We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday experience at this Hotel”
Review of Hotel Chalet Swiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday experience at this Hotel”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed 7 nights, made very welcome and looked after with all our needs, more important the owner made time every day to help us plan our day trips out. The evening meals were fantastic and the continental breakfast was plentifull and just what you needed to start your days of adeventure in this beautiful country. The hotel provided tickets for the local trains and also free passes to travel in the area on bus or trains saving lots of money. I can highly recommend a stay at Hotel Chalet Swiss and the company of Rene and Fahri who looks after you in the evenings.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    58
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
49
69
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goa, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hotel has a very cozy feeling. We had 3 rooms and every room had a different flooring (Some wood, some carpet), different amenities in the bathrooms (Some with bath-tub, some without). Not sure if they have been renovating rooms 1 by 1 or its by choice that they have done it.
Location of the hotel is decent. Its a very serene locality and is very calm and quite at night. City centre is a 15 min walk but there is a bus-stop 2 mins from the hotel. The hotel provides you with a coupon that gives you free access to bus transport during your stay.
We were there during summer and there was neither an AC nor a table fan in the room. We really struggled the 1st night but the next 2 days it was better as there was heavy rainfall in the evening and everything was much cooler

The front office staff were very helpful in guiding us with sight-seeing and other details. I interected with 4 people in the front office, 3 of them were really sweet. 1 person was a bit of a snob though but i just ignored it.

The biggest disappointment for me was the breakfast. I was really surprised to see that they didnt have any egg preperation, not even a simple boiled egg. Basically, it was cold cuts and breads. Also, there was no free WIFI.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Jungfrau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikunaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed 5 days in hotel as base for doing rail tour of Switzerland. Clean, quiet, 10 minutes walk from downtown and from the dairy farms! Breakfast was crowded and basic cold continental type. Weird security system with keys but it seems to work. Caters to lot of overnight Asian tour bus groups so seems to be always busy.Roses in front were pretty as was the cow! Go left and you are to downtown and railroad station. Go right and you can visit the local dairy farms and actually buy cheese from a farm's vending machine. This is a super safe country with a super low crime rate. I never felt uncomfortable in Switzerland. Hotel needs updating.

Room Tip: Front rooms give a wonderful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barryjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I have been using this hotel over the past 22 years. Though only a 3 star hotel, you feel like being in a 4 star environment. The staff are great, and the Mgr owner Herr Klopfer and his wife are the perfect hosts, always ready to advise and offer help to their guests. A hotel where you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend! The location for trips to the Jungfrau region, Grindelwald and both the lakes of Thun or Brienz are all in the immediate area and easily reachable. Chalet Swiss is just that, a lovely chalet style hotel, go see it for yourself!

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the old part if possible, they present the best views up to the Jungfrau Joch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnotlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Another two weeks of delight despite some mixed weather. The older part of the hotel is authentically Swiss with great character and some rooms on the front have a perfect view of the Jungfrau. The shower/toilet room is kept impeccably clean.
Meals are simple but well cooked and presented often with a local flavour.
The hotel is well located and is only a 10 min walk to the Interlaken West station. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel. Local transport on bus and train is free.
The very best feature of the hotel however is the staff competent,efficient and always helpful.
It is certainly the friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Lovely helpful staff who suggested activities and places to see and the routes to take, not only for our time in Interlaken but for the rest of our Swiss holiday. We were informed of which roads were closed this time of year which proved incredibly useful.

It was an average hotel in terms of the rooms and the breakfast, but for the cost I hadn't expected anything more. The view from the room watching the sunset, however, was fantastic.

The sauna and hot tub were a nice touch after long days.

I've stayed here twice now, and would certainly visit back should I find myself in Interlaken again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdaptiveSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hotel Chalet Swiss has a great location, within walking distance of Interlaken West Railway Station.
Extremely helpful front desk.
Our Triple room was a little weather-beaten & can do with a lot of refurbishing.
Triple rooms difficult for the elderly to move around due to wooden stairs, a little difficult to handle for senior citizen.
Limited breakfast.
Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavaidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#20 of 40 in Interlaken
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Swiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Swiss

Property: Hotel Chalet Swiss
Address: Seestrasse 22, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Comfort Hotel Chalet Swiss)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Swiss 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chalet Swiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chalet Swiss Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing