We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel in beautiful Interlaken.”
Review of Hotel Chalet Swiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Ureterp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average hotel in beautiful Interlaken.”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet location, yet only 10 minutes for the trainstation West and the city center. Not luxurious but nice athmosphere if you like wood. Friendly staff, glad to give advice. Very clean, great beds. Rooms were a bit noisy, wooden walls do not help for keeping out sound! Breakfast is very basic (what there was was of fine quality, enough bread, cereal, yogurt, cheese and meat) against hefty supplement you could get extra's like egg, toast etc. The price for two nights was huge, due to the bad euro swiss frank exchange rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freek Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    54
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
42
65
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here with a group for a ski trip. The hotel is not in the best location in town or for skiing. It takes 1-1.5 hours to get to the slopes on the ski bus with the stops. It's also not very center in Interlaken itself.

The breakfasts and dinners weren't great either. It's 4 SF for a coffee if you get it at dinner vs out of the same machine at breakfast which is included in the price. It's all very lackluster.

The staff was also mixed. We had some really rude comments and also nice experiences. So it was hard to know if it was a cultural thing or not.

Internet is 2 SF/hr on your own device.

The beds are horribly uncomfortable. The walls and floors are also VERY thin. You can hear your neighbors walking, talking and snoring.

Bottom line- stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBroyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

1. Small hotel free of hustle and bustle: Calm, peaceful surroundings with a view of Alps on one side and city on the other. Looks amazing during snow season. See it as a B&B for good experience. 3.5/5
2. Location: 5-7 minutes walk away from Interlaken city market. Only 3-5 minutes to Railway station. 3.5/5
3. Rooms: Spacious enough, clean carpeted. 24 hours continuous hot water supply with a bathtub is a steal. Heating system is perfect. TV has total 30 European + Few international channels (But none from India!). Lighting surprisingly excellent in rooms and bathroom. Small balcony with a view on 2nd floor rooms(Annexe) is a bliss. 2nd floor rooms are duplex with bed on each floor. Absence of Tea/coffee maker is the only missing part of a good complete room. 3.5/5
4. Food: Being a B&B type property, one expects a good variety breakfast. But it runs short on several accounts: All breakfast is sadly cold/ chilled with limited choice. 1.5/5
5. Other facilities: Not much. Though i didn't check out their sauna due to paucity of time. Nothing for kids and elderly. A small bar seemed adequate according to a co-traveler. Staff is quite polite and receptive. Website pics are true and real. 2/5
Overall 3/5 (provided you take it as a B&B property)

Room Tip: Look for family room in Annexe 2nd floor towards outer corners (even if you are a couple without kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docvivekjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

A hotel just 5 minutes from the rly stn. the reception staff speaks good english and are a real help in guiding through the city and its experience. The roooms are really comfortable and big. The bathroom has good towels and hot water. The restaurant they guided us to was really good. The breakfast is typically swiss with things in abundance. The umbrellas are available or the bad weather. The restaurant they run is availbale for only four days in a wk. the provision of free wi-fi in the rooms or the atleast the common areas will be an extra jewel in the crown.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chawlasushil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Big room and nice location, however very rude staff and quality of room and bathroom is not good...breakfast quality is also not good...there was leakage in the room and the middle-age lady on the front desk was horrible to talk to...making sarcastic comments on whatever I said and would make sure that she spoil your day if you talk to her in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed 7 nights, made very welcome and looked after with all our needs, more important the owner made time every day to help us plan our day trips out. The evening meals were fantastic and the continental breakfast was plentifull and just what you needed to start your days of adeventure in this beautiful country. The hotel provided tickets for the local trains and also free passes to travel in the area on bus or trains saving lots of money. I can highly recommend a stay at Hotel Chalet Swiss and the company of Rene and Fahri who looks after you in the evenings.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hotel has a very cozy feeling. We had 3 rooms and every room had a different flooring (Some wood, some carpet), different amenities in the bathrooms (Some with bath-tub, some without). Not sure if they have been renovating rooms 1 by 1 or its by choice that they have done it.
Location of the hotel is decent. Its a very serene locality and is very calm and quite at night. City centre is a 15 min walk but there is a bus-stop 2 mins from the hotel. The hotel provides you with a coupon that gives you free access to bus transport during your stay.
We were there during summer and there was neither an AC nor a table fan in the room. We really struggled the 1st night but the next 2 days it was better as there was heavy rainfall in the evening and everything was much cooler

The front office staff were very helpful in guiding us with sight-seeing and other details. I interected with 4 people in the front office, 3 of them were really sweet. 1 person was a bit of a snob though but i just ignored it.

The biggest disappointment for me was the breakfast. I was really surprised to see that they didnt have any egg preperation, not even a simple boiled egg. Basically, it was cold cuts and breads. Also, there was no free WIFI.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Jungfrau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikunaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#23 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#15 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Swiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Swiss

Property: Hotel Chalet Swiss
Address: Seestrasse 22, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Comfort Hotel Chalet Swiss)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Swiss 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chalet Swiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chalet Swiss Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing