We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable.Family atmosphere. Very helpful proprietors.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Roessli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Roessli
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Nr Bristol
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very comfortable.Family atmosphere. Very helpful proprietors.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have stayed at the Roessli a number of times over the past twelve years. Last visited two years ago. It was time to return.
Christopher and his family could not be more helpful. Always concerned for our well being and most informative about trips into the mountains or on the lakes. He has a wealth of knowledge of mountain walking paths..
By booking ahead we enjoyed the same room and good terms as on previous occasions and this is typical of the care and attention to detail, so characteristic of the Andermat family,continuing the standards of Jean -Louis..
Whilst, the hotel has a long history, service and comfort are not old-fashioned at all.
For a comfortable stay close to interlaken West station, the Hotel Roessli is in a quiet quarter, just five minutes walking from the railway.
A ideal location in West Interlaken.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    577
    63
    9
    9
See reviews for
508
1,021
222
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
266 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Everybody has different opinions and I don't agree with some of the statements of the other reviewers. I felt I received good value - at least for Switzerland! This is a homey, hospitable, family run establishment. Nothing luxurious, but the staff really made me feel welcome. My single room was very small, but clean.
One thing I noted, and this may be typical of many European hotels, is that the bedding seemed to lack a mattress pad and there was no top sheet. There was nothing between me and the quilt, or whatever they call the blanket.
The breakfast was quite good and the staff was more than eager to be helpful and offer suggestions. I certainly recommend this hotel and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our experience at this hotel was similar to tracyr_75, below. We didn't really focus on the 2 star rating, either. While we thought Christopher and Caroline were very friendly and helpful, there was nothing here that would bring us back to this hotel.
The room didn't seem like it had been updated since about 1980, the sheets were old and "nubby", the towels were small, although the hotel and the room were clean. But it all just looked old. It really needs a complete refresh/update inside and out.
Just FYI, the rooms are upstairs on either the 2nd or 3rd floor, and there is no elevator.
Also, on our first full day here, when we got back to the room around 3 or 4 pm, our room still hadn't been made up. There had been a lot of check outs that day, and the front desk said it would be done by 5 pm. Honestly, I don't think the hotel was full that night, and I think it would have been nice to clean the rooms of the current guests first, where possible. We were out of the room early in the morning (probably by 9:00) and for the minimal amount of "cleaning" that had to be done in the room, it would have been nice to arrive back at 3 or 4 pm with the room clean, if they weren't fully booked for that night, which they didn't seem to be.
The hotel is located in Unterseen, which is a "suburb" of Interlaken. It is within walking distance of the Interlaken West train station, and that's basically the only way to get there - they don't offer a shuttle or van service, as far as we could tell - and it's a good 15 minute + walk, if you don't know where you are going, and if you have a good amount of luggage, which we did. If it was raining, and you had luggage, wow. Fortunately, it is a very walkable, safe area. As a matter of fact, there are buses that run in the Interlaken area, and there are a couple of bus stops only a half a block from the hotel, as well as a main bus stop at the train station.
Despite the fact that this is Switzerland, and everything here is more expensive, we felt the price we were charged for the room was excessive, based on the condition of the room and the hotel, itself.
My rating of average is based on 2 star hotels - so it's an average 2 star hotel. I don't know how it can achieve all of the excellent ratings it gets. I think of excellent as being "top of the line".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfall2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed to nights in May 2014. The staff was excellent, the room was clean, and the breakfast was more then adequate. The advertised view was laking. The only thing I could see from the balcony was the Italian restaurant next door and the parking lot. If i leaned out far enough a peered to the left I could catch a glimpse of the peaks. All in all I felt that the quality of the product was good, but the cost was over the top.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retrc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURLINGTON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I liked everything about this rustic hotel, especially the staff. Barbara greeted us with genuine warmth and hospitality (and excellent English). She and Christopher had the answers to every question, helped us arrange our excursion into the mountains, sold us train tickets, provided restaurant recommendations (Cafe de Paris was wonderful) and made us feel like part of the family. Accommodations were just my style: simple, clean, comfortable. Wifi worked fine and breakfast was very good. The review posted on Booking.com, by Charles from Spain, Feb 2014 says it all. I just wish I'd known ahead of time how beautiful Interlaken is, and how much we'd like this hotel: I'd have stayed several more days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Because I saw so many absolutely glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, I somehow missed the fact that this is still just a two star hotel when I booked it. Ultimately I was quite disappointed in my experience there. It wasn't that inexpensive, but had many of the classic hallmarks of lower quality places - cheap towels and sheets, bad decor, and bad lighting. It also had a bathroom door that had to be slammed to get shut, and a really annoying automatic loud bathroom fan. (Location is ok, not great - about 7 minutes walk from Interlaken West train station but not in the heart of things.)

Having said all that, the staff were incredibly welcoming and eager to help, the breakfast was pretty good, the showers were hot and high pressure, and the views from the balconies (if you pay for one) can be good.

I feel badly knocking the family run place, but you should know what to expect. So, if you go in expecting two star, you will likely be quite pleased with Hotel Roessli. If you go in expecting a charming high-quality bed and breakfast, prepare to be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyr_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a first-rate hotel, very well-run. The rooms are comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast offers lots of choices - breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit - and the breakfast room is bright and cheerful. The owners are terrific, very helpful when it comes to recommending places to go for day trips and advising you on the best ways to get there. The location is super - in a fairly quiet part of town, yet an easy walk to restaurants and the Interlaken West train station. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#3 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roessli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roessli

Property: Hotel Roessli
Address: Hauptstrasse 10/262 | Interlaken, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roessli 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rössli, nestling in the old quarter of Unterseen near Interlaken, is a popular base for holidays in Switzerland's beautiful Bernese Oberland. Our hotel offers spectacular views of the surrounding mountains, a central location, a stylish yet cosy ambiance and attractive rooms to suit all tastes. Rooms with balconies have views of the snow-clad Jungfrau and the Jungfraujoch-Top of Europe at 3454 metres above sea level! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roessli Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing