big help to my wife who could continue her day trips without any problem. We had also wished to see Imi, wife of Max but they had a baby only 3 months back and Imi was with her parents at Germany. Maybe next time we will get to meet her. In short, this hotel is a home away from home, specially for Indians, who are normally a mix of vegetarian and non-vegetarian individuals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PKSinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear PKSinghal,
thank you very much for your recent visit and your very kind and detailed review.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope your wife has recovered well.
Please do come back and don't forget to keep on spreading the word about the Beausite.
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    233
    45
    11
    15
See reviews for
190
313
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Beausite in Interlaken in October 2013 and it was the best place I stayed during my 8 nights in Europe. We only stayed there one night but wished we had stayed longer. We had four people so they put us in a double adjoining room, which was very spacious and perfect for a group of four. We arrived early and our room was ready. The staff was wonderful and everybody we met was very helpful. They had free parking and wifi which was great for our family. During the afternoon they have tea and cake (the cake is so wonderful). We unfortunately didn't get to enjoy the breakfast in the morning as we took the early train up the Jungfrauoch but they did have out some croissants and tea, coffee, and hot cocoa. The rooms were wonderfully clean. Can't say enough great things about this hotel. Felt like we had a 2 bedroom suite - definitely recommend for families. Will come back here one day soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Aaron G,
Thank you for your recent visit and the very kind review.
We are happy to read that you have had a good time and plan on returning sometime soon.
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from a stay at this hotel and after 30 Years of repeat visits, sometimes for more than once a year, we still look forward to our time here.We are always very well looked after by the staff and hosts Max & Imi as we were by their parents before. This hotel is very comfortable with beautiful rooms and fantastic views of the Jungfrau. We are now looking forward to our next stay here in March 2014.

Room Tip: For views of the Jungfrau Mountain choose front rooms For rooms overlooking the pretty garden choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamAlanwilson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Pam,
Thank you very much for your visit and kind review of the Beausite.
Be are happy to read that we fill our Parents shoes ;-)
We are also looking forward to your next visit in spring!
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Hotel was very comfortable. As I was travelling with my kids,11 yrs and 6 yrs, they gave us double room interconnected. The blankets and pillows were good enough. The hotel is located at 5 min walking from railway station. Restaurants and shops were also nearby. Staffs of the hotel were very friendly and cooperative. Breakfast was very nice. They also offer afternoon tea coffee with cake which was really yummy. We also got a free blue card from reception for free public transport within the town and at the end of the journey of interlaken, we got a gift from the shop shown at the back side of the card by showing them that card.

Room Tip: Rooms of roadside give nice view of alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preeti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Preeti K,
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to review us.
Please do come back and keep on recommending us to friends and family.
kindest regards,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

It is hard to fault this hotel. Stayed here many years ago and vowed to return. Glad we did. Our room was large and had views of the mountains. Uk TV was a boon when England game was being played! Good bathroom with powerful shower. Lots of nice touches too. Free coffee and cake supplied in the lounge during the afternoons and a daily news letter on the breakfast table containing weather forecast etc. Staff helpful and friendly without exception. Good food available in the restaurant. As others have said, they do produce an appetising and comprehensive spread for breakfast. Warm, friendly and welcoming, this place has something special! Thoroughly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Ian S,
we are glad to read that your return to the Beausite kept up with your previous expectation.
Thanks for staying with us again and for taking the time to write about it.
Please do come back!
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with family for 1 night only, but stay was very pleasant. Beautiful hotel in beautiful place, very near to near by places, 3-5 min walk. Interlaken West train station is near too. Parking is also available at the hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful, all speaks English.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KMAOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear KMAOmar,
thank you very much for your stay with us and for taking the time to write.
we are happy to read that you have enjoyed and hope you will keep on telling friends and family about us.
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hotel itself was older but mostly comfortable. Room was a very good size and included one double bed (two twins pushed together) a single bed. The blankets and pillows were nice enough but the sheets I’m guessing were of extremely low thread count because they were quite rough. The shower curtain could use a good washing as the bottom hem had mold and our sinks were very slow to drain. Given the price of the rooms, there should be a little more attention to details like this.

Breakfast was served as a buffet and was done quite well. There were traditional European foods and we were especially pleased to see crispy bacon and properly cooked scrambled eggs, which we were not finding at other hotels we stayed at during this trip. The Sunday Brunch was also quite nice with additional food item. The breakfasts here at the Hotel Beausite were far better than any other hotel breakfast on this trip. The hotel also offered an afternoon tea and dinner, but we were out exploring during the day and did not have a chance to try either of these.

There was no A/C in the room but we were able to open windows for cooler air to make it pleasant in the room. In the mornings we had welcoming greetings by the local roosters.

Reception staff members were all very nice. They provided us with detail on breakfast, afternoon tea and tickets to use the public transportation in Interlaken for free.

There was ample free parking for the car. WiFi was free and had a good signal in our room, best we have during our trip. The hotel was within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The location of the hotel was perfect for us to take various day trips to see various sites in Switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CO719_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear CO719_Traveler,
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Interlaken and for taking the time to review us.
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your time at the Beausite and look forward to having you back.
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beausite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beausite

Property: Hotel Beausite
Address: Seestrasse 16, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beausite 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Beausite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beausite Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing