We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Central Continental
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience!!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Central continental hotel is just 1 minute walk from Interlaken west station.
This is the only one good quality this hotel has...
I had a 5 nights stay in this hotel....
The worst experience of my life....
This hotel has no service at all...
No potors to carry luggage up the staircase to enter hotel.
They do not believe in hospitality.....
Very rude at reception.
Over all a very very bad experience....


  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amit2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    55
    48
    24
    41
See reviews for
65
64
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We went along for one night to Interlaken and found a room at this hotel. It was issue after issue:
1. Hotel stall were very lackadaisical and totally unprofessional upon check in. They didn't even bother to ask for ID.
2. Our room was really old. In fact the whole hotel is very old. The phone didn't even work - we couldn't call reception.
3. Our neighbors were having party next door while we were trying to sleep at 11pm and they had so much smelly cooked food in the room. We asked them once to keep the noise down and eventually had to go to the management. The entire floor stank of fried food.
4. Breakfast was awful. Buffet trays empty, scrambled eggs old, dry and cold, fruit overripe and rotty, boiled eggs off, and the best - a dead ant in the jam.
5. Upon check out, same blasé attitude of the staff. Like a family joint and no one could be bothered to talk to us like guests. Awful.

The entire attitude of the place is terrible. And for such a hot tourist destination this place gives the wrong impression of Swiss hospitality. Never going there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BushBoytjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unterseen hotels

Boston, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a good hotel as far as location is concerned. We could see the train Station from the balcony of our room. In short it was barely 200 yards from the hotel. The hotel is an old building with no modern day card keys, instead we had regular keys with a bulky key chain. The reception staff was quite helpful but appeared to be more casual in their appearance rather than a professional look. The breakfast was again okay. The only good thing about this hotel was the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Positives-

-Location is excellent. Not just where it is in the town but also where the hotel is placed - right between a beautifully blue river. Every room (I think) will have some sort of view of the river.
-Plenty of shops near (but not too near) the hotel. Restaurants, bars etc.
-My room had a large window that opened fully. This allowed me to listen to the sounds of the town outside and sit by the window just watching people walk/sail by (I was on the second floor)
-Hotel staff were all very friendly
-On site parking
-Bed was comfortable and room had all the facilities you need for a short stay.
-Breakfast area was nice (overlooking the river) and the food was good.
-We arrived quite late but the lady on reception was very helpful in finding us a parking space in the basement.

Negatives-

-My room had a rather noticeable smell of cigarette smoke. Not sure if that's the norm or if the previous occupants had smoked. Left the window open for ages but it didn't shift the stench.
-Room was pretty small so if you like your space you may be disappointed. In saying that, the space was fine for me and was as big as I needed.
-Parking was tight down in the basement. Again, fine by me but if you're not a confident driver you will struggle. Staff were very helpful in finding us a space though, so I'm sure they would help you if required.

All in all, the only thing that would make me think twice about staying here again is the small of smoke in my room. Other than that, great location and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Best of this hotel: just a walk away from Railway Station and the market and offers a good view of the river infront. Thats it. The worst part: the lobby was horrible and stinky. Rooms were like a hostel room. To add to this, there was a adult club (well I am not 100% sure) located at the basement nicely advertised in the elevator. The lady at the reception, staff at the restaurant were rude. I would call it a old hostel and not a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaish23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Positives:
- The hotel is literally 1 minute walk from the Interlaken West.
- The rooms are clean and neat.
- The bed and linings were very comfy.
- The view from the windows is amazing.

Negatives
- A bit expensive, as all hotels in Switzerland though.
- The breakfast was horrible. No yoghurt, just milk; no oats, just sugary cereals; no honey, just refined sugar. Coffee looked horrible and I didn't dare tasting the cheese and the ham as they looked like coloured plastic sticks.
- The cleaning staff were extremely noisy in the corridors very early in the morning shouting at each other.
- The room maids would knock insistently at 8am one day and 9am the other to clean the room. We found it a bit too early and annoying.
- All staff was always angry at each other and swearing (I speak Italian and Portuguese and these were the languages I heard during my stay so I could understand they were cursing one to the other - not very nice in front of guests).

Okay, not great review, but I would go back as in the end is the most convenient (price and location) place in the area.

Just a note about the night club: my boyfriend and I were almost tempted to go and have a laugh! The ads outside with semi naked women looked from the 80s and we could hear the cheesy music coming up from the hole of the lift. We found this sooo funny!

In any case, you cannot hear anything in the rooms. The hotel and the night club looked like completely two different businesses in the end.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had a pleasant stay. Room was well maintained and the view from the balcony was nice. Lady at the reception was very helpful. We were apprehensive of the nightclub downstairs but did not have any trouble during our stay. Breakfast was decent and the train station was across the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pshankarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#19 of 40 in Interlaken
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#22 of 40 in Interlaken
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Continental

Property: Hotel Central Continental
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 43, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken is an international holiday resort famous for its glamour and social character. The Central Continental Hotel, located in a unique setting on the bank of the Aare River, a mere hundred yards from the Interlaken-West train station and the boat landing station, is also very elegant and of a high standard, and is situated within easy reach of all neighbouring mountain track and cable railways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Continental Hotel
Central Continental Interlaken
Hotel Central Continental Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing