We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with a great scenic view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Central Continental
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Ahmedabad
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with a great scenic view”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This hotel is bang opposite hotel Interlaken West station, hence very convinient. Starting with a small drawback, you will have to climb some stairs to reach the lobby level. So, it might be quite a task for people with lots of luggage. The reception area and the lobby level is very well maintained and has a nice decorum. The waiting and sitting area at the lobby level is also huge and has a big LCD screen, which makes waiting pleasant. The room size is also nice. We got a room from which we could view the lake as well as Interlaken West station. The view from this room was breath taking. The rooftop garden is also very good, offering a great scenic view. The courtsey of the staff at reception was average. THe restaurant and bar are quite good, serving some great specialities. Overall, based on beautiful and accessable location, the hotel is very good

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhuvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    55
    49
    24
    43
See reviews for
65
67
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Stayed for days and while the location is probably one of the best in interlaken, especially if you get a room with the balcony facing the river, the staff of the hotel really take out all the fun from the experience. Shockingly rude, these guys behave as if they do not want ANY guest to come and stay with them. Forget 3 star services, they are terrible at providing even the morning breakfast. If you 'dare' ask them for anything... (and its literally a dare because of their filthy attitude) they will give a curt 'no' for an answer. They will refuse things even if they have them. It looks the owner and his ol'lady don't want any one coming in. Me and wife are not the very demanding the types from hotels... but in this hotel you need not be demanding and they will still let you down. There was nothing in the room except a bed. No soap in the bathrooms, no glasses.... abosolutely nothing else. AVOID this hotel.... stay away... run from it.....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK_traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unterseen hotels

Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

My family and I were intially booked at Hotel Rossli, but we got moved to Hotel Central Continental after they said they were overbooked. Maybe one of the rooms was a bit bigger than average but it also came with a terrible moldy smell filling the entire above average space. There were absolutely no amenities inside the room besides a small desk, no clocks, no brochure/info, nothing. I must say here that I'm really not that picky of a traveler, so it must have been bad for me to be displeased. I travelled around Iraq for a year sleeping in all sorts of conditions. Also adding to my irritation was that the place was tattered and old, not in a cute way. Service was also terrible as other reviews state. At the bar downstairs we were greeted with a sneer and no idea of how to make a drink or what type of liquors were even there from the bartender, who doubles as the breakfast staff in the morning. Breakfast wasn't as bad as other reviews made it out to be, just average european fare really.

Given the surrounding area, there are far better hotels all around. Even the hostel I stayed at was much better last time I was there. Take heed of the reviews and stay clear, it's not even that cheap to make it attractive. I would have rather taken my family to a hostel over that place. At least it would have been friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureMan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

It was a hillarious experience to stay in that hotel. It was very scary to stay as there was no1 stayin on fourth floor. The lady serving breakfast was weired. I wont suggest to people going on honeymoon to stay in that hotel. It is very old hotel it is not worth stayin for young generation. Elders may like this hotel as the room decor is of ancient type. I didnt had a good time stating in that hotel

  • Liked — Approach was near from the railway station
  • Disliked — I didint like anythng
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vickys77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I loved the location of the Continental. It was located literally a couple of minutes walk away from the train station. Upon my arrival I was greeted by a very unhelpful and uninterested staff. This was the only time, other than at checkout, that I really communicated with the staff. The rooms were small but very warm and cozy. They included all of the necessities. The breakfast buffet was served early enough for those of us who would be treking up the mountains, and was very filling. It was a nice hotel for the price. However, I was unimpressed with the service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recalled_to_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIA
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2009

hotel staff is rude, the house keeping awakes you at 8:30 and if you say that you are busy and sleeping and they may clean the room after an hr then they will say that they have to go offduty. you will keep searching and will not find a smile on anyone's face from the staff of this hotel. beds are bad and road in front of the hotel is under repair. There is a light of which is on all night and was aiming towards my room's balcony and was very much disturbing, we also complained to switch off this light but got a rude answer that we will not close it. through out my stay of 20 days in Switzerland with my family and friends, this was the worst hotel i stayed.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aman_electric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We booked this hotel based solely on the 3 star rating not realizing that it only rates the amenities the hotel offers, not the actual standard of the hotel.

The hotel in it's time was probably beautiful, but it has not been updated for many years and it appears shabby and neglected. We found the reception desk empty most of the time and when there was someone there they appeared to avoid eye contact with anyone coming or going. The lighting in the public areas was either very dim or non existent. Our hall had no lighting on either day or night, but a dim light would turn on when you walked past the sensor that was by the elevator. Needless to say when you left your room at night you were in complete darkness until you reached the elevator. We couldn't decide if the light bulbs were burned out or if they were trying to conserve energy.

The hotel was very conveniently located close to the station and main street with underground parking that they charge CHF 8/day. Our room was large, but again very shabby, with torn net curtains, chipped bathtub, mold in the bathroom and an odor that comes with old buildings. You can get an access code to the wireless internet for CHF 5 that you can use in the lobby.

We only tried the croissants and juice at breakfast and they were fine.

We went up to the rooftop garden which is again just a neglected space with dead plants and broken furniture - what a shame.

This hotel could be beautiful and a pleasure to stay in with a little tlc.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#22 of 40 in Interlaken
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Continental

Property: Hotel Central Continental
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 43, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken is an international holiday resort famous for its glamour and social character. The Central Continental Hotel, located in a unique setting on the bank of the Aare River, a mere hundred yards from the Interlaken-West train station and the boat landing station, is also very elegant and of a high standard, and is situated within easy reach of all neighbouring mountain track and cable railways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Central Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Continental Hotel
Central Continental Interlaken
Hotel Central Continental Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing