We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel in a great Town”
Review of Hotel Chalet Swiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Had a great 10 Day holiday at the Chalet Swiss Interlaken. The hotel is only approx 7 Mins walk to Interlaken West Rail station from where you can start your trips up into the mountains or onto the lakes.
Before we went I read a review about bad customer service at the Hotel & was amazed to find quite the opposite. The staff were very friendly and genuinly interested in your days out and gave better information on the local area (best walks etc) than the local tourist information office !
Our room was in the annex at the back of the main building and had a balcony overlooking the carpark. The room itself was large with double bed and table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was fine, plenty of hot water and good shower over the bath.
Breakfast was basic, cheese, cold meats, bread etc. The set evening meal was very good, with alternatives always available.
The Hotel is in good order thoughout and kept clean and tidy with nice gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripper-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2009

The Chalet Swiss has a perfect location, its only a very short walk to Interlaken town centre and the train station making it a perfect base for our Swiss adventure! Interlaken has all the amenities you need and the Jungfrau is spectacular. The TV in your room also has a webcam channel so you can see what the visibility is like at the top of the mountains before you leave your room which is very handy. The hotel itself is not like other hotels that we have stayed in before in that there isn't much to do there especially in the evening, there is a bar but if you sit outside you are actually in the car park. We only had bed and breakfast and breakfast was pretty simple so I can't comment on the meals. We ate out in the restaurants in Interlaken every night. Our room was a bit tired decor wise and the bathroom was pretty tiny but the location is good. If you want a basic base for your holiday then I would recommend this hotel, if you like a bit more luxury and better extra's then choose somewhere else but do go to Interlaken and the surrounding area as it is beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Turvinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Swiss Chalet in Interlaken is a small hotel in which the staff have no concept of customer service. The hotel room itself was nice made in a typical log cabin / swiss chalet style. Since this was a family room, it was very spacious with a loft where they had a Double bed and a single bed on the ground floor. The hotel has some great views of the Alps (jungfrau). The staff are extremely curt , bordering on the rude. They kept reminding us of the rules and regulations of the hotels. The heater did not seem to be working and when I asked the lady at the reception about turning up the heat she said it could not be done.
The hotel is located within walking distance of Interlaken (West)station. If your train comes to Interlaken (Ost) station, wait for a connecting train to Interlaken (West). Otherwise its a 20-25 min walk, kind of difficult with luggage. I made the mistake of catching a taxi outside the East station and had to pay 22 Euros for a small 5 min drive to the hotel.
The breakfast was as lousy as the staff. Very limited spread and a cold breakfast. For the 2 days we stayed there, the hotel did not serve lunch and dinner and said that the restaurant was closed, which was surprising. Luckily Interlaken is a small place and there are many restaurants including McDonalds within walking distance.
There were other guests in the hotel and we actually saw the staff speaking very rudely to them. Any questions asked were answered with disdain. For eg if we asked how a coffe machine worked, they asked us to read the instructions. Another guest asked for asome hot water and they refused to give it.
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Saeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

extremely economical at 100 swiss francs per day it is very good for budget traveller and is opp to the railway station just one minute walk

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We spent two wonderful weeks at the Chalet Swiss. From the moment we arrived the staff made us very welcome, and this continued throughout our stay. Meal times were flexible, allowing us complete freedom to come and go when it suited us. The cuisine was excellent, with a different choice most nights. The breakfast buffet was always well stocked with delicious breads, cereals, cheeses, meats, yogerts etc. We stayed in the annex, where our rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable (especially the beds), there was also plenty of room to spread out. The balcony was gread to unwind on at the end of our busy days out and our view of the Jungfrau mountain continually changed as the weather altered.. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to other people. It was excellent value for money and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuffolkMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Chalet Swiss.Our rooms in the annex were very comfortable, clean and spacious. All staff were friendly and helpful.There was a good choice of buffet breakfast to start the day.The set evening menu was varied, tasty and good value.The service was still efficient,even when a coach load was in.The Hotel is in an ideal position for trains, buses and shops,only a short walk away. A lovely holiday, with plenty to see and do in the area.The hotel provided good value for money, we would recommend it to other families.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kasKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We arrived to find out the room we booked in advance was on the ground floor. Not a major problem, as we never specified that we did not want a ground floor room. However, when my wife asked if we could be moved, her question was met with near ridicule by the receptionist (all smiles unless you asked for anything!).

So we settled for this room (I wish there was some ventilation -even a table fan). We faced the front road, but couldn't open our window due to the noise. The walls were thin (my wife's side of the bed backed onto the toilet in the next room, and everytime they flushed the toilet, she woke up!). I wanted to open the window when taking a shower, but there were people inches away sitting at tables and eating, so felt very restricted. The room itself was clean, but dated.

Breakfast although continental was too light and monotonous - couldn't have done it more than 3 days in a row. However, what really turned me off this place was the cold nature of the staff. I felt as if we had turned up to someone's house by accident and were imposing on them, and they were just putting up with us. At one point my wife made a mistake by forgetting to put the room key into the electronic key holder straight after taking the holding key out. This is a new device to us, so we weren't used to it, but the guy at reception (I think he was the manager), rather than explaining how it works, set about giving her a huge lecture and a good ticking off. We didn't stay here for free. We paid good money, but felt like we trod on eggshells throughout.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WorldKnown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 7 in Unterseen
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
1.0 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#28 of 39 in Interlaken
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Swiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Swiss

Address: Seestrasse 22, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Comfort Hotel Chalet Swiss)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range: £80 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Swiss 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chalet Swiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chalet Swiss Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing