We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely Acceptable”
Review of Hotel Chalet Swiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2009

First off, let me state that I'm an American, and perhaps our expectations are higher. I noticed most of the reviewers of this hotel are European.

We did a Switzerland tour with Cosmos, then an Interlaken extension. This hotel was our only choice. There is nothing nearby, you must walk either to the train station, bus station, or to the Old Town, which is about 1/2 mile.

It's very old, and few amenities. The floor squeaked constantly, thank goodness we were on the top floor. We knew the people that were under us, and they said they would wake up when we did because of the noisy floors. The entire hotel lacks soundproofing. We would hear every tour group leave in the morning, and the street noise outside was pretty bad at times. Our room had a beautiful view of the mountains, but that is the only positive thing I can say.

There are two buildings. One is at street level, and has the restaurant and reception. That is the one we stayed in. The other one is behind it, and has the bar. I think that building would be worse, because you don't even get the mountain or street views.

Lighting is awful, very dim. No clock, no tea/coffee making pot, no aircondition or fans. Beds were horrible. They are a mattress on a futon frame. I have some major back problems and these beds sure didn't help any. Bathroom is an old narrow tub and handheld shower. There is a window in the tub space, so between the window and shower curtain you barely have room to move. There is one narrow shelf in the bathroom for a few toiletries. Closet space was OK, and there are some shelves in the wardrobe.

If you are hungary and it's not their meal time, then forget it. The restaurant only serves during the morning and evening, and then only to accommodate tour groups. Even tho we were there an entire week we could not get dinner one night because we did not request a reservation that morning. How absurd - how does one know what they will be doing that evening when on holiday?

Breakfast was included in our package rate, so we ate there every morning, but it was very boring and routine. Yogurt, canned fruit, Cold cuts, cold cereal, bread, cheese. The croissants were delicous, I highly recommend them. Never anything hot such as eggs, oatmeal, sausage, etc. Coffee was pretty good.

We never went to the bar, so I can't tell you about service or prices, but I think the service would be good, and prices very high. Most of the staff were nice, friendly, and helpful. No complaints about them. The Asst Manager also seemed very nice. The owner was the least friendly. Maybe he sensed by my body language I didn't like this hotel.

My direct email is basha417@yahoo.com. I will be glad to answer any questions you have.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbaradixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed in Chalet Swiss hotel for 5 nights and it was a good stay. The staff accommodated our preference for vegetarian food and was happy to be of assistance. The rooms were of adequate size though you could hear the floor boards squeaking while walking. The ensuite was of adequate size but I missed having a luxurious bath tub. Beautiful rose garden in the front with good access to town center and railway station.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonalNigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We have stayed at the Chalet Swiss a few times now, but are nowhere near the 20 years + of some travellers. This must say a lot about this hotel. We have always found it to be extremely friendly, and as for the comments of some other guest on this site, perhaps they need to look at themselves first, or book into a 5* hotel, with the cost that go with it.
John & Maureen.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank postagenotreceived
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Had a great 10 Day holiday at the Chalet Swiss Interlaken. The hotel is only approx 7 Mins walk to Interlaken West Rail station from where you can start your trips up into the mountains or onto the lakes.
Before we went I read a review about bad customer service at the Hotel & was amazed to find quite the opposite. The staff were very friendly and genuinly interested in your days out and gave better information on the local area (best walks etc) than the local tourist information office !
Our room was in the annex at the back of the main building and had a balcony overlooking the carpark. The room itself was large with double bed and table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was fine, plenty of hot water and good shower over the bath.
Breakfast was basic, cheese, cold meats, bread etc. The set evening meal was very good, with alternatives always available.
The Hotel is in good order thoughout and kept clean and tidy with nice gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripper-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

The Chalet Swiss has a perfect location, its only a very short walk to Interlaken town centre and the train station making it a perfect base for our Swiss adventure! Interlaken has all the amenities you need and the Jungfrau is spectacular. The TV in your room also has a webcam channel so you can see what the visibility is like at the top of the mountains before you leave your room which is very handy. The hotel itself is not like other hotels that we have stayed in before in that there isn't much to do there especially in the evening, there is a bar but if you sit outside you are actually in the car park. We only had bed and breakfast and breakfast was pretty simple so I can't comment on the meals. We ate out in the restaurants in Interlaken every night. Our room was a bit tired decor wise and the bathroom was pretty tiny but the location is good. If you want a basic base for your holiday then I would recommend this hotel, if you like a bit more luxury and better extra's then choose somewhere else but do go to Interlaken and the surrounding area as it is beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Turvinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Swiss Chalet in Interlaken is a small hotel in which the staff have no concept of customer service. The hotel room itself was nice made in a typical log cabin / swiss chalet style. Since this was a family room, it was very spacious with a loft where they had a Double bed and a single bed on the ground floor. The hotel has some great views of the Alps (jungfrau). The staff are extremely curt , bordering on the rude. They kept reminding us of the rules and regulations of the hotels. The heater did not seem to be working and when I asked the lady at the reception about turning up the heat she said it could not be done.
The hotel is located within walking distance of Interlaken (West)station. If your train comes to Interlaken (Ost) station, wait for a connecting train to Interlaken (West). Otherwise its a 20-25 min walk, kind of difficult with luggage. I made the mistake of catching a taxi outside the East station and had to pay 22 Euros for a small 5 min drive to the hotel.
The breakfast was as lousy as the staff. Very limited spread and a cold breakfast. For the 2 days we stayed there, the hotel did not serve lunch and dinner and said that the restaurant was closed, which was surprising. Luckily Interlaken is a small place and there are many restaurants including McDonalds within walking distance.
There were other guests in the hotel and we actually saw the staff speaking very rudely to them. Any questions asked were answered with disdain. For eg if we asked how a coffe machine worked, they asked us to read the instructions. Another guest asked for asome hot water and they refused to give it.
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Saeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

extremely economical at 100 swiss francs per day it is very good for budget traveller and is opp to the railway station just one minute walk

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 7 in Unterseen
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#7 of 39 in Interlaken
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Swiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Swiss

Address: Seestrasse 22, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Comfort Hotel Chalet Swiss)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range: £81 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Swiss 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chalet Swiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chalet Swiss Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing