We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, clean rooms, but basic”
Review of Hotel Chalet Swiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a nice hotel, only 5mins walk from the train station and has beautiful views of the mountains from the front of the hotel.

The room I had was at the back of the hotel and did not have the nice view of the mountains, not a huge issue. Everything was clean, just a little dated. The shower was at a fixed height of about 5ft, not ideal for someone 6'1" but I managed!

The breakfast was of continental style and was great and the staff were fantastically helpful and friendly, even when we arrived at midnight to check in.

Overall a pleasant stay, and you don't go to Interlaken to stay in the room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, better views but you will be nearer the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Fantastic family-run Swiss Chalet.
Clean comfortable character rooms.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Easy access by foot to buses and railway station.
Great self-service buffet breakfast.
Very clean sauna and jacuzzi for guest use (clean towels at hand beside the jacuzzi ) - we used it every day!
Amazing view of the Eiger mountain from our bedroom window and balcony... beautiful window -boxes of flowers : )
Easy to use lift to access each floor if needed - we used it to take our cases in and out, also when we had enjoyed a busy day out and returned tired.
Great days out included: Jungfrauroch - amazing views of glaciers and my 13 year old enjoyed sledging in the 'Snow Fun' area .... the next day we swam in Lake Thun and the open- air pools (lidos) at the 'Strandbad' in 30 degree + sunshine ! The railways and buses are so efficient and the mountain railways have amazing views.
Thank you to Rene and Therese for an amazing holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

The guy on the reception was very grumpy, the hotel is quite old so as you walk in your room you can hear a quirky sound and if that happens the reception guy comes up to your room to tell you to walk slowly!!! And no free wifi, makes money for everthing ,even for hard boiled eggs you have to pay and it was not there in the buffet, lift is absolutely slow , the staff is really rude feels like they r doing a favor on you, could not provide a room on the same floor as we were with family even after a req and if they did they charged even for that, nothing is close by to this hotel, only go if there is no hotel available in the whole of interlaken.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sanachowdhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful 5 night stay here for our 20th wedding anniversary. We were made so welcome. Marianne was so helpful and gave us ideas every day for our days out. It was like having our own tour guide! The boss had arranged a bottle of champagne for us in the bar. It was extremely quiet while we were there so felt we had the run of the hotel. Would definitely stay again. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sammy67Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This was my third visit to the Chalet Swiss. It is in a fine position ten minutes from west station and has a local bus every half hour during the day.

The staff really try and help, the hotel is very clean and warm in the winter . Breakfast is not a wide choice but amble and of good quality

If you want a gym and pool then do not stay here but if you want a great tourist class hotel in a good area and easy to get around then you could not do better

Room Tip: The old part I feel is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet location, yet only 10 minutes for the trainstation West and the city center. Not luxurious but nice athmosphere if you like wood. Friendly staff, glad to give advice. Very clean, great beds. Rooms were a bit noisy, wooden walls do not help for keeping out sound! Breakfast is very basic (what there was was of fine quality, enough bread, cereal, yogurt, cheese and meat) against hefty supplement you could get extra's like egg, toast etc. The price for two nights was huge, due to the bad euro swiss frank exchange rate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freek Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here with a group for a ski trip. The hotel is not in the best location in town or for skiing. It takes 1-1.5 hours to get to the slopes on the ski bus with the stops. It's also not very center in Interlaken itself.

The breakfasts and dinners weren't great either. It's 4 SF for a coffee if you get it at dinner vs out of the same machine at breakfast which is included in the price. It's all very lackluster.

The staff was also mixed. We had some really rude comments and also nice experiences. So it was hard to know if it was a cultural thing or not.

Internet is 2 SF/hr on your own device.

The beds are horribly uncomfortable. The walls and floors are also VERY thin. You can hear your neighbors walking, talking and snoring.

Bottom line- stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBroyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 7 in Unterseen
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Alpenblick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Swiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Swiss

Address: Seestrasse 22, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Comfort Hotel Chalet Swiss)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range: £80 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Swiss 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chalet Swiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chalet Swiss Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing