We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful Staff”
Review of Hotel Beausite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beausite
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I don't have much to add to the reviews below, which proved accurate during our stay - great hotel that is easy on the frills but meets all your needs and expectations. I just wanted to emphasize the helpfulness of the reception desk staff who provided great, detailed advice to us on where to go and what to do, even checking weather reports, train times, and so on. Having inside information like that can multiply the value of your money as you can do more of what you want to do, when you want to do it.

I guess I should also add that the breakfast was the best of the 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Switzerland (even though this was he cheapest of the hotels). It included hot food both Western and Eastern style. Finally, the hot chocolate from their hot drink machine was amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senegeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Senegeser,
thank you very much for visiting us and for taking the time to review our Hotel.
We are very happy to read that our greatest asset (our Team) made a good impression.
Please come back!
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    241
    45
    11
    15
See reviews for
197
333
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with husbands for leisure. We wanted to snowshoe and explore Interlaken and Grindelwald.

The total cost for a regular room with breakfast, for two nights, was 305.80 CHF.

The room had a lovely view of the mountains. The bed was comfortable. The wood floor was nice. I'm always wary of carpeting because one doesn't know how many dust mites can hide, and I like the simplicity of a wood floor. The furnishings were basic but adequate-- the room had wood furnishings that matched the feel of Interlaken.

There was an afternoon coffee/tea and dessert break, complimentary for guests, which was a nice touch.

We could walk to the Interlaken West train station in 5 minutes.

The only downside is that the downstairs occupants were bothered by us walking around. We stayed on the top floor, and had a restful, quiet stay. But perhaps because there is no carpeting, or thin walls, the downstairs occupants used some kind of pole to bang loudly on our floor, indicating that they could hear us. My husband was in bed reading; I was quietly packing up our belongings of the following day's departure. I couldn't understand what I was doing wrong; I think it's just a matter of inadequate sound proofing.

Room and bathroom were very clean. Bathroom shampoo and body wash were in an environmentally friendly squeeze container-- the orange scent was refreshing.

This is a great deal for those on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Lea A,
thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to review us.
We are terribly sorry to hear about the inconvenience with your neighbors.
We are glad however that that did not spoil your trip and we look forward to having you back.
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I've stayed in interlaken many times and I prefer the west side as it is a bit quieter than the east. But this is the first time I've stayed and hotel beau site. Hotel is nice and quaint. An easy walk from the interlaken west train station.

The staff was great and helpful.

The problems came with our room. #2 this room is situated near the stairs, reception and the entrance. You will hear every footstep, every patron entry or exit, everyone going up or down the stairs. I couldn't believe how loud it was. And I sleep well.

I think if you were in a room at the end of the hall you would have a completely different experience. But anything near the entrance is loud. Couple that with some Chinese nationals that lack volume control and you may end up with sleepless nights.

We stayed here 3 nights. Other than the noise near this room it was hard to complain about anything else. Staff, breakfast and location is good. The rooms are spacious and the views to the front are great.

One last thing - the mini bar is empty. You have to use the bar downstairs. Which we felt was weird. Plenty of English channels on tv. Which was nice.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBrendanDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear symbolphoto,
Thank you very much for your visit and your comments.
It's a shame you did not let us know about your problem with the noise. there would have been a multitude of things we could have done to help you. Such as closing the fire door in your a hall or moving you to a entirely different room.
It is always a good idea to let the hotel know of your discomfort while they can still do something about it.
Our minibars are empty because most of our guest prefer to shop for their on food and beverage and are glad for a place to store it.
Thanks for your stay and your comments. We will make sure to have a quiet room ready for your return.
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed 4 nights here in October. It's an easy 5 minutes walk from Interlaken West station, very easy to manage, even when dragging large suitcases! We arrived early, and left our bags while exploring. When we came back, we were very pleasantly surprised to find that we had been upgraded. The reception staff were most helpful at all times.

Our twin share room on the top floor was fantastic - very spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was also very clean and spacious. The view from our windows of the Alps was magical. As we are from Australia, it was fantastic each day to look out at the snow.

Breakfast was very good and every afternoon you could have coffee and cake at no extra charge. They also do a brunch on Sundays, but as we were going up to the Alps that day we couldn't take advantage of this great offer, but we saw them setting up the food and it looked terrific.

Interlaken is a good place to stay explore the Alps and the lakes and various scenic places nearby. It's very central to many places of interest and easy to get to and from on the train.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay in Interlaken

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain views - really spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller6519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear traveller6519,
Thnak you very much for making us your home in Interlaken.
We are glad to read that you have had a great time and hope you will return soon.
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Having read all the wonderful reviews on tripadvisor regarding this hotel, we made a reservation. This hotel actually exceeded our expectations, and they were high.
The defining thing that makes this hotel different to all the rest is the service from the reception staff. All of the reception staff go out of their way to ensure your stay in Interlaken is wonderful, and that you are comfortable in their hotel.
The hotel rooms are spacious and clean, and the views from them are picturesque. Perhaps the TVs could be updated. Also, note that on the lower floors you will hear the footsteps of the guests above you as the hotel has installed wooden floors on the higher floors. The breakfast is enjoyable with a wide selection offered.
The location is a little off the beaten track and a 5-10 minute walk from the Interlaken West train station, but buses service this area frequently.
This hotel is great value!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank h0lidaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear h0lidaysun,
Thank you very much for your visit to the Beausite and for writing this kind review.
It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
We hope you will come back one day!
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Hotel Beausite, Interlaken from 1st October to 14th October 2013. We felt totally at home during our stay and the entire staff treated us like family. Every day the reception staff (Ivonne, Sabastian and Brigette) would gave us directions to the desired place of our visit including print outs of travel mode/schedule. They even helped us in booking tours desired by us to Europa Park from Basel (highlight of our trip) and Black Forest tour from Zurich. One can enjoy all cities of Switzerland by staying at Interlaken, the most beautiful city. All you need is a Swiss Saver Pass for the number of days of your visit. The pass covers all travel by Trains, Bus, Boats, Cable Cars at many places and entry to many Museums/ Palaces. No major city is more than 1-2 hours of train travel away.

The hotel is just 4 - 5 minutes of beautiful walk from Interlaken West Station and one does not require any taxi to tow the baggage to hotel. Or if you are tired, you can take bus no. 21 from the station which stops right in front of the hotel (this bus stop is named as ‘Unterseen’ and is just next halt from station). The hotel is overlooking beautiful mountains and is in a sparsely populated area. The market and the city area too are only 5-6 minutes of walking distance.

Coming back to the hotel, the breakfast is unmatched in 3 star hotel category. Though the hotel promises only cold cuts, there are number of hot entries including 3 items in vegetarian category (viz. steamed rice, mixed vegetable curry and noodles soup), eggs (boiled and scrambled), milk, juices, cheese and salads, cold cuts of meats, variety of corn flakes, variety of breads, butter, jams and Fruit Salad. The Sunday breakfast (they call it brunch) is sumptuous with additional Rosittee, hot sausages and red kidney beans curry, cold salmon, Apple struddle (2 kinds), variety of drinks and wines. Breakfast review without the mention of Marta and Antonio, very hard working and pleasing staff, would be incomplete.

One thing which no other hotel does as included in room rates is afternoon coffee, tea and cake pieces from 2 to 6 pm, which is very refreshing after a tiring but enjoyable day, before going back to the room.

The rooms are good sized with modern bathrooms and tea/ coffee maker, with good housekeeping. The bed mattresses have divided opinion. While my wife, with chronic back problem, liked them, I found these were too soft and had space between the two mattresses on the king sized beds. Well, it’s a small negative thing to mention and would not limit my visits many more times to this hotel.

The garden of the hotel too is very interesting with trees of Hazelnut and Walnut. One can spend several hours by just sitting in the garden and enjoying flora and fauna. They have pretty cockatoos (birds) and rabbits too for the guest’s pleasure.

The entire credit finally goes to Max Ritter, the owner of this hotel. We had very small but very significant interaction with him. My wife had some injury in the foot and requested reception if they had Band Aid. Mr. Max, whom we did not recognize, heard me and went out of the way to get me all the first aid kit from his personal office chest and asked us to keep the kit till we needed it. This was a big help to my wife who could continue her day trips without any problem. We had also wished to see Imi, wife of Max but they had a baby only 3 months back and Imi was with her parents at Germany. Maybe next time we will get to meet her. In short, this hotel is a home away from home, specially for Indians, who are normally a mix of vegetarian and non-vegetarian individuals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PKSinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear PKSinghal,
thank you very much for your recent visit and your very kind and detailed review.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope your wife has recovered well.
Please do come back and don't forget to keep on spreading the word about the Beausite.
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Beausite in Interlaken in October 2013 and it was the best place I stayed during my 8 nights in Europe. We only stayed there one night but wished we had stayed longer. We had four people so they put us in a double adjoining room, which was very spacious and perfect for a group of four. We arrived early and our room was ready. The staff was wonderful and everybody we met was very helpful. They had free parking and wifi which was great for our family. During the afternoon they have tea and cake (the cake is so wonderful). We unfortunately didn't get to enjoy the breakfast in the morning as we took the early train up the Jungfrauoch but they did have out some croissants and tea, coffee, and hot cocoa. The rooms were wonderfully clean. Can't say enough great things about this hotel. Felt like we had a 2 bedroom suite - definitely recommend for families. Will come back here one day soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Aaron G,
Thank you for your recent visit and the very kind review.
We are happy to read that you have had a good time and plan on returning sometime soon.
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#19 of 40 in Interlaken
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beausite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beausite

Property: Hotel Beausite
Address: Seestrasse 16, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beausite 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Beausite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beausite Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing