We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chalet Swiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Chalet Swiss.Our rooms in the annex were very comfortable, clean and spacious. All staff were friendly and helpful.There was a good choice of buffet breakfast to start the day.The set evening menu was varied, tasty and good value.The service was still efficient,even when a coach load was in.The Hotel is in an ideal position for trains, buses and shops,only a short walk away. A lovely holiday, with plenty to see and do in the area.The hotel provided good value for money, we would recommend it to other families.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kasKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    51
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
40
60
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

We arrived to find out the room we booked in advance was on the ground floor. Not a major problem, as we never specified that we did not want a ground floor room. However, when my wife asked if we could be moved, her question was met with near ridicule by the receptionist (all smiles unless you asked for anything!).

So we settled for this room (I wish there was some ventilation -even a table fan). We faced the front road, but couldn't open our window due to the noise. The walls were thin (my wife's side of the bed backed onto the toilet in the next room, and everytime they flushed the toilet, she woke up!). I wanted to open the window when taking a shower, but there were people inches away sitting at tables and eating, so felt very restricted. The room itself was clean, but dated.

Breakfast although continental was too light and monotonous - couldn't have done it more than 3 days in a row. However, what really turned me off this place was the cold nature of the staff. I felt as if we had turned up to someone's house by accident and were imposing on them, and they were just putting up with us. At one point my wife made a mistake by forgetting to put the room key into the electronic key holder straight after taking the holding key out. This is a new device to us, so we weren't used to it, but the guy at reception (I think he was the manager), rather than explaining how it works, set about giving her a huge lecture and a good ticking off. We didn't stay here for free. We paid good money, but felt like we trod on eggshells throughout.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldKnown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

This was our first stop of a three centre holiday holiday started on the right foot. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we checked in. The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Food was of a good standard. The bar was small but comfortable. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffPortTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

This Swiss Chalet, with its annex at the rear, has the nicest, kindest and most helpful staff of anywhere we have ever stayed. Everyone, from the managers to the cleaners, did their utmost to ensure that our stay was a pleasurable and fulfilling one. The hotel is a short walk from the Interlaken West train station and has stunning views of the Jungfrau mountain range from its dining room and many of its bedrooms. In fact, you would have to go a long way to find such breathtaking views as those offered by this hotel's position. The hotel's public areas (which include a relaxing bar/lounge area) and our room were spotlessly clean. The three-course evening meal was always a good-value, wholesome and delicious affair - perfect after a day out walking in the mountains (which are very accessible by train). This was the second time we had stayed at the hotel, and it lived up to all our expectations. We will certainly return for a third stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff and views
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RACHnRUSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2008

We stayed at Hotel Chalet Swiss for 8 nights in Jan / Feb 2008. We found Hotel Chalet Swiss to be of a consistently excellent standard.

Features which stood out to us were:

The staff:
All staff members that we came in contact with were helpful, friendly and were extremely knowledgeable on the local area / could suggest excellent day trip ideas etc. Furthermore, it was very entertaining chatting to staff members, such as the bar manager and the hotel manager, in the cozy on-site bar about a wide range of topics - they were really genuine and nice people, who were wonderful to chat to. The staff certainly give the hotel a true 'family feel'.

The food: The breakfast buffet was always delicious. You could also opt to pay the very reasonable price of 27 Swiss Francs per head for a 3 course meal in the evening. Many of the meals we had were sensational, such as steak dishes, cheese fondue and fish dishes.

The facilities: The hotel has a sauna and a large whirlpool / spa, which were wonderful to use after a day of skiing (or attempting to learn to ski!) or after a day trip.

The location: 5-10 mins walk from Interlaken West train station and the town centre. Beautiful mountain and lake views.

We would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone. Given the large number of repeat customers that Hotel Chalet Swiss has, many others feel this way also.

A truly warm, friendly, clean and well-resourced environment and a true highlight of our trip.

BH and MS, Adelaide, South Australia

  • Liked — Friendly staff, convenient location and great facilities such as the whirlpool and sauna
  • Disliked — Nil - all was great
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 night stay in the Hotel Chalet Swiss and had a very enjoyable holiday. Our room was basic, but clean and spacious, and the staff were very friendly and always happy to suggest different places for us to visit. We had an all inclusive half board deal and had good wholesome meals every night. Being late in the season we didn't have the problems with busses of tourists eating at the hotel that others seem to have had. The town and mountains were also not too busy and whilst there was snow at most of the higher hiking routes, we had very pleasant weather with blue skies and sun almost every day. Very glad we came when we did and not in high season.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

This hotel was a little disappointing and lacking in ambience. Unfortunately we weren't accommodated in the chalet itself but in the
soulless annexe at the back. Our room was light, spacious and comfortable, but not particularly sound-proof. It had no view, except
of the car park and there were no tea or coffee making facilities.

The receptionist was friendly and helpful and the hotel is only a five minute walk from the closest restaurants and ten minutes from the town proper. There is parking for private cars.

The breakfast room was very poorly laid out so that the food serving area tended to be awkward and crowded. Some items ran out and were not quickly replaced. As the hotel caters to bus parties, I imagine that trying to eat at the same time as a large tour group would be fraught with difficulty.

I have no major complaints to make, but this hotel didn't make sufficient impact on me to make me want to return. It was also considerably dearer than our Luzern hotel which was much nicer.

  • Liked — Friendly receptionist
  • Disliked — Lack of a view
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SherwoodSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#25 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Swiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Swiss

Property: Hotel Chalet Swiss
Address: Seestrasse 22, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Comfort Hotel Chalet Swiss)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Swiss 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Chalet Swiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chalet Swiss Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing