We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent value for money”
Review of Hotel Chalet Swiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Having read some reviews I wonder what some people want. Ok the Hotel is not 5 star but then the price is not 5 star. I have always found the Hotel clean with good basic food and the staff really helpful. The main house is an old charming chalet. This is the third time I have taken a group and nobody has complained at all. So, provng you donot want an hotel with many facilites you should book with confidence.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chalet Swiss
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2010

This is a nice hotel in place like Interlaken. Good staff and all the basic amenities for a comfortable stay are available

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

The hotel didn't have any striking amenities or was sparkling new/clean, but the location was breathtaking. The staff treated you like family, breakfast was amazing, its easy to become friends with the other guests, and you really get a feel for the Swiss hospitality. They helped us alot with the local attractions, and we were surrounded by unbelievable views of the alps. It was not a bad deal either, about half the price of staying in Zurich.

Stayed: November 2009
Thank AlisonB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

i went to stay at the end of October. the weather was fab..blue skies and sun..the hotel is short walk to the train station ( about 10-15mins) but the scenery is fantastic so you dont even notice.Beautiful surroundings..we had a balcony with a mountain view. Rooms are a good size although bathroom a little small but how much time do you actually spend there? The hotel gave a free local pass for public transport which was handy. Staff were fabulous..Fahri was especially helpful and the ladies in the mornings ( marianne i think her name was) was fantastic at helping us plan itineries for the day! Shops were all withing walking distance as was a lovely patisserie! Breakfast was lovely with a good choice for vegetarians too! lovely cheeses, meats,breads, cereals, tea coffee, juices and hot chocolate. Location good as Interlaken quite central so we visited most parts of Switzerland from here. Stayed 8 days and no complaints! Would definitely recommend it and would go again if i ever went back to Switzerland.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samira345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed here 3 nights. Upgraded to the 3rd floor looking at the Mt. VERY friendly and helpfull staff!!!! Walking distance to town and shops. Great trail and parks nearby. Plenty of room to park the rental car. Bought our tickets here for the Shilthorn here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

After reading several reviews about this Hotel, to say I was rather apprehensive about my arrival and what I might find was rather an understatement!

Quite the contrary to be exact, the rooms were clean, a little dated, but completely satisfactory as a base to sleep and wash!
The staff were more than helpful and were extremely friendly, they spoke excellent English and really could not do enough to help us.
The location of the hotel to the town and nearby public transport links was perfect.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay there and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and indeed to go and stay there again ourselves.
Interlaken certainly was a beautiful clean place and we cannot wait to go again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAAPrestonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

First off, let me state that I'm an American, and perhaps our expectations are higher. I noticed most of the reviewers of this hotel are European.

We did a Switzerland tour with Cosmos, then an Interlaken extension. This hotel was our only choice. There is nothing nearby, you must walk either to the train station, bus station, or to the Old Town, which is about 1/2 mile.

It's very old, and few amenities. The floor squeaked constantly, thank goodness we were on the top floor. We knew the people that were under us, and they said they would wake up when we did because of the noisy floors. The entire hotel lacks soundproofing. We would hear every tour group leave in the morning, and the street noise outside was pretty bad at times. Our room had a beautiful view of the mountains, but that is the only positive thing I can say.

There are two buildings. One is at street level, and has the restaurant and reception. That is the one we stayed in. The other one is behind it, and has the bar. I think that building would be worse, because you don't even get the mountain or street views.

Lighting is awful, very dim. No clock, no tea/coffee making pot, no aircondition or fans. Beds were horrible. They are a mattress on a futon frame. I have some major back problems and these beds sure didn't help any. Bathroom is an old narrow tub and handheld shower. There is a window in the tub space, so between the window and shower curtain you barely have room to move. There is one narrow shelf in the bathroom for a few toiletries. Closet space was OK, and there are some shelves in the wardrobe.

If you are hungary and it's not their meal time, then forget it. The restaurant only serves during the morning and evening, and then only to accommodate tour groups. Even tho we were there an entire week we could not get dinner one night because we did not request a reservation that morning. How absurd - how does one know what they will be doing that evening when on holiday?

Breakfast was included in our package rate, so we ate there every morning, but it was very boring and routine. Yogurt, canned fruit, Cold cuts, cold cereal, bread, cheese. The croissants were delicous, I highly recommend them. Never anything hot such as eggs, oatmeal, sausage, etc. Coffee was pretty good.

We never went to the bar, so I can't tell you about service or prices, but I think the service would be good, and prices very high. Most of the staff were nice, friendly, and helpful. No complaints about them. The Asst Manager also seemed very nice. The owner was the least friendly. Maybe he sensed by my body language I didn't like this hotel.

My direct email is basha417@yahoo.com. I will be glad to answer any questions you have.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbaradixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,238 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#20 of 40 in Interlaken
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Swiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Swiss

Address: Seestrasse 22, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Comfort Hotel Chalet Swiss)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range: £86 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Swiss 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chalet Swiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chalet Swiss Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing