We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A roof over your head”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Central Continental
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Unterseen
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel was once quite grand. It is situated within a 5 minute walk of the train station. As well it has a lovely view of the canal and surrounding mountains.
Upon entering the hotel it smells of cigarettes, the furnishings and rugs are thread bare and dirty. The counter is banged up. The elevator works but smells of cigarette smoke. Our room was on the 2nd floor. The hallway walls were dirty with hand marks. Many of the doors had patches. They didn't bother to paint the whole door, but various patches.
The beds were terrible - had to roll uphill. The bathroom had linoleum on the floors and walls. The seams had come unglued and black mould was evident in several areas of the bathroom. Oh the toilet ran continually.
Someone tried to open our hotel room door one night. That person then moved their way down the hall trying other doors.
Breakfast was fine. The fresh buns were delicious.
Interlaken is very expensive. If all you need is a roof over your head this will suffice. It will make the next hotel you stay in after this look and smell like the Ritz.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadian_traveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel's rooms have a nice view. The rooms are clean. Our room was large enough. But the staff starts cleaning very early and they were so noisy. They can be more carefull about the noise. Except this I liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatil26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Central continental hotel is just 1 minute walk from Interlaken west station.
This is the only one good quality this hotel has...
I had a 5 nights stay in this hotel....
The worst experience of my life....
This hotel has no service at all...
No potors to carry luggage up the staircase to enter hotel.
They do not believe in hospitality.....
Very rude at reception.
Over all a very very bad experience....


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amit2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We went along for one night to Interlaken and found a room at this hotel. It was issue after issue:
1. Hotel stall were very lackadaisical and totally unprofessional upon check in. They didn't even bother to ask for ID.
2. Our room was really old. In fact the whole hotel is very old. The phone didn't even work - we couldn't call reception.
3. Our neighbors were having party next door while we were trying to sleep at 11pm and they had so much smelly cooked food in the room. We asked them once to keep the noise down and eventually had to go to the management. The entire floor stank of fried food.
4. Breakfast was awful. Buffet trays empty, scrambled eggs old, dry and cold, fruit overripe and rotty, boiled eggs off, and the best - a dead ant in the jam.
5. Upon check out, same blasé attitude of the staff. Like a family joint and no one could be bothered to talk to us like guests. Awful.

The entire attitude of the place is terrible. And for such a hot tourist destination this place gives the wrong impression of Swiss hospitality. Never going there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BushBoytjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a good hotel as far as location is concerned. We could see the train Station from the balcony of our room. In short it was barely 200 yards from the hotel. The hotel is an old building with no modern day card keys, instead we had regular keys with a bulky key chain. The reception staff was quite helpful but appeared to be more casual in their appearance rather than a professional look. The breakfast was again okay. The only good thing about this hotel was the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RNPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Positives-

-Location is excellent. Not just where it is in the town but also where the hotel is placed - right between a beautifully blue river. Every room (I think) will have some sort of view of the river.
-Plenty of shops near (but not too near) the hotel. Restaurants, bars etc.
-My room had a large window that opened fully. This allowed me to listen to the sounds of the town outside and sit by the window just watching people walk/sail by (I was on the second floor)
-Hotel staff were all very friendly
-On site parking
-Bed was comfortable and room had all the facilities you need for a short stay.
-Breakfast area was nice (overlooking the river) and the food was good.
-We arrived quite late but the lady on reception was very helpful in finding us a parking space in the basement.

Negatives-

-My room had a rather noticeable smell of cigarette smoke. Not sure if that's the norm or if the previous occupants had smoked. Left the window open for ages but it didn't shift the stench.
-Room was pretty small so if you like your space you may be disappointed. In saying that, the space was fine for me and was as big as I needed.
-Parking was tight down in the basement. Again, fine by me but if you're not a confident driver you will struggle. Staff were very helpful in finding us a space though, so I'm sure they would help you if required.

All in all, the only thing that would make me think twice about staying here again is the small of smoke in my room. Other than that, great location and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Best of this hotel: just a walk away from Railway Station and the market and offers a good view of the river infront. Thats it. The worst part: the lobby was horrible and stinky. Rooms were like a hostel room. To add to this, there was a adult club (well I am not 100% sure) located at the basement nicely advertised in the elevator. The lady at the reception, staff at the restaurant were rude. I would call it a old hostel and not a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaish23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#17 of 39 in Interlaken
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 39 in Interlaken
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 39 in Interlaken
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Continental

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 43, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range: £85 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken is an international holiday resort famous for its glamour and social character. The Central Continental Hotel, located in a unique setting on the bank of the Aare River, a mere hundred yards from the Interlaken-West train station and the boat landing station, is also very elegant and of a high standard, and is situated within easy reach of all neighbouring mountain track and cable railways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Central Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Continental Hotel
Central Continental Interlaken
Hotel Central Continental Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing